Greene King Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Greene King Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 519 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
27%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Greene King CEO Rooney Anand
Rooney Anand
217 Ratings
Pros
  • "Left to run my pub as if my own business(in 40 reviews)

  • "good team work and lots of help(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be long hours but it’s how you manage your time(in 53 reviews)

  • "Now they are changing it to monthly pay which is a reason why I wouldn't go back there and would probably work at another pub that paid weekly(in 49 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Cares and needs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Greene King part-time

    Pros

    Consider all possibilities. Reasonable hours. Feel very much part of a team.

    Cons

    The pay is sometimes unpredictable.

    Greene King2019-02-01
  2. "It's a big corporate chain, so manage your expectations."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Front of House Staff in Edinburgh, Scotland

      I have been working at Greene King part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      33% Staff Discount on food and drink in any of their chains/brands. Would suit students as tend to need extra staff evenings/weekends. Almost always get my break when I am due one - very rarely do we not get breaks.

      Cons

      The general manager of your pub will only have so much control of the rota/hours they are allowed to "spend" each week. They have to submit their rotas to area managers and they quite often have to cut the hours back due to forecasting. Can make it difficult to have work-life balance when your rota keeps changing.

      Advice to Management

      More one to one meetings or some kind of formal opportunity to discuss feedback or training would be helpful. Online training we have to do is often not relevant or is repetitive.

      Greene King2019-05-23
    • "Food quality is a disappointment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Chef in Bury, North West England, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Greene King part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Excellent staff discount and caring management

      Cons

      Slow progression and poor quality food

      Advice to Management

      Good luck

      Greene King2019-05-21
    • "Waitor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Greene King part-time

        Pros

        Great part time job for students.

        Cons

        More relevant training for staff members.

        Advice to Management

        Training

        Greene King2019-05-09
      • "Long hours, under appreciated overworked under paid"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Team Leader in Bicester, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Greene King full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        50% off food on shift 33% of food and drink all the time Fun happy people

        Cons

        Long hours, under appreciated overworked under paid.

        Greene King2019-05-08
      • "Relatively a good job."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Greene King part-time

        Pros

        Very flexible hours and can be quite an easy job depending on the amount of difficult customers lol, some managers can be really helpful and they do look out for their staff.

        Cons

        However the pay isn’t great to be honest.

        Greene King2019-05-08
      • "Back of house staff"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Back of House Staff in Northampton, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Greene King part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good training, good progression within companies

        Cons

        Very low hours for part time, likely to get requested holiday denied, feel unwelcome and unwanted in the team

        Advice to Management

        More for KM's, Treat your team better and make them feel wanted in the team and important

        Greene King2019-05-16
      • "Team Leader, Duty Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Team Leader 
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Young, fun teams. Chance for progression.

        Cons

        Over-worked and underpaid. Training here is not very good.

        Greene King2019-04-29
      • "Great company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Teddington, London, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Greene King full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Very caring and attentive Great benefits

        Cons

        Can do better with feedback

        Advice to Management

        Listen more to your managers and employees

        Greene King2019-04-25
      • "Standard pub job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Head Chef 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Greene King full-time for more than 9 years

        Pros

        Hours are usually available when needed

        Cons

        No loyalty. Worked very hard for Greene King for many years to be forced out of the business when it suited them.

        Advice to Management

        Pay more attention to the workers on the frontline

        Greene King2019-05-10
      Found 519 reviews