Gotoco Employee Reviews about "chinese culture"

Updated Oct 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 of over 208 reviews

4.7
99%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Gotoco Director Richard Lloyd (no image)
Richard Lloyd
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "Gotoco placed me in Yangshuo working for an outdoor adventure company, which I really enjoyed(in 29 reviews)

  • "Participating in one of this year's Gotoco camps was an excellent way to experience Chinese culture whilst also gaining valuable experience in teaching(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Found it difficult at times to communicate with Gotoco and they left it until quite late to tell me where in China I'd be based(in 27 reviews)

  • "The application process for the visa was tedious(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    1y

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,927

    972 Comments

    Teachers

    179.6K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Gotoco~2044609
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "chinese culture"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Intern, less than 1 year

      Cultural exchange and valuable work

      Oct 31, 2019 - Communications Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Made lifelong friends and gained a deep interest in exploring more aspects of Chinese culture. The free TEFL is also a great asset for the CV.

      Cons

      Found out about my trio to China a bit late

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Exciting and affordable summer

      Sep 27, 2019 - Guilin Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had a very supportive and friendly boss and I enjoyed working with Chinese teachers a similar age. I was well looked-after on all outings and I felt like they really cared that I were happy and enjoying the camp. There was no pressure to do anything a specific way or any intense training. I loved making friends with the Chinese students on my camp and learning about their life. I'm now more aware of Chinese culture and much more likely to go back to China and explore different cities. More confident working with children and travelling in foreign countries with a language barrier. Overall an affordable and fun way to spend summer gaining life skills and a TEFL qualification. Relatively easy application process and support through emails if there is any trouble with visa or camp.

      Cons

      Sort out the visa early to avoid problems.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Amazing experience

      Sep 13, 2019 - Volunteer Teacher in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you're looking for an iconic summer adventure, filled with authentic Chinese culture, real-life life of life teaching experience and the most amazing people you could ever imagine - just join Gotoco in China. Trust me when I say, you won't regret it!

      Cons

      The accommodation was sometimes more than questionable The communication was sometimes lacking, especially in the period between being assigned a programme and flight booking.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Enriching experience.

      Sep 4, 2019 - Volunteer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was such a enriching experience. I got to meet so many students like me from around the world and I also got to experience the chinese culture, getting involved in so many traditional activities that you won't get to experience if you visit China as a tourist. The experience teaching abroad was great too.

      Cons

      Nothing to say, maybe just the food provided on the first accommodation.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Rongxian/Yangshuo programmes 2019

      Sep 3, 2019 - Volunteer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really unique opportunity to experience Chinese culture. I learnt loads through participating in this programme and would definitely recommend it!

      Cons

      Some last minute changes and some disorganization.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Offered a once in a lifetime experience

      Aug 23, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gave me the opportunity to take part in an experience I could never organise alone Met some amazing people and learned a lot about Chinese culture

      Cons

      Communication was rather slow and we were placed quite late

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Best summer ever!

      Aug 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gotoco provides a once in a lifetime opportunity. It was the best and most meaningful summer I've had so far! We got to meet so many local people that carried the true spirit of the Chinese culture. I think one of the best thing about this trip, apart from teaching such intelligent and remarkable students, were all of the amazing people we got to meet. Everyone was so welcoming that I immediately felt at home. Everybody was friendly, respectful, and took great care of us. The highlight though was seeing how happy the students were to come to class and to participate. It really made me feel like I have achieved something very valuable and that I have been successful in all of my efforts. Playing games, singing songs, and doing crafts all brought us all together and it felt like we were friends. I would absolutely recommend Gotoco to everybody! I think this summer helped me grow, learn, and shaped me into the person I have always wanted to become.

      Cons

      The application process was a bit slow for me, but apart from that everything was perfectly organized!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Gotoco Volunteer/Participant Review

      Aug 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had a really good experience in China this summer with Gotoco! I learned an incredible amount from teaching children English and being able to travel around China. I gained a lot of independence skills and got involved with Chinese culture and made life-long friends. Would definitely recommend to anyone considering applying!

      Cons

      The language barrier may be a bigger problem for those who can't speak Mandarin

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Amazing summer

      Aug 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had an amazing summer - this is a great way to learn so much about the Chinese culture in a way that also helps you to develop your own skills! It's not an 'easy' ride, you really do have to teach classes from the very beginning, but if you're ready for a personal and professional challenge then I would 100% recommend this programme. Very rewarding - go for it!

      Cons

      training was not always adequet - but this can very with placement

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Excellent chance to do a TEFL in China

      Oct 22, 2019 - Teaching Intern in Beijing, Beijing
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent chance to explore China and experience Chinese culture (like food such as steamed buns or noodle soups) Gaining valuable teaching experience Talking with mainland Chinese adults about their daily lives (in my case since my program was with adults) Relatively low cost (only have to pay for plane tickets and visa) Fast processing time for the application

      Cons

      Not many choices when being offered different placements

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews

    Work at Gotoco? Share Your Experiences

    or