Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Find your next job here

Great Clips Reviews

Updated 19 February 2018
1,319 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
39 Ratings

1,319 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Consistent money ,nice customers,fast paced (in 99 reviews)

  • Very flexible schedule to balance my home life (in 74 reviews)

Cons
  • You have to have complete open availability and no set schedule (in 35 reviews)

  • Need to work some nights and weekends BUT that's also where I make the most (in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "GREAT place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Fairmont, MN (US)
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Fairmont, MN (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Very flexible hours, great place to work if you have children! Always room to grow in your career. Advanced training is always available. Such caring and genuinely amazing owners, they value you and treat you like family. Great place out of school.. built in clientele. You stay busy on a daily basis which is great money. Guaranteed base wage PLUS many other opportunities to make more money. Hands down the best and only company I will work for!!!!

    Cons

    Absolutely NOTHING! I can say I LOVE and look forward to going to work!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! You all have an amazing company!

    Great Clips Response

    19 Feb 2018

    Thanks to you and your team for everything you do in the salon each day! We appreciate you sharing your experience.


  2. "Amazing Franchisee & Excellent Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Guelph, ON (Canada)
    Current Employee - Manager in Guelph, ON (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Competitive wages
    Bonuses
    Flexible hours
    Excellent training
    Supportive Franchisee & Head Office

    Cons

    I have no cons because it’s an amazing come any to work for!

    Great Clips Response

    15 Feb 2018

    We appreciate you sharing your experience working in the salon! Thanks to you and your team.


  3. "So far great career. A lot of people say it's stressful and don't feel it is."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Mount Pleasant, SC (US)
    Current Employee - Manager in Mount Pleasant, SC (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent money and constant steady flow of clients. Full benefit packages. With a brand name that's already been established all you have to do is make sure you have excellent customer service and a smiling face.

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about this company. There are times where you will work 8 to 10 hours a day. You will be making money the whole time so who doesn't love that.

    Great Clips Response

    15 Feb 2018

    Thank you for being an important part of a GREAT community of stylists and managers!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hairstylist/Manager in Charleston, SC (US)
    Current Employee - Hairstylist/Manager in Charleston, SC (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Busy salon franchise ! Great owners and management at corporate office! Awesome benefits including insurance , base pay, pto, and productivity pay!

    Cons

    Busy salons which aren't a con at all! If you would like to work hard and earn a great living in hair this is the place to be !

    Great Clips Response

    14 Feb 2018

    We appreciate your feedback and comments! Thank you for sharing your experience working in the salon.


  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Gibsonia, PA (US)
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Gibsonia, PA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Always busy. Always making money. Great Clips has everything figured out for you. They have a system for everything and that system works.

    Cons

    Been with Great Clips going on 5 Years. I don’t have any complaints. Clientele doesn’t have to be built it’s already there.

    Great Clips Response

    14 Feb 2018

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Summerville, SC (US)
    Current Employee - Manager in Summerville, SC (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The owner is amazing and cares about us and what is going on in our lives. I make great money. The GM does everything she can to help you succeed. Family atmosphere. I was hired on almost 8 years ago as a manager of Great Clips. I have managed 3 of their 10 salons and loved every minute of it.

    Cons

    No Cons I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Thank you for believing in me and helping achieve my dreams.

    Great Clips Response

    14 Feb 2018

    We appreciate that you are a valued member of a GREAT team! Thank you for sharing your comments and feedback.


  8. "Area manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in McMurray, PA (US)
    Current Employee - Area Manager in McMurray, PA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great training, franchisee and gm, family Salon who cares about staff, customers are great, you get hourly, pto, prod bonus, productivity

    Cons

    Nothing to say bad about the company I’ve been here 6 years and I love it. Only slow time is when the weather is bad.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to care about staff and have flexible scheduling I know it’s appreciated.

    Great Clips Response

    12 Feb 2018

    Thank you for being a valuable member of a GREAT community of stylists and managers!


  9. "IT'S GONNA BE GREAT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kansas in Hays, KS (US)
    Current Employee - Kansas in Hays, KS (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fantastic franchisee. Amazing learning opportunities. GREAT MONEY

    Cons

    Schedules as a little crazy, but are made around customer demand so understandable.

    Advice to Management

    Offer higher base wage to attract more stylists.

    Great Clips Response

    11 Feb 2018

    We appreciate that you are a member of a great team! Thank you for your comments and feedback.


  10. "Amazing!Wonderful! Outstanding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Monaca, PA (US)
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Monaca, PA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great franchise owner. Great area manager and amazing team members. Flexible schedules. Pto. A lot of Incentives to make more on top of your hourly wage. Training. Advancement opportunities. 401k and much more!!!

    Cons

    Can be fast paced at times and some may feel overwhelmed. But shop is scheduled according to customer flow and management works to make it run smoothly!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to care for all of your employees. You are doing an amazing job helping them succeed in their careers and personal lives!

    Great Clips Response

    10 Feb 2018

    Thank you and your team for everything you do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!!!


  11. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Reliable income, almost always busy, excellent culture and lots of stylist incentives

    Cons

    Somewhat physically stressful, sometimes long hours

    Great Clips Response

    9 Feb 2018

    We appreciate that you are a valuable member of a GREAT team! Thank you for sharing your experience in the salon.


Showing 1,319 of 1,324 reviews
Reset Filters