Gordons Chemists Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Gordons Chemists Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Gordons Chemists CEO Robert Gordon
Robert Gordon
6 Ratings
  1. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordons Chemists full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Job security Christmas bonus scheme. Good working conditions - shops are well maintained and serviced. Support of head office. Always got experienced staff to ask if unsure Plenty of opportunities within the company

    Cons

    Nature of work means there will be busy and quiet days - meaning staffing can be difficult to get right

    Advice to Management

    Communication within the company could be improved further to make employees feel more valued.

    Gordons Chemists2019-01-08
  2. "Ok, could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordons Chemists for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Christmas bonus Staff discount Pretty flexible re holidays for full time staff aside from Christmas period

    Cons

    Unpaid sick days Employees on zero hour contracts may go months without receiving a shift

    Advice to Management

    Happy staff = happy customers Help staff feel more valued and not just a number

    Gordons Chemists2019-04-24
  3. "Student zero hours contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordons Chemists part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quite flexible with work hours

    Cons

    Compulsory working over Christmas eve and around other public holidays.

    Gordons Chemists2019-02-28
  4. "Fairly good as it goes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Gordons Chemists part-time

    Pros

    Local company, lots of stores, small enough that you can get to know head office staff

    Cons

    Not good at positive reinforcement as a means of achieving targets, tends towards negative feedback

    Gordons Chemists2018-10-05
  5. "Not a nice place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gordons Chemists part-time

    Pros

    Good amount of time given for breaks.

    Cons

    I didn't feel respected or valued while I worked here. Myself and many others felt as though we were looked down on by supervisors and senior staff. Supervisor was often rude and nasty. Always had something bad to say about people's Work. Very little training was ever provided to me, I was expected to learn everything by myself and staff often got annoyed if I was to questions.

    Advice to Management

    Be kind to your employees. Don't let supervisors bully those below them. I left this job because it made me miserable.

    Gordons Chemists2018-11-02
  6. "Not the worst but could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Gordons Chemists part-time

    Pros

    Some very friendly staff

    Cons

    Treated like a child, I didn't mind as I only worked part time but I also witnessed full time sales assistant staff treated in this way by supervisors and managers

    Gordons Chemists2018-08-05
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gordons Chemists full-time

    Pros

    Fair employers who care about their staff

    Cons

    Short staff sometimes, busy days

    Gordons Chemists2017-10-09
  8. "Pre reg pharmacist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gordons Chemists

    Pros

    A great company to work for. They have a great training programme for pre reg pharmacists. I would recommend working for them

    Cons

    I have not got any negative comments to say about this company. I thoroughly enjoyed working for them

    Advice to Management

    The pre registration training was very good. A lot of support and guidance provided. I would recommend the company to other pharmacy students

    Gordons Chemists2017-07-09
  9. "Strange ideas of a valued staff member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gordons Chemists full-time

    Pros

    Easy to get on with the job and booking holidays straightforward

    Cons

    Staff discipline is up the left. Staff left to bicker like school girls with no true management. Constant racial or in appropriate remarks and too many staff members taking it upon themselves to delegate jobs to other staff when they do absolutely nothing. Management slow to respond to any enquiry and poor customer service. It is never the case of the customer is always right, so many occasions where staff speak rudely...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put in cameras, tighten up on staff

    Gordons Chemists2017-06-14
  10. "Good company, friendly, and professional service."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gordons Chemists full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good management, and friendly place to work. Follows good polices and up to date on relevant SOPS. Good rate of pay and company is keen to further your training.

    Cons

    Sometimes slow, and predictable work. A lot of part time staff so no real progress is made unless on a quiet day.

    Gordons Chemists2017-03-23
Found 11 reviews