GlaxoSmithKline Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

GlaxoSmithKline Reviews

Updated 19 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
GlaxoSmithKline Chief Executive Officer Emma Walmsley
Emma Walmsley
845 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Invest in people and embrace diversity

    Cons

    Not best paying Pharma

    GlaxoSmithKline2020-01-19
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Business Leader in Barnard Castle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    GlaxoSmithKline2020-01-15
  3. "Strong company with good employee benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Summer Student 

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good experience in a competitive industry

    Cons

    Only a short period working for the company, so no cons.

    GlaxoSmithKline2020-01-12
  4. "Friendly, mature culture with plenty of interesting work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Brentford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great - professional, knowledgeable and passionate. There is huge emphasis placed on our priorities, values and expectations (which you can find on the website) - so if they appeal to you, then that really is what’s considered important.

    Cons

    GSK has an amount of paranoia concerning the things they don’t think they’re good at: such as openness, and straight talk. Having worked at other organisations and joining relatively recently, I consider this to be the most transparent culture I’ve experienced!

    Advice to Management

    Keep striving to make bold decisions and, where they don’t work out let’s ensure it’s for the right reasons.

    GlaxoSmithKline2020-01-08
  5. "Industrial placement in R&D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Industrial Placement Student 

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good chance to network and gain skills

    Cons

    Lots of hard thinking and tiring

    GlaxoSmithKline2020-01-06
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Director in Brentford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good ethics, motivating, growth, exciting times with changes ongoing.

    Cons

    Downsizing, lots of work,

    GlaxoSmithKline2020-01-03
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Management in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexibility, independence in your work

    Cons

    big corporate, can be slow in decision making

    Advice to Management

    listen more to lower grade employees

    GlaxoSmithKline2020-01-02
  8. "Great benefits, talented people but toxic politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategic Buyer in Brentford, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent benefits (shares, bonus, healthcare) - Flexible working - Great training - Talented people

    Cons

    - Arrogant when dealing with suppliers. Fail to understand GSK's place in markets - Senior management are very insecure in their jobs - this allows for extremely toxic politics - Instances of an employee bullying several members of staff with no repercussions. They were promoted very quickly in the company

    Advice to Management

    - Stop thinking GSK is a successful company because of it's Procurement function - Get your morals and values right

    GlaxoSmithKline2020-01-15
  9. "Constant change and redundancies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Stevenage, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great peers, friendly. Benefits e.g. health insurance

    Cons

    R&D senior leaders keep carrying out three year redundancy cycle. Difficult to commit to company chances are you will be in a redundancy pool again shortly

    Advice to Management

    Stop constant change, commit to an idea and stick with it so it has a chance to work

    GlaxoSmithKline2020-01-15
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

    Pros

    Good long term benefits and pension

    Cons

    Small business in Ireland down sizing

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-12-31
Found 4578 reviews