Gordons Chemists Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Gordons Chemists Reviews

Updated 3 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Gordons Chemists CEO Robert Gordon
Robert Gordon
8 Ratings
  1. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordons Chemists full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job security Christmas bonus scheme. Good working conditions - shops are well maintained and serviced. Support of head office. Always got experienced staff to ask if unsure Plenty of opportunities within the company

    Cons

    Nature of work means there will be busy and quiet days - meaning staffing can be difficult to get right

    Continue reading
    Gordons Chemists2019-01-08
  2. "Not very family friendly employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Moy, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gordons Chemists part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff discount Freebies from reps Opportunity to obtain medicine counter qualifications Well established company and job security.

    Cons

    Very little support for staff completing medicine counter certification altho may all be down to poor management from pharmacist. Company not very family friendly to those who wish to work part-time. Management poor at dealing with disciplinary issues turn blind eye to certain issues. No formal training structure in place

    Continue reading
    Gordons Chemists2019-10-03
  3. "Casual Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Omagh, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordons Chemists part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues Good breaks Staff discount Good atmosphere

    Cons

    Long hours Management tend to ignore some issues

    Gordons Chemists2019-05-27
  4. "Ok, could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordons Chemists for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Christmas bonus Staff discount Pretty flexible re holidays for full time staff aside from Christmas period

    Cons

    Unpaid sick days Employees on zero hour contracts may go months without receiving a shift

    Continue reading
    Gordons Chemists2019-04-24
  5. "Student zero hours contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gordons Chemists part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Quite flexible with work hours

    Cons

    Compulsory working over Christmas eve and around other public holidays.

    Gordons Chemists2019-02-28
  6. "Fairly good as it goes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Gordons Chemists part-time

    Pros

    Local company, lots of stores, small enough that you can get to know head office staff

    Cons

    Not good at positive reinforcement as a means of achieving targets, tends towards negative feedback

    Gordons Chemists2018-10-05
  7. "Not a nice place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gordons Chemists part-time

    Pros

    Good amount of time given for breaks.

    Cons

    I didn't feel respected or valued while I worked here. Myself and many others felt as though we were looked down on by supervisors and senior staff. Supervisor was often rude and nasty. Always had something bad to say about people's Work. Very little training was ever provided to me, I was expected to learn everything by myself and staff often got annoyed if I was to questions.

    Continue reading
    Gordons Chemists2018-11-02
  8. "Not the worst but could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Gordons Chemists part-time

    Pros

    Some very friendly staff

    Cons

    Treated like a child, I didn't mind as I only worked part time but I also witnessed full time sales assistant staff treated in this way by supervisors and managers

    Gordons Chemists2018-08-05
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gordons Chemists full-time

    Pros

    Fair employers who care about their staff

    Cons

    Short staff sometimes, busy days

    Gordons Chemists2017-10-09
  10. "Pre reg pharmacist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gordons Chemists

    Pros

    A great company to work for. They have a great training programme for pre reg pharmacists. I would recommend working for them

    Cons

    I have not got any negative comments to say about this company. I thoroughly enjoyed working for them

    Continue reading
    Gordons Chemists2017-07-09
Found 13 reviews