Grant Thornton UK LLP Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Grant Thornton UK LLP Reviews

Updated 3 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Grant Thornton UK LLP CEO Dave Dunckley (no image)
Dave Dunckley
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Interesting work, good work life balance, engaged management(in 56 reviews)

  • "A modern company with some of the latest technology and offer flexible working(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not promoted on merit or hard work just the usual big 4 mentality of who knows who gets ahead(in 34 reviews)

  • "Work life balance difficult to maintain(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time

    Pros

    Interesting work, good work life balance, engaged management

    Cons

    None to report at this stage of my career

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-04-03
  2. "Great platform for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transaction Advisory Services Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Structured progression, good development opportunities and a platform to really shine. People are, in the main, really nice. Projects are varied and interesting.

    Cons

    Can be a challenge for career paths that don't quite fit the mould or known and well-trodden paths. Progression route in some teams can be a bit opaque.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-04-03
  3. "Lives up to their claims on agile working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Tax Manager 

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working supported at all levels, good professional development, approachable partners.

    Cons

    Work is a mixture of compliance and advisory but expect this to be compliance heavy at junior levels.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-04-01
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are great and everyone is really hard working, like the offices

    Cons

    Work long hours and therefore, balance is hard to achieve

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-03-26
  5. "Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very relax but professional approach

    Cons

    Slightly lower pay than competitors

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-03-12
  6. "Exciting Range of Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Projects Assistant Manager in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic team and a really dynamic department to work in. During my two years with the team I completed a variety of jobs, worked with a range of clients and attended some fantastic internal training sessions. The only reason I left was to join a client I had been seconded to and was one of the trickiest choices I had to make!

    Cons

    The only downside I found was that the salary provided was lower than working in industry but this was balanced out by the training and support provided by working for Grant Thornton.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-02-21
  7. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good technical skills and training

    Cons

    Large firm and loses the personal touch of some smaller firms

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-02-19
  8. "GT London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most workers there are pretty young in their 20s - helps to be able to socialise.

    Cons

    End of month drink? would of been better if they did something more divers at the end of the month, not everyone drinks and not everyone want to smell or alcohol or be sitting in a pub.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-02-18
  9. "Good, but compensation could be improved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategy Manager in London, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good culture, nice people, better work/life balance than some competitors, good benefits

    Cons

    Average salary and bonuses not overly exciting

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-02-23
  10. "Brilliant place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary great people to work with

    Cons

    No real progression pathway for qualified people

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-02-08
Found 406 reviews