Groupon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Groupon Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2583 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Groupon CEO Rich Williams
Rich Williams
657 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very supportive and collaborative work environment(in 171 reviews)

  • "The work environment is extremely lax with NO dress code(in 148 reviews)

Cons
  • "Questionable integrity: Multiple issues with sales reps not getting paid the correct amount and no upper management catching it(in 72 reviews)

  • "Many merchants have been burned and won't give you the time of day(in 62 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced and exciting!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked for Groupon 2 years now, and I have been exposed to a company which is always innovating, growing, and moving forward. Working in a high performing culture where talent meets opportunity, really helps drive your career forward. Groupon is a place where you can put your ideas forward and take ownership of change. Yes, it can be challenging, but if you're up for that, you are put in a position to... actually genuinely impact the company. We have recently moved to a top class office, where we are being well looked after with an open purpose built spaces, all the meeting rooms you could ever wish for, fresh fruit, cereal and great coffee ;)

    Show More

    Cons

    You can see management working hard to ensure better alignment, transparency, and communication. This takes time, but it is happening.

    Advice to Management

    Only advice would be to structure and align on how you communicate. I.e each lob should be communicating on the same cadence, in the same way.

    Groupon2018-10-05
  2. "Hard Work Pays Off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Groupon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are great. Lots of tools to help, if you want to earn money you can. Hard work does pay off as can move up the ladder.

    Cons

    Managers need to do what they do without upper management getting involved.

    Advice to Management

    Let your sales reps sell, let your managers manage.

    Groupon2019-07-11
  3. "Poor Managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buyer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good monthly bonus if you hit your sales target.

    Cons

    Extremely poor management, a lot of blame culture and not much support or training.

    Groupon2019-09-08

    Groupon Response

    September 9, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us; we value the feedback. We're happy to hear that the monthly bonus structure at Groupon is rewarding. We want to continue to be a company that invests in our people, providing them with the resources, training and support they need to meet ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good Enough for Entry Level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good young and vibrant environment

    Cons

    lack of direction and terrible managers who cannot sell

    Groupon2019-08-09
  5. "Great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PR Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Groupon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked for a great team and wonderful boss with ample ability to learn and progress professionally.

    Cons

    Comp was quite low at the time.

    Groupon2019-07-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Buyer / Vendor Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home once a week

    Cons

    - Poor management - Un-suitable in-experienced promotions from within rather than sourcing experts in the field. - Poor IT infrastructure and admin support. - Extremely admin heavy role - Commission structure needs to be reviewed

    Advice to Management

    - Update commission structure - Re evaluate mid-management level

    Groupon2019-08-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not the same job as what was sold to us"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England

    I worked at Groupon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good office location and views Free snacks

    Cons

    Lengthy training programme before ‘officially’ joining the account management team- feel sectioned off from others. Unpredictable management style with micro management and no clear direction. Lack of recognition for any success, however management will highlight anything negative.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees, speak to them with respect and celebrate successes.

    Groupon2019-07-10
  8. "Great time working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Designer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Groupon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Groupon was a strong company when I joined in 2012.

    Cons

    In 2016 there was a redundancy wave that affected a lot of people, but I guess, this process is a natural thing for many startups.

    Groupon2019-06-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Unpleasant experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free cereal bars Good office location

    Cons

    Severe micromanagement from ill-equipped managers. No transparency on commission structure. Toxic environment which makes for unpleasant working environment. One dimensional sales role which isn’t account management.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees- we have been hired for a reason. Speak to people in a constructive manner.

    Groupon2019-07-09
  10. "Great People Great Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Specialist in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Groupon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working, self managed, well paid, great people

    Cons

    Layers of Unneeded Management, inflexibility of people in non sales roles,

    Advice to Management

    Work with the team not against them, easier to work with bigger companies if more flexible with commissions and expectations of one size fits all

    Groupon2019-06-04
Found 2583 reviews