Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Great Clips Reviews

Updated 14 January 2019
1,685 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
271 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "It is a fast paced environment with a guaranteed customer base" (in 121 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule decent tips short hours possible" (in 96 reviews)

Cons
  • "You have to have complete open availability and no set schedule" (in 44 reviews)

  • "Need to work some nights and weekends BUT that's also where I make the most" (in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (18)

    "It's gonna be GREAT!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Rosemont, IL (US)
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Rosemont, IL (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Immediately begin making money, endless opportunity to grow in so many different ways: as a stylist, to further your career as more than just a stylist, as a person. There are so many reasons to be inspired by this campany: by fellow stylists that help and care that u achieve your goals, by the corporate side of the family that never stops working to better our day to day operations whether we see it or not, or by the corporate support that is always available with a helping hand. There is no doubt there is a place for anyone and everyone at a Great Clips

    Cons

    Inconsistencies between different franchisees.

    Advice to Management

    It can be extremely hard to keep the dream in sight, day to day you can lose motivation to achieve the goals or personal dreams. But never forget why you chose to become a manager, strive to excellence, and never give up on yourself or salon in the end it will be worth it and your lasting team will be grateful for it.

    Great Clips Response

    3 Oct 2018

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day!


  2. "Its Truly Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Bartlett, TN (US)
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Bartlett, TN (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Always busy. Make great tips. Customers are amazing and we are always growing. Great Clips has their own affordable product line that works so good, smells good and keeps customers coming back. You can make incredible money here, just be prepared to be busy from start of shift to finish.

    Cons

    The POS is a little tricky/glitchy, but they are always working on it. It's like an ipad, so simple to use.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in our training and special treats. It's a pleasure to work here.

    Great Clips Response

    15 Jan 2019

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and comments. We appreciate everything you do to deliver the Great Clips brand each day!

  3. "Stylist review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Wilmington, NC (US)
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Wilmington, NC (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Money in your pocket everyday! The harder you work the more money you will make. 10 percent on all product sales. We only cut and style, it's fun and easy!

    Cons

    Most salons give 40 plus hours if understaffed.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on helping stylist reach their personal goals

    Great Clips Response

    14 Jan 2019

    Thank you for everything that you do in the salon each day! We appreciate your feedback and comments.


  4. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Kelowna, BC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Kelowna, BC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    friendly environment and good teamworks

    Cons

    everything may be new , but easily get familiar with it

    Great Clips Response

    11 Jan 2019

    We appreciate that you are a valued member of a great community of stylists and managers! Thank you.


  5. "Best Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Gilbert, AZ (US)
    Current Employee - General Manager in Gilbert, AZ (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    On going training, lots of Career Advancement, love my co works!

    Cons

    Don't have all holidays off and sometimes finding a work and life balance.

    Great Clips Response

    9 Jan 2019

    Thank you and your teams for everything they do in the salons each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!!!


  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Orlando, FL (US)
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Orlando, FL (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great pay, great benefits, advanced training, opportunities to move up the ladder, a company that cares. I have been with more than one Franchisee and every time has been a family experience. Makes me proud everyday, to be a part of this company.

    Cons

    No experience yet, would keep me from loving this company.

    Great Clips Response

    8 Jan 2019

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day!


  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Great Clips part-time

    Pros

    cool technology and try to make it fun

    Cons

    Alot of time off when holidays

    Great Clips Response

    8 Jan 2019

    Thank you for being a valued member of a great team! We appreciate your feedback and comments.

  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Very busy built in clientele, good money and hard work

    Cons

    Staffing issues open 7days a week , opportunities to move up beyond manager

    Advice to Management

    I am management

    Great Clips Response

    3 Jan 2019

    Thank you for being a valued member of a great community of stylists and managers!


  9. "Unbelievable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA (US)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers Clients listen to music while working

    Cons

    No balance Low pay Manager

    Advice to Management

    Look at what your managers are doing to employees more,high turnover

    Great Clips Response

    15 Jan 2019

    Since each salon is independently owned and operated, the best person to address your comments would be the franchisee. If you would like to share more, please email Jeanne@greatclips.com with the... More


  10. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Great team
    Support from corporate
    Great base pay plus commissions

    Cons

    Being open 7 days a week can be an advantage but working some weekends has to be something your okay with

    Great Clips Response

    28 Dec 2018

    Thank you for everything that you and your team do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!