Greene King Reviews

Updated 12 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Greene King CEO Nick Mackenzie (no image)
Nick Mackenzie
149 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good discount percentage on any Greene King Pub(in 52 reviews)

  • "Staff discount at all GK pubs and hotels(in 45 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours and constant late night shifts which makes it hard to socialise with people outside of work(in 102 reviews)

  • "Very corporate way of running a pub(in 74 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great

      16 Apr 2021 - Team Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working and fun team

      Cons

      Not enough pay - didn’t pay LLW

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good employer

      27 Apr 2021 - Team Leader Front of House in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My immediate management has always been great and flexible, allowing me to work the hours that suit me while also studying. Have always been able to get more hours too if i needed them. The company has taken great care of us during the pandemic and has always communicated everything effectively, e.g. how furlough works. Been provided with good training as well.

      Cons

      Can be hard work and sometimes it feels like there's not enough staff on shift. Pay is pretty much standard for the sector and working with (sometimes drunk and annoying) customers isn't always fun. However, Green King still seems to be one of the better ones what comes to big hospitality firms.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Dodgy Notice Times and Dodgy Manager

      6 May 2021 - Front of House Team Member in Stoke-on-Trent, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Customers, Not much else

      Cons

      Not sure if this applies to other pubs but my manager would often ask for employees to write positive reviews about the pub in order to boost its rating and thus mean she gets a hefty bonus. The legality of it is shady but i know for sure the ethics are down the drain on that one. Another thing i didn't like about my time at greene king was that the notice periods are impractical. I had given over 2 weeks notice for a one week holiday (the first time in the 2 years of my current employment) however apparently it has to be 4 weeks which in most cases is impractical as a holiday is often booked only 3 weeks in advance these days. After giving this notice i have been threatened with a termination of my employment with the words "You dont get to pick and choose when you work, i put your shifts on and you work them". Treated like more a machine than a Human there and seems to think i have no life outside of my 0 hour contract.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Avoid at all costs

      12 May 2021 - Cake A Tier in Birkenshaw, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's just big boxed cake mix

      Cons

      This is my opinion of one specific farmhouse Inn but here you go. Everyone on the management team thinks they are above their staff and shouts at their team on the team Facebook. The furlough they provided was not enough to even cover my rent and when we returned to work they were telling us how grateful we should be to the company for not firing a handful of minimum wage workers. Even whem we came back to work, I, a contracted full time worker only got 1 shift a week and when it was raining they cancelled last minute but on the day they would expect us to just drop our plans and come into work if the rain stopped. Also the team is unfriendly to newbies.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Under appreciated

      22 Feb 2021 - Senior Assistant Manager in Aberdeen, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Met lots of great co-workers -Staff discount -Can be a fun job if you’re part time

      Cons

      -long hours and you have to work 6 days a week unless you do 10 hour shifts 5 days a week -unpaid breaks and a lot of the time it’s too busy to take a break -high pressure -can be hard work because they like to run the bars with only 2 people, sometimes it’s only 1 person if the other person is on a break or taking a delivery in) -a lot of admin work and no time to do it unless you come in early or stay late (and work an even longer day) -the company always seem to side with the customer if they put in an online complaint, even if there are witnesses that prove the complaint is untrue (I’ve seen this happen not just to me but to several other colleagues in more than one Greene King pub)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Friendly and challenging place to work

      7 May 2021 - Server/Bartender 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly place to work with lots of challenges. Flexible and approachable management who made it easy to work at a pub whilst I studied.

      Cons

      Not somewhere to stay for career progression if you want to move to an office role quickly

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Greene King

      12 May 2021 - General Manager in Peterborough, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible working hours, friendly atmosphere

      Cons

      long hours and late nights

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      9 May 2021 - Waitress in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Never really had any issues here, not a permanent role for me so it does the job

      Cons

      Before the new app, scheduling was very disorganised and HR is difficult to contact.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      great company

      10 May 2021 - Server/Waitress in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      brilliant feedback when pandemic started brilliant management tips

      Cons

      sometimes don't listen to staffs examples to improve the business

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Alrightish company

      7 May 2021 - Line Chef 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meet good people, make lots of friends

      Cons

      Long hours minimum wage for a lot of responsibilities progression is hard in some sites

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,132 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Greene King Job Seekers

    General Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Greene King? Share Your Experiences

    Greene King logo
    or