Grant Thornton UK LLP "big 4" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Grant Thornton UK LLP Employee Reviews about "big 4"

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Grant Thornton UK LLP CEO Dave Dunckley (no image)
Dave Dunckley
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance (working from home dependant on team)(in 54 reviews)

  • "A modern company with some of the latest technology and offer flexible working(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not promoted on merit or hard work just the usual big 4 mentality of who knows who gets ahead(in 34 reviews)

  • "Work life balance difficult to maintain(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "big 4"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Grant Thornton advisory business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial business, lots of very clever individuals and you're given responsibility from the offset. Expanding and growing in the advisory business at a quick rate

    Cons

    Despite the advisory business expanding quickly and closing the gap with the big 4, pay remains stubbornly below where it should be

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2017-08-25
  2. "Not as slick as a big4"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are real unlike the big 4 More responsibility than big 4

    Cons

    Lack of direction at the top Lack of diversity at the top, very much an insiders club at times Long hours due

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-06-13
  3. "Not the big 4"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Agile working Friendly people Much smaller than big 4, so easier to build a network

    Cons

    Support services/ Back office not treated that well Exception culture - not a set way of doing something/ always "an exception" for doing something differently

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-03-11
  4. "Too big, a cog in a big wheel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice offices, great benefits, good pay. Good perks! Good socials!

    Cons

    Unless you are in the “click” which if you join from outside you won’t be, you are not treated well. They have their favourites and nothing will stop that. Not promoted on merit or hard work just the usual big 4 mentality of who knows who gets ahead.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2019-02-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - multinational company - diversity - structured career progression (an employee would know how the next 5 years will look like for him/her)

    Cons

    - Wannabe "big 4" - long working hours - poor training - focuses on quantity over quality

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-09-03
  6. "Much happier here than I was in Big 4"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A great working culture, strong on teamworking and collaboration. Staff are encouraged to be independent, take ownership and responsibility for work and developing their careers. Most partners are very supportive and seek to resolve any issues arising constructively rather than applying a blame culture. Very happy with work:life balance.

    Cons

    Pay and benefits not as good as Big 4 but that's a trade-off for a better work:life balance. I'm not a great fan of the new branding and office structure but, that's very much personal choice.

    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-01-28
  7. "Grant Thornton employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are fantastic opportunities to grow and develop your career at Grant Thornton. The business is growing and means that as individuals we can grow to as people and advisors. We talk a lot about 'unlocking the potential for growth' in our clients but were certainly do what we say, by trusting employees to act autonomously to get the work done and enhance your career. Using our flexible working environments and allow individuals to seek out new opportunities in their chosen field or in other areas within Grant Thornton. Grant Thornton is big enough to have a large corporate feel but small enough that you can get to know people on a personal level across a number of offices.

    Cons

    We have a large international presence - this is not as good as the big 4, and so I feel that at times to service our clients, as many will have international presence, we need to ensure we have identified the correct needs of our member firms.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2018-01-25
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Hands down the worst company in London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Nice location, a park nearby * Several good take-away places nearby

    Cons

    * Corporate to the core (in a bad way) * Inexperienced managers (most of them are fired from big 4) * No career opportunities * Almost no training * Lots of work but due to flaws in scheduling it seems to be way more work than there is (consider using software instead of school-leaver level managers) * Some teams are facing racism issues and HR tries to ignore/silence these talks.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2017-09-12
  9. "Good culture with limited progression opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There's a great culture with partners more approachable than those at the Big 4. They also encourage a good work life balance with "agile working" (working from home etc) if needed.

    Cons

    Roles with a national remit can lead to frustrating career prospects. A lot of the firms focus is on London, so if you don't work there there's little chance of promotion or bonus.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2017-07-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Big 4 audit model without a Big 4 reputation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grant Thornton UK LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, knowledgeable and approachable staff across all levels of the firm – I feel wholly confident approaching everyone to be treated with respect and patience. Some staff have been here for years but are still open to change and are very welcoming and willing to share their excellent knowledge of the sectors they work in. Great office facilities in the North West. Well provisioned, attractive and with good ICT facilities. Pay/benefits is only slightly below some larger competitors but the hours are significantly better. We’re contracted for 7.5 hours per day which, other than busy season, is broadly reflective of reality. Good training provision and a fantastic culture which supports time out of the day job to attend sessions along with encouraging other things such as secondments to internal departments and external organisations. Vibrant Economy appears to be a genuine effort by leadership to attract great clients and staff. It also has the potential to put in great foundations to grow the various business lines of the firm. Almost all clients are good to work with. An internal push to exit difficult/unprofitable/unethical clients should hopefully remove some of the stress inducing jobs – I really hope this materialises.

    Cons

    No responsibility taken by individuals for difficult decisions such as what jobs we’re bidding for/withdrawing from/staff recruitment. Questions enter the ether and emerge from some kind of committee that is never explained (despite the question being asked). This black box model makes me wonder who is actually making decisions? Is it HR, individual partners, or central office? Cost cutting over the last 12 months has resulted in some (not all) managers being very peculiar about approving expenses/TOIL. Eg not responding to requests and taking the time to google a mileage claim and asking why someone has gone a few miles above what google maps says. Is there so little trust/respect that people are trying to ‘earn’ an extra £3?! The idea that we should scrutinise our expenses as though it is our own money will be difficult to achieve when we have no incentive to do so. The Reward element of Shared Enterprise is obviously a joke – a pro-rated bonus after 3 years on all the superior profits above the already high targets – after taking out the 66% partner share. Trainees are explicitly treated as disposable on a churn and burn basis. The Big 4 style exam policy results in good employees being frozen out of progression and effectively (and sometimes overtly) being forced out the organisation by a very vocal HR department. This appears to frustrate the audit department who have to go through long processes to retain staff during busy season etc who have received good performance ratings and feedback. Nobody seems sure as to why they’re so keen to fire people when the department, at times, struggles to recruit high calibre staff. Performance reviews are based on expectation documents which are deliberately ambiguous/impossible to achieve in order to refuse promotions and keep payrises to a minimum in order to help prop up the department budgets. The reality that they’re clearly decided on more than this, including who you know, is a reality of big organisations but it’s embarrassing for the managers how obvious this is. Being ‘discouraged’ from discussing these decisions and pay furthers the lack of transparency around the (sometimes large) salary discrepancies between people at the same grade – eg removing the salary bandings from the intranet.

    Continue reading
    Grant Thornton UK LLP2017-03-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 30 reviews