Grant Thornton UK LLP Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Grant Thornton UK LLP Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 235 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Grant Thornton UK LLP CEO Dave Dunckley (no image)
Dave Dunckley
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not promoted on merit or hard work just the usual big 4 mentality of who knows who gets ahead(in 33 reviews)

  • "Work life balance difficult to maintain(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "Enjoyable role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Production Associate in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been promoted within the year and so the restructure has worked well for me and I am happy that the changes have been made, the team leaders are supportive as are most of the dept. I enjoy the work I do and feel I make a contribution to the audit process, ideas are shared on a board which I like, my manager listens to my feedback. I think as a department it's growing and personally speaking I think it's... got A LOT better. There's also a good reward package eg pension etc and the people from all levels are great to work with.

    Show More

    Cons

    I suppose you can't keep everyone happy, and because the work is quite complex it's not for everyone, you will get lots of support from your team however if you refuse to take advice or make the same mistakes over and over again you will be put on an action plan, not really a con but it's all I could think of.

    Advice to Management

    I enjoy working here and pleased that my hard work has been recognised with a promotion (but would like to be paid more)

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-11-21
  2. "Amazing work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - KYC Analyst in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing colleagues, relaxed work environment,

    Cons

    not much room for progression

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-08-10
  3. "GT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Tax Associate in Birmingham, England

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company Innovative Good name in the industry Good for development

    Cons

    Can have bad atmosphere Lack of progress for some

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-10-08
  4. "High pressure work environment but great work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Within the insolvency team the partners etc. are truly market leading. The work is incredibly interesting and complex. Great team members across the board. Gain an insight into contentious cases from the go.

    Cons

    Takes a long time to go into a form of management position. If you are not a rotational graduate and go in entry level expect not to start qualifications for a while, and potential preferential treatment to grads. Partly a symptom of insolvency work, but a very large case load and high pressure environment.

    Advice to Management

    Have a more formalised development plan for entry level employees. Potentially hire more junior staff as the team was fairly imbalanced.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-09-18
  5. "Not the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smaller teams to work with means less bureaucracy

    Cons

    Pay worse than market Damaged brand Internal politics

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-09-11
  6. "Current"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    excellent culture and good salary range

    Cons

    lack of teamwork within the one department

    Advice to Management

    improve training policy for grant Thornton employee

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-08-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Instructional Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Agile working environment, making a fantastic work-life balance. People are friendly and generally easy to work with. They have a progressive attitude towards an inclusive culture and seem to genuinely care about employee well being. Would absolutely work there again!

    Cons

    Not a lot of social events throughout the year and can often feel disconnected. It can sometimes be difficult to change mindsets to different ways of working and a lot of focus has to be placed on getting a trickle down effect from the top.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage teams that often work together to connect further by offering team building days or budget towards team events. There needs to be more engagement from senior management.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-07-31
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Assistant Manager at Grant Thornton - firm could be great with some changes..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent training and promotion opportunities if you are progressing well. Some truly brilliant individuals who love to share their knowledge and experience to coach others.

    Cons

    Individuals with a poor work ethic simply aren't dealt with as they would be in other firms. The agile working approach has led to a split between hard workers and people out for what they can get. Good people are leaving because of differential and unfair treatment. We aren't living up to our values and our recent quality failings indicate that something needs to change.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-08-11
  9. "Awful, STAY CLEAR!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Administrator in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free fruit and great kitchen. That's it.

    Cons

    Awful environment to work in. Bullying from management and higher-ups hiring former friends instead of people who can actually do the job. STAY CLEAR!

    Advice to Management

    Hire actual managers, not former call centre employees for high managerial positions to run an audit department.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-09-05
  10. "Infrastructure advisory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Infrastructure Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, Flexibility, Project diversity

    Cons

    Low salary Limited progression Small scale projects

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-07-26
Found 235 reviews