Groundswell Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Groundswell Group Reviews

Updated 19 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
63%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Groundswell Group CEO Darren Sartison (no image)
Darren Sartison
26 Ratings
  1. "Great Canadian Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Integration Consultant in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Company to work respecting the Values and Caring their employees all the times

    Cons

    There is not anything i would like to mention in cons

    Advice to Management

    Please make the people stay even if they decide to leave for instance i have worked very hard for the company to keep the clients always happy and thus bringing very good reputation to the company. I have worked for BCH and other clients sacrificing my family life to keep the account alive and keeping customer happy going above and beyond . I think they should encourage or motivate the people to stay back which i... feel is missing here.

    Show More
    Groundswell Group2019-11-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time

    Pros

    There is always new services and projects

    Cons

    Political environment where those with right connections can bluff their way to the top

    Advice to Management

    Real 360 reviews

    Groundswell Group2019-11-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Management is ineffective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company pays for cell phones

    Cons

    Management is ineffective, staff is not engaged, and executive build empires for their cronies They interviewed me on latest and greatest technology, only to assign me work on 10 year old legacy technology

    Groundswell Group2019-11-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Disastrous organizational change management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time

    Pros

    -The nice staff -offices in 3 cities -events

    Cons

    Organizational change and its associated communication in Groundswell nothing but trial and error, and they take bride in getting it wrong and trying again and again. You think staff has any confidence of your new change or flavour of the month, absolutely not. The minute the economy improves in Alberta there will be many resignations from Groundswell.

    Advice to Management

    Do one good organizational change to get rid of those at the top who keep doing organizational changes

    Groundswell Group2019-11-16
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Groundswell Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can learn a lot from different projects

    Cons

    payment can be better to employee contributes more

    Groundswell Group2019-10-29
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Billable work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time

    Pros

    Great facilities and friendly team

    Cons

    Huge army of non-billable leadership roles that don't have much value puts pressure on real workers to bill clients even beyond ethical limits

    Groundswell Group2019-11-15
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Not advised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time

    Pros

    Many coworkers are nice and friendly

    Cons

    -Pay is less than market - Revolving door, people are constantly leaving -Senior and Practice management is not qualified -No respect for staff

    Advice to Management

    Executive team changes

    Groundswell Group2019-11-11
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Culture to avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consulting 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time

    Pros

    Groundswell does a good job holding training and learning events.

    Cons

    The Groundswell culture is not the best, and it is dysfunctional from the top down. Delivery vice president and directors don't have the sense of strategic direction and are always in firefighting mode. It seems the friends and cronies got to the top positions in the company, and built their huge empires that they can’t manage. Moral and productivity are low. I work at one of the largest client teams at Groundswell,... and it’s unfortunate to see how little gets done, among all the wheel spinning. Communication and feedback cycles in Groundswell is a broken record doing nothing more than reiterating the message from the top, over and over. No wonder the company has a very high turnover rate, when executives keep hearing their own message as if it is the reality .

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Groundswell needs better strategic thinkers at the top. Command and control culture does not help breed any innovation

    Groundswell Group2019-10-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Leadership, and Amazing Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groundswell Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Groundswell is my 2nd home! I have been with the organization for almost 8 years, and they have seen me through many phases of my life. The leaders are self-aware, and focus on building their employees, I am an example of this. I started as a receptionist, and with their support went back to school to build the career I have today. The work/life balance is incredible. At Groundswell, I am able to have a career, and... still actively participate in my family life.

    Show More

    Cons

    Of course, in 8 years, there have been some tough days and months. I feel supported to bring my best self at Groundswell, but also know it's okay when I can't.

    Groundswell Group2019-06-17
Found 47 reviews