Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Great Clips Reviews

Updated 20 September 2018
1,544 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
162 Ratings

1,544 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The money is good and its fast paced" (in 113 reviews)

  • "Very flexible schedule to balance my home life" (in 83 reviews)

Cons
  • "You have to have complete open availability and no set schedule" (in 37 reviews)

  • "Need to work some nights and weekends BUT that's also where I make the most" (in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "It has been the best career decision of my life! Love my team members and family environment Future Keys embraces."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Family focused, fair, honest, very well paid, incentives, all benefits, focused on our success.

    Cons

    Honestly, I don't have any cons. Over 7 years with Future Keys and I couldn't imagine working elsewhere.

    Great Clips Response

    20 Sep 2018

    We appreciate everything that you do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Do your job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Vacaville, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Vacaville, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Bonding with coworkers, free services off the clock, customers

    Cons

    Stylists don’t tip, but think you’re great, no raise unless minimum wage is raised

    Advice to Management

    Compensate loyal employees, quality suffers when rewards come from quick haircuts. Not all cuts can be done under 13 mins. Having to void Fake online check ins should not hurt the shops numbers

    Great Clips Response

    16 Sep 2018

    Since each salon is independently owned and operated, the best person to address your feedback would be the franchisee. If you would like, you can email jeanne@greatclips.com with the salon location... More

  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Grove City, OH (US)
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Grove City, OH (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Several benefits are offered health care, 401k, dental, vision, disability. Paid holiday's. A fun and busy working environment.

    Cons

    At times can be extremely busy.

    Advice to Management

    Several stores makes it more likely to advance into management.

    Great Clips Response

    14 Sep 2018

    We appreciate that you are a valued member of a great community of stylists and managers!


  4. "Managee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Family environment. Great franchisees room to grow

    Cons

    Very busy and good money

    Great Clips Response

    13 Sep 2018

    Thank you and your team for everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand each day!


  5. "hairstylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Great Clips part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Good tips if in the right location.

    Cons

    Hope to get a crew or moral goes down.

    Great Clips Response

    12 Sep 2018

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon each day!


  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Fenton, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Fenton, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    At great clips in Fenton, MO... Awesome pay!! My Team is my second Family. Flexible hours, guaranteed pay, lots of benefits. Busy salons so stay busy and make good tips.

    Cons

    Work full weekends, but that's where the money is! The customers and team make it worth going in on a Sunday

    Great Clips Response

    11 Sep 2018

    We appreciate that you are a member of a great community of stylists and managers! Thank you for sharing your feedback and comments.


  7. "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Melbourne, FL (US)
    Current Employee - Management in Melbourne, FL (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I have been with great clips for many years, i have opened two new stores.
    I have managed these stores. Great salon family...forever friends.
    Great staff
    Great company
    Great pay

    Cons

    Alot of stress but worth it.
    Feet hurt, legs hurt,9 hour shifts are hard,
    6 days a week could happen.

    Advice to Management

    Be picky who you put in your stores to mold and grow your stores.

    Great Clips Response

    10 Sep 2018

    We appreciate that you are a valued member of a GREAT team!

  8. "This company has my whole heart!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Wentzville, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Manager in Wentzville, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    The training is amazing! I never stop learning with this company!

    Cons

    Sometimes staffing can be challenging, but with a good culture in the salon, you can at least retain the ones you have.

    Advice to Management

    Continue showing appreciation to your staff. Honesty and communication is key!

    Great Clips Response

    8 Sep 2018

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  9. "Not sure....so/so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    work independently, lots of great people

    Cons

    let large franchisees "call the shots" ....too much to explain more

    Advice to Management

    Don't let your larger franchisees treat everyone, including OTHER FRANCHISEES, as though they are better than everyone else. The arrogance of some is just disrespectful and does not reflect positively on the brand

    Great Clips Response

    21 Sep 2018

    We appreciate that you are a member of a great community or stylists and managers.


  10. "Stylist / product manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist/Product Manager in Yorktown, VA (US)
    Current Employee - Stylist/Product Manager in Yorktown, VA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Love the work atmosphere as well as all of my employees are like family .

    Cons

    Not as many benefits

    Great Clips Response

    5 Sep 2018

    Since each salon is independently owned and operated, franchisees may use a number of different factors to determine stylist's total benefits. Thank you for sharing your feedback.


Showing 1,544 of 1,549 reviews
Reset Filters