Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Great Clips Reviews

Updated 12 November 2018
1,651 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
253 Ratings

1,651 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "It is a fast paced environment with a guaranteed customer base" (in 120 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule, paid training, specialize in haircuts" (in 96 reviews)

Cons
  • "You have to have complete open availability and no set schedule" (in 42 reviews)

  • "Need to work some nights and weekends BUT that's also where I make the most" (in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Stability, Fairness and Generously Compensated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Portland, OR (US)
    Current Employee - Manager in Portland, OR (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    If you're driven to cut hair, this is the place for you! I've been with the same organization for over 15 years, if you're looking for a salon to grow roots in. If you take pride in your talent, Great Clips is also for you. You don't need to "fill your books", or even "sell" yourself. Great Clips does all your marketing and advertising. You show up on time, work your shift, and produce quality haircuts, Great Clips will compensate you with great pay, incentives and bonuses. There is on-going technical training and retail knowledge (which are paid training). The teamwork at Great Clips is amazing, also. Whether you're a beginner in the hair design field or a veteran with many years of experience, Great Clips is for you.

    Cons

    After 15 years with Great Clips, there are no cons.

    Great Clips Response

    13 Nov 2018

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback and comments. Thank you for being a valued member of a GREAT team!!!


  2. "Been a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Youngstown, OH (US)
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Youngstown, OH (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The pay, the staff, management, the continuing education, advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Sometimes we are so busy we don’t get proper breaks

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Great Clips Response

    11 Nov 2018

    Thank you for sharing your experience working in the salon! We appreciate everything you do each day.

  3. "The GREATEST place I have ever worked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Wapakoneta, OH (US)
    Current Employee - Manager in Wapakoneta, OH (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I really feel like a family with my co-workers.

    Cons

    I don't have any complaints about this company!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Great Clips Response

    8 Nov 2018

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!!!


  4. "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Incentives, you stay busy, guaranteed wage

    Cons

    No set schedules, schedule for customers

    Great Clips Response

    6 Nov 2018

    Thank you for being a valued member of a great community of stylists and managers!


  5. "An awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rochester, MN (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rochester, MN (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great money, great team, the owners really care about the staff, flexible schedule, feels like family! Never have to worry about clientele, always busy!

    Cons

    I cant think of any. I guess that is why I am going on 28 years with the same company .

    Great Clips Response

    1 Nov 2018

    We appreciate you sharing your experience working in the salon for 28 years! Congratulations and thank you.


  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Tullytown, PA (US)
    Current Employee - Manager in Tullytown, PA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Friendly,Helpful staff , clean environment
    No book which means no competition hourly pay with many bounus free continual education flexible work schedule

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Great Clips Response

    31 Oct 2018

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand. Thank you!


  7. "Hair Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist

    I worked at Great Clips part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for

    Cons

    Night and Weekend Hours Little time with family

    Advice to Management

    You are doing a great job. Keep it up!

    Great Clips Response

    31 Oct 2018

    Thank you for having been a part of a great team!

  8. "Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Grandville, MI (US)
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Grandville, MI (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They treat u like Family! They have so many oppurtunities to grow, great incentives, they further your education,and technical training. They believe in u and want u to be successful and reach ur greatest potential.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say! I love where i work and who.i work for and what i do and What Great Clips stands for!

    Advice to Management

    U r doing Amazing ! Keep the Passion and Never Give up!

    Great Clips Response

    29 Oct 2018

    Thank you for sharing your experience and for being a valued member of a great community of stylists and managers!


  9. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Pittsburgh, PA (US)
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Pittsburgh, PA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I work at Great clips Pittsburgh walnut place location. I have been with the company for a little over 2 years, and have had the ability to watch myself grow as a stylist. The management team has been so supportive and compassionate. Not having to stress about having a clientele and being able to make consistent income has been awesome. Working close with management give a sense of team work that is really appreciated!!!

    Cons

    Working with this salon, you tend grow close to you clientele. As well as coworkers. And sometimes separation isn't easy.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to push you stylist for excellence!!!!

    Great Clips Response

    27 Oct 2018

    We appreciate that you are a valued member of a GREAT community of stylists and managers!


  10. "I have worked with Great clips for the past 6+ years and love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stire Manager in Pittsburgh, PA (US)
    Current Employee - Stire Manager in Pittsburgh, PA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    They work around my daughter,s school schedule . Great general manager and franchise is caring . I have worked for 3 different franchises and my current franchises is the best by far

    Cons

    I wouldn’t change a thing

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Great Clips Response

    27 Oct 2018

    Thank you for everything you and your team do in the salon each day!


Showing 1,651 of 1,656 reviews
Reset Filters