Grant Thornton Ireland Reviews

Updated 30 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
61%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Grant Thornton Ireland National Managing Partner Michael McAteer (no image)
Michael McAteer
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours throughout the year not just during busy season(in 11 reviews)

  • "No work life balance, salary lower than market rate(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Accountant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time

    Pros

    Great environment around office, benefits and management.

    Cons

    Long hours now and then

    Grant Thornton Ireland2018-12-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time

    Pros

    Depends on the department but open office plan and a strong culture and friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Very departmental and can has a relative medium turnover of staff due to nature of the business

    Grant Thornton Ireland2017-07-03
  3. "Audit Senior"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Grant Thornton Ireland

    Pros

    Friendly staff, regular social events and reasonable hours

    Cons

    Casual approach to promotions and pay is lacking compared to other firms

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton Ireland2016-09-14
  4. "Superb company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Superb company great place to work

    Cons

    Nothing bit workload on some weekends

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton Ireland2016-08-12
  5. "Not impressed"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Audit Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton Ireland

    Pros

    Good experience early on and a lot of responsibility

    Cons

    Hard work is not recognised and people are promoted to management due to having been there a long time, but this results in really poor management skills, an inability to deal with people and generally staff apathy

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton Ireland2016-01-07
  6. "Good, though a bit stressful and a little politics"

    4.0
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Grant Thornton Ireland

    Pros

    Decent pay, great coworkers, and clear steps of promotion.Although smaller than the Big 4, in terms of pay and environment it's still decent enough. Good support from seniors with the technicalities e.g. accounting standards and audit procedures.

    Cons

    Long hours especially during peak period. But it's pretty much the same in all big accounting firms. Depending on location, overtime pay may not be available. I had a senior who was a bit political, that's the minor scuff that I have about the experience in the company. But I was just unlucky. Plenty of great seniors in other teams.

    Grant Thornton Ireland2014-04-13
  7. "Awesome work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ireland in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work Culture. No silo working. Inter connectivity and reliability between departments. Enormous amount of activities and other than work things to keep you going

    Cons

    There are no cons of working at GT.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton Ireland2020-04-27
  8. "A horrible place"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Service Audit in Galway
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were none to my knowledge

    Cons

    The director was one of the most horrible people I’ve ever met

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton Ireland2020-05-30
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Business Consulting dept is toxic"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some good people, some interesting strategy/finance work. If you cannot get into either of these areas, you won't have much of a CV to build there.

    Cons

    If 1 senior person decides they don't like you, you are going to be on the bench until you leave the company. If you make a mistake, you are on the bench indefinitely. It is unfortunate how many people I saw go through this. It really affected them. The probation period for all is 6 months. They typically use this like a long-term interview process to see if they want to keep you. If they don't have enough work, or simply dislike you, they will get rid of you. I have worked in other consulting firms and found this truly awful. It is not industry standard.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton Ireland2020-04-16
  10. "Nine to five"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton Ireland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice, friendly staff, from graduates all the way to partners. Great facilities including gym, canteen and a state of the art building. Training opportunities are better than any other firm I have worked in. Social side is excellent too. Can't ask for more.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to really cut your teeth with challanging consulting work that requires strong business, analytical and financial acumen. Turnover of experienced hires is quite high. Most of the engagements are focused on administrative, project support type work in public sector organisations. These engagements alllow GT to earn significant revenus. But ambitious graduates and experienced hires should be warned that they're not going to learn any transferable skills in GT advisory. This explains high turnover. Graduates should consider moving to finance to gsin a professional qualification, experienced hires, consider moving on.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton Ireland2020-02-05
Found 82 reviews