Grant Thornton UK LLP Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Grant Thornton UK LLP Reviews

Updated 24 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Grant Thornton UK LLP CEO Dave Dunckley (no image)
Dave Dunckley
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance (working from home dependant on team)(in 54 reviews)

  • "A modern company with some of the latest technology and offer flexible working(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not promoted on merit or hard work just the usual big 4 mentality of who knows who gets ahead(in 34 reviews)

  • "Work life balance difficult to maintain(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Associate in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, good working balance

    Cons

    Bit pushy on the exams they want you to take, forced CIPFA and I had to leave as it wasn't what I wanted to do.

    Advice to Management

    Let people complete the exams they want as long as its in the line of business they're working in.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-11-30
  2. "Very intersting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Actuarial Analyst in London, England

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Many clients to work on so always busy!

    Cons

    Retention across sectors of life-insurance, general, and pensions would have been insightful.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-01-09
  3. "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CMU Assistant in Manchester City Centre, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice offices and facilities. Friendly staff

    Cons

    No training structure, no support. for a company who advises to communicate and barely say anything throughout the day. staff have no sense of humour.

    Advice to Management

    Hire a trainer, whether third party or on site. Have training guides and structure.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-01-24
  4. "Looking much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A return to the more collaborative and trusting culture. Agile working. A clear, authentic and honest desire from the CEO to turn things around. Momentum building for positive change and impact.

    Cons

    Pockets of the old school, antiquated and laddish partner culture. Leadership teams disappear into silence and then reappear when there is a an ask. Hearing in the media first when the firm has taken missteps and been stung by regulators.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-01-08
  5. "Not great for non fee-earners."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best choice of CEO. Good working environment. Great modern facilities. Comfortable surroundings in a good London location. Good employee benefits.

    Cons

    Salary earnings for support staff are poor. I worked hard for over fourteen years and in that time didn't make it to £25k. I thought this quite unfair for a Central London employee with that length of service. I dread to think how much less I may have earned had I not had a good employee record. This was likely to be more down to direct management than it was higher level, but it made me personally feel that I overstayed my welcome for at least ten years longer than I should have.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Recognise and reward good support staff with better salaries. The GT Intranet reads that all your employees are important, but I know from experience that this isn't strictly true. Don't rely on individuals in lower management to make personal decisions on employees salaries, because personal decisions can, and are, biased. Consider for a moment that after fourteen years of full time employment, it was your annual salary that had only been increased by £6,850. Introduce a set automatic pay increase, dependent on service. You can't function as a successful company without support staff and there is little doubt that Grant Thornton would benefit from retaining long-term, experienced staff rather than wasting time and money regularly training up new joiners.

    Show More
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2020-01-16
  6. "Overall interview process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Audit in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A large company with lots of opportunities, without feeling like a small cog in a big wheel. Very friendly and they value you

    Cons

    Nothing I can think to add

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-11-18
  7. "TAS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, good people

    Cons

    Work/remuneration balance, CV not great, slow promotion

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-12-03
  8. "Good place to work and develop one’s career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good access to senior guidance and advice from directors and partners. Supportive and collaborative teams. Formal processes geared towards meeting career development goals.

    Cons

    Salary did not reflect the market and the gender salary gap appeared to be relatively larger. Room to improve balance between individual career aspirations and tactical work required from individuals (silos within advisory units could make individuals knowledge base too narrow).

    Advice to Management

    Clearer alignment of individuals’ work to both overall and departmental business strategy.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-10-28
  9. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great networking opportunities and collegiate atmosphere

    Cons

    Limited career progression for some roles

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-10-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible manipulative political Male dominated place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time

    Pros

    Some good clients but have lost many

    Cons

    Too long list. No promotions Firms quality is poor No trainings given

    Advice to Management

    Please get rid of senior staff who are manipulative. Promotions are only given to people who are always behind the influential people. Recognition is not given to good hardworking people.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-11-18
Found 246 reviews