Greeley and Hansen Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 25 Oct 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
55%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Greeley and Hansen CEO Andrew Richardson
Andrew Richardson
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "I appreciate the old school focus on solid water/wastewater engineering, without too much corporate fuss(in 4 reviews)

  • "I appreciated the company’s benefits, such as summer hours and especially retirement plan benefits (401K, Company Profit Sharing and pension plan)(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior Management, Human Resources are awful to deal with(in 7 reviews)

  • "Project managers all seem unhappy, overworked, stressed out, and sickly looking(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Outdated culture with little room for growth"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Greeley and Hansen full-time

    Pros

    Updated office space in a good location

    Cons

    Very antiquated work environment. Zero flexibility to work from home, 10 vacation days, and no room for growth. Greeley and Hansen does not invest in their employees, therefore it is a big revolving door. If you are looking for a company with a good work life balance, this is not the place.

    Continue reading
    Greeley and Hansen2018-10-25

    Greeley and Hansen Response

    November 20, 2018

    Thanks for your personal input. We’re sorry to hear you felt our work environment did not meet your expectations. Greeley and Hansen understands the importance of having a great culture and work environment for our staff. In fact, the firm offers a wide variety of time-off options to help meet the diverse personal needs of staff. We appreciate your feedback and would welcome additional details related to your comments at Feedback@greeley-hansen.com.

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Greeley Job Review"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Greeley and Hansen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exciting projects, busy, friendly staff

    Cons

    Work/life balance not too great, little vacation time

    Greeley and Hansen2017-10-04
  3. Helpful (4)

    "It's a Good Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greeley and Hansen full-time

    Pros

    Client-Centered and Quality-Focused Nice Perks/Benefits Great New People Sports Teams

    Cons

    Culture Can Sometimes Interfere with Work-Life Balance I.T. Systems Antiquated Some People are Negative

    Continue reading
    Greeley and Hansen2016-08-29

    Greeley and Hansen Response

    August 30, 2016Company Representative

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments. Collaboration is central to our culture and to our success as a firm, and we’re committed to fostering an environment that promotes teamwork and cooperation. In addition, we are working on several new initiatives to enhance our IT systems that will facilitate even better collaboration and provide greater flexibility. Your feedback is important to us. If you are willing to provide additional details regarding your specific concerns, please e-mail us at Feedback@greeley-hansen.com

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Project Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Greeley and Hansen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great office culture with concern for employee welfare and work/life balance. Excellent people to work with every day. Exciting projects for big clients with a small company feel. Room for growth for anyone willing to work for it with lots of potential for success. Support for working parents. Excellent benefits - pension plan, etc. Visionary leadership with a great plan for the future.

    Cons

    The company has a lot of great ideas and initiatives that improve how we work, however communication to all staff can be improved.

    Continue reading
    Greeley and Hansen2016-08-23

    Greeley and Hansen Response

    August 24, 2016Company Representative

    Thank you for sharing your comments with us. It’s great to know that you enjoy the project work you do and the people you work with. And we’re glad you feel that the firm’s benefits program supports the needs of you and your family. We understand that effective communication with all staff is crucial. That’s one of the key reasons we conducted an all-employee survey earlier this year, hoping to get comments and suggestions from our staff about how we can best improve internal communications. We’re committed to working toward that goal. Again, thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

  5. Helpful (8)

    "Has the potential to be a better company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Civil Engineer in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Greeley and Hansen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities, freindly colleagues, work life balance

    Cons

    No mentoring, no encouragement, no career growth. Management seems to show high partiality towards one or two over the rest of the staff in giving salary raises.

    Continue reading
    Greeley and Hansen2016-01-09

    Greeley and Hansen Response

    March 17, 2016Company Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for providing your specific comments. If you are willing to provide additional details, please send an e-mail to Feedback@greeley-hansen.com.

  6. Helpful (5)

    "Good peoples but unfortunately, fake upper management and archaic culture turning them away"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Greeley and Hansen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I work with some of the most talented and experienced engineers in the industry. Work life balance is adequate and somewhat more relaxed. The senior/experienced engineers are always happy to share their knowledge and patiently teach you things. There is no formal training, though...

    Cons

    Flat corporate culture. Failure to recognize and appreciate employees. Archaic old-man culture within the management. Just like all the other negatives here, they recently changed the facade, to make it look more progressive and modern, but the soul (if any) is still old. Senior management hardly seen on day to day basis and frankly they don't know anything about their employees. Useless human resources department and it's so hard to find any information on the intranet site, and then you have to fight tooth and nail to get them to explain things to you. The intranet and other multiple links are not well organized or managed.

    Continue reading
    Greeley and Hansen2012-10-16
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Do not work here. No advancement."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Greeley and Hansen

    Pros

    Good team members to work with

    Cons

    HR, CEO COO - Senior Management. Salaries are not fair, Women Associate Engineers get paid less than male junior engineers. Senior Management does not care about employees. They will only promote those that are "yes" people, irregardless of experience. Benefits are lacking. COO cares more about the facade of the main office, instead of its core - employees. HR department won't help out easily when asked about insurance or benefit issues/questions. Once you have elected to leave the company, they will not give you an exit interview, blame all problems, bad mouth you to client or other workers. Whomever is writing reviews that work/life balance is awesome is not a senior engineer with project management duties. They will be required to work 80 hours wk, weekends and on your "free time" handle business development initiatives, committee work.

    Continue reading
    Greeley and Hansen2011-11-30
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Disappointed"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Greeley and Hansen

    Pros

    work life balance is adequate

    Cons

    Senior management care more about how the company looks as opposed to being an employee driven company. Employee morale is low, little to no appreciation. Agree with that they shun ex-employees. HR Department is useless, you ask questions and the senior members, sigh and sometimes tell you that they are too busy to help out. Exasperating to day the least.

    Continue reading
    Greeley and Hansen2011-11-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews