Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Great Clips Reviews

Updated 20 June 2018
1,438 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
108 Ratings

1,438 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The money is good and its fast paced" (in 105 reviews)

  • "Very flexible schedule to balance my home life" (in 82 reviews)

Cons
  • "You have to have complete open availability and no set schedule" (in 37 reviews)

  • "Need to work some nights and weekends BUT that's also where I make the most" (in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Amazing Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager/Stylist in Plant City, FL (US)
    Current Employee - Store Manager/Stylist in Plant City, FL (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, benefits, great support, always room for growth, steady customer base.

    Cons

    Occasionally there are customers/employees that suck to deal with but thats honestly with any job.

    Advice to Management

    The franchisee I work with is incredible. Im very grateful to have found them.


  2. "Advancement Opportunities Available"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Specialist in Kansas City, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Operations Specialist in Kansas City, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great Clips has a strong values system and great culture. The salons are focused on teamwork and supporting the local community. The salons offer flexible hours, a constant flow of customers and a guaranteed wage. Great Clips offers advanced training in leadership roles for management and technical skills for stylists. Because the salons are franchised, each organization is a bit different, so if you don't feel a good fit at one location, there are MANY others to choose from. With 4000+ salons across the system, you could live almost anywhere and work for this great company.

    Cons

    Learning to lead others can be a difficult skill to learn. If you are committed, the feeling of gratification is unmatched by anything else.

    Advice to Management

    Show recognition to your team in any and every way possible. Build a strong culture with the stylists and develop both their strengths and weaknesses.
    I began as a receptionist for Great Clips in cosmetology school, I have also been a stylist, assistant manager, and a manager for this company. I now work for the home office as a field agent helping managers build their salons and supporting franchisees in growing their businesses. If you dream of advancement and working for a company who truly cares, you have found the fit for you!

    Great Clips Response

    19 Jun 2018

    Thank you for sharing your experience working in the Great Clips system! We appreciate everything you do each day to be sure that the Great Clips brand is delivered in the salon for our valued... More

  3. "Salon Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Gainesville, TX (US)
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Gainesville, TX (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I have worked at this salon since before the doors were open! I love the community and closeness with the customers. Everyone is always impressed by the professional appearance of the staff and cleanliness of the salon. We often hear they love we all have so much fun at work!!!!

    Cons

    Open 7 days a week

    Great Clips Response

    17 Jun 2018

    We LOVE that you are a valuable member of a GREAT team! Thanks for everything you & your team does each day.


  4. "Best job so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - WISCONSIN in Manitowoc, WI (US)
    Current Employee - WISCONSIN in Manitowoc, WI (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fast pace, good money, friendly staff, room to grow in the company. Also a good place to start out. On going education.

    Cons

    Fast pace, although this is also a pro it can be a con for some. I perfer a fast pace company.

    Great Clips Response

    17 Jun 2018

    We appreciate that you are a part of a great community of stylists and managers. Thanks for sharing your experience in the salon!


  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Wentzville, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Manager in Wentzville, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Continuing education, ongoing training, several benefits, busy store, lots of money, great teamwork

    Cons

    No complaints other than being short staffed

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Great Clips Response

    15 Jun 2018

    Thanks to you and your team for everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  6. "Manager/stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Petaluma, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Manager in Petaluma, CA (US)
    Recommends

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Easy tips
    Employer is willing to work with schedule
    Can get promoted quickly
    Great place to work!

    Cons

    Sometimes there is a lack of staff.

    Great Clips Response

    14 Jun 2018

    We appreciate that you are a valued member of a great community of stylists and managers!


  7. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Minneapolis, MN (US)
    Current Employee - Stylist in Minneapolis, MN (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Training. Benefits. Great money. Time off. No need to hustle and find your own clientele- they just walk in. Amazing team mates. Support from management. Family- orientated. Great when the schedule can be ran like it’s supposed to- great clips has done their research and knows what to do.

    Cons

    Industry is short staffed currently so the hours can get long (based on your availability) and it’s very busy and your body can wear out quick. High burn out rate. Sometimes high turnover- depending on salon. The bad stylists wreck and stress the great stylists. Like any salon job there can be drama depending on the person.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your stylists. If you’re short staffed reduce your hours so stylists don’t get burnt out. Put aside the money and maybe close on Sunday Mondays. The clientele will understand and you will look better because you’re taking care of your employees- everyone wants to respect a place they go to. This isn’t a standard desk job- it takes emotional connection and physical strength. Without time stylists do not last.

    Great Clips Response

    10 Jun 2018

    Thank you for everything that you do in the salon each day! We appreciate that you are a part of a GREAT team.

  8. "Fun, Family, Growth, Contribution, and Integrity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Woodstock, GA (US)
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Woodstock, GA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Family based and people oriented. I have had an amazing journey with this company! I started right out of school and was managing a salon within the year. I have been with the same Franchisees now for 7-8 years and have worked at nearly all of there locations managing at 3 and now as an Area support manager. So needless to say growth opportunity is available! You are only limited by yourself in anything you do!

    Cons

    Need your own tools and you need to be a reliable trustworthy employee.

    Great Clips Response

    8 Jun 2018

    We appreciate everything you and your teams do each day to deliver the Great Clips brand in the salons!


  9. "Something for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager/Design Master in Chicago, IL (US)
    Current Employee - Manager/Design Master in Chicago, IL (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Training, advancement, structure, sense of family, guaranteed clients.

    Cons

    Franchise to franchise expect differences

    Advice to Management

    Always trust your seasoned employees and push them to strive for more.

    Great Clips Response

    8 Jun 2018

    Thank you for being a part of a great community of stylists and managers! We appreciate your feedback and comments.


  10. "Great place to work if you just want to strictly do haircuts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Kenosha, WI (US)
    Current Employee - District Manager in Kenosha, WI (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great Clips has many franchisees. The one I work for is amazing. They really want to see you succeed and give you the tools and advice to succeed. The best thing about Great Clips - no chemicals, color services or wax services. Just haircut after haircut

    Cons

    The obvious con... you HAVE to work weekends... but honestly... each one of us "Barbers" or "Cosmetologists" knew that while we were in school.

    Great Clips Response

    6 Jun 2018

    We appreciate everything that you and your teams do in the salons each day to deliver the Great Clips brand! Thank you.


Showing 1,438 of 1,443 reviews
Reset Filters