Find jobs for Software Engineer

Glu Mobile Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 5 Sep 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
42%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Glu Mobile  President and CEO Nick Earl
Nick Earl
7 Ratings
  1. "Great team culture, brilliant co-workers, exciting work. Sky’s the limit"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Burlingame, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time

    Pros

    This company is flat out awesome. They provide you the tools you need to succeed in your job. I’m a Engineer and can equate the work here as challenging, fun, and motivating as any other tech company. It’s a great atmosphere to learn and apply that knowledge. This company values their employees and it shows.

    Cons

    Non hat I can think of yet

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2018-09-05
  2. Helpful (3)

    "A good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Glu has been as good as any other place to work. Environment is nice. Compensation is nice. People are friendly. My schedule is manageable. I thrive on success and as long as Glu and I are both succeeding, I am happy.

    Cons

    My big concern is that people making fundamental decisions are not creatives and want to make informed, data supported, games. But in an industry as fast paced as mobile, that doesn't make a lot of sense. By the time you've cloned Clash of Clans, it's too late. You have to have new ideas. Glu also has the unique and dubious history of cloning it's OWN games, which makes zero sense to me. I remember they had two Tiny Tower clones back in the day.

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2018-01-21
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Glu blows around with the wind"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Burlingame, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - They attempt to make their employees happy. - Just about every office is a smaller company that Glu acquired at some point, so each office has an individual culture and structure. - My office had free lunch every day, but most other offices don't.

    Cons

    - Lack of a real unifying vision, most past visions didn't make money and had to be abandoned. - The culture and working experience is very different depending on which office you happen to be in.

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-10-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad for a gaming company in india but low job security"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Hyderābād
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good youthful culture, great work life balance, decent pay, low politics

    Cons

    Low job security, company not too averse to lay offs for cost cutting, not great work for developers, its only maintainence, no solid new development at all. Very less canteen / food facilities as compared to current IT standards.

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-09-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice environment nice people to work with.

    Cons

    Team get lay off so often.

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-09-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Former Software Engineer"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was reasonable Interesting titles to work on No mandatory overtime Worked with a great team of talented, driven people

    Cons

    Management seems unsure of how to fix the sinking ship More than one title setup for failure - if you aren't on an already successful game, you should expect to be cut Games not given appropriate time to prove themselves

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-03-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "For software engineers, only work here unless you have to"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A very casual working environment. A lot of energetic and fun people. Occasionally the company provides free lunch.

    Cons

    Low compensation. For software engineers, it's underperforming by a lot compare to market value. Long working hours. No long term career path. People at Management level don't take responsibilities for making bad decisions. Ranging from unrealistic time estimates to making low quality games. High turn-over rate, people come and go all the time, at the end everyone is not the same staff to before on the team.

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-02-13
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Mismanagement at its finest"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Long Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working on something more complex than match 3 games. Lunch every Wednesday. Breakfast every other Friday. Free drinks and snacks. Elaborate company parties.

    Cons

    Upper management has no idea what they are doing. They are all people that aren't gamers. They're just businessmen with MBA's from elite colleges. In the last two years, the company's issues have been solely due to bad management: from bad decisions made for what games to make, to bad project management, to not giving enough resources to the teams that are actually making money. In the end, the workers are the ones fired while management keeps their jobs and extremely high salaries.

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2017-01-25
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to work !"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Glu Mobile for more than a year

    Pros

    - Nice work culture - Good work-life balance - Great place to use your ideas and enhance your skills

    Cons

    - Benefits are good but can be better.

    Glu Mobile2016-10-24
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Negotiate hard when you start; raises are rare!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My office has a great culture and there are a lot of people that are passionate about their jobs.

    Cons

    The company is cheap! If you are hired in at a management level, then you're set, otherwise you should expect to be stuck at the same level for 3-5 years regardless of talent and productivity.

    Continue reading
    Glu Mobile2016-07-28
Found 23 reviews