GlaxoSmithKline Shanghai Reviews

Updated 3 Mar 2018

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
GlaxoSmithKline Chief Executive Officer Emma Walmsley
Emma Walmsley
2 Ratings
  1. "Excellent"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Communications Specialist in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fortunate 500. Good training & benefits.

    Cons

    Big company has very slow career promoted process.

    GlaxoSmithKline2017-03-03
  2. "AR Accoutant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Product, Great benefit, a company you are proud of

    Cons

    the internal application process is too complicated

    Continue reading
    GlaxoSmithKline2018-03-04
  3. "Drug safety"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    acquire international working experience, gain high salary, learn professional and technical skills, make your career networking

    Cons

    it is hard to make real friends at that company, but it is universal and really dependent on your own characteristics

    Continue reading
    GlaxoSmithKline2017-04-29
  4. "Not a good place for contract employee"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team building, every week we have lunch together. Pay is good.

    Cons

    The full time GSK employees sometimes treat contact employees not very well. They actually just use you like a product but do not give you any trainings or teaching you. Working on site, I feel I have no of sense of belonging and very limited improvement. They don't actually regard you as their people.

    GlaxoSmithKline2017-04-06
  5. "GSK Shanghai"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    friendly, science-driven, room for upward movement, decent facilities, salaries and perks, good science and values

    Cons

    keep getting in trouble with authorities, too much turn-over, remote part of town, far from HQ

    Continue reading
    GlaxoSmithKline2016-12-08
  6. "Good management"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

    Pros

    good opportunity to learn and grow up, good management team

    Cons

    complication process for internal approval

    Continue reading
    GlaxoSmithKline2016-08-05
  7. "Catergory Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    National Assistant Trade Marketing Manager in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Company, great culture,nice location

    Cons

    depends on which BU you are work with, consumer goods BU will share all the other service in finance, supply chain with the pharmacy BU, which is not very good to work with comparing with its competitors like Colgate, Crest...

    GlaxoSmithKline2016-02-28
  8. "event coordinator"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Coordinator in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    lots of great people you can meet

    Cons

    the company is too local

    Continue reading
    GlaxoSmithKline2015-11-17
  9. "Medical Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Manager in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    well-balanced work and life, good compensation and benefit

    Cons

    few internal career opportunities, frequent change from the company structure

    Continue reading
    GlaxoSmithKline2015-09-02
  10. "Operations Intern at GSK R&D China"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Operations Intern in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, easy to communicate,relatively flexible hours. Opportunity to work on various employee activities, meet with people in research, if you're interested. Attentive supervisors, willing to listen to ask for your opinion and actually take it into consideration.

    Cons

    Low pay, but this seems to be an issue throughout China for internships unless you're in the tech industry, so not specific to GSK. Lack of clear goals to work towards, obvious that interns are just there on temporary basis.

    Continue reading
    GlaxoSmithKline2015-08-06
Found 17 reviews