Greene King Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Greene King Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 620 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Greene King CEO Rooney Anand
Rooney Anand
257 Ratings
Pros
  • "Left to run my pub as if my own business(in 44 reviews)

  • "Excellent staff discount and caring management(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours not great work life balance pressure to meet targets(in 68 reviews)

  • "In my pub too we had 4 manager changes within 9 months which demonstrates the lack of care about the pub higher management had(in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Greene King part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, and great employee benefits for full time employment

    Cons

    Hours sometimes are hard to come by.

    Greene King2019-10-01
  2. "Farmhouse Inns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    33% discount on food and drink across greeneking owned establishments.

    Cons

    Labor budget is unreasonable considering what we are supposed to achieve. Farmhouse Inns as a brand seems to being backwards rather than forward. The offering is very dated. Menu changes are poor

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the good people you have and allow a better work/life balance. Using systems that dictate how many people you need working and when doesn't work. It doesn't take into consideration any of the human elements or moment to moment changes in the business. Example, 2 people on shift. Really busy and quality off food and service gets dropped. Or Someone calls in sick or hurts themselves leaving a... single person.

    Show More
    Greene King2019-10-15
  3. "bar maid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitress in Saint Albans, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours on every rota

    Cons

    not enough people on shift

    Greene King2019-10-14
  4. "It’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bar Tender 

    I have been working at Greene King part-time

    Pros

    Discount is pretty good tbf

    Cons

    Rude customers and that stuff

    Greene King2019-10-13
  5. "GREAT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waiter in Harrow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing management, good pay, love it

    Cons

    literally none, slight micro management

    Greene King2019-09-29
  6. "Watch your pay and your managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Back of House Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They pay on time and always have hours.

    Cons

    Management are slack and 3 out of 3 sites I worked at, where frequently understaffed, and there was more than a few complaints about under payment.

    Advice to Management

    Don't focus on budget bonuses. Hire more staff or lose the staff you already have.

    Greene King2019-10-10
  7. "High Staff turnover - no emphasis on building a team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Greene King part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work, always different, great to work with people

    Cons

    long hours, low pay, no team

    Advice to Management

    build a team, keep the team and the business will do better. Area managers look deeper than just the AM and GM to understand the pub - look below the surface.

    Greene King2019-09-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Greedy King"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunities for progression and learning.

    Cons

    Minimum Wage No work / life balance

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff better.

    Greene King2019-09-17
  9. "Unstable hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commis Chef in Chippenham, South West England, England

    I worked at Greene King full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50 percent off food and drink, friends and family discounts, nice management

    Cons

    Zero hours contracts, unstable rota,

    Advice to Management

    Please dont tell prospective staff you are going to employ full.time when the co grants zero.hour contracts ,be upfront

    Greene King2019-09-14
  10. "Good place to work with opportunity for progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House Team Member 
    Recommends

    I worked at Greene King full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn to work well within a team, able to keep any tips made from customers, opportunities for progression in a company that cares.

    Cons

    Low rate of pay, minimum wage

    Greene King2019-09-13
Found 620 reviews