Groupon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Groupon Reviews

Updated 28 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Groupon CEO Rich Williams
Rich Williams
736 Ratings
Pros
  • "Salary and Work environment are good(in 183 reviews)

  • "Better internal opportunities across teams, Reasonable pay hike, Free transport, No dress code ;)(in 154 reviews)

Cons
  • "Communication from Upper Management can be missing in certain situations regarding changes or organization updates(in 75 reviews)

  • "Many merchants have been burned and won't give you the time of day(in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in London, England

    I have been working at Groupon full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment to work in

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Groupon2020-03-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Hard Work Pays Off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Groupon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are great. Lots of tools to help, if you want to earn money you can. Hard work does pay off as can move up the ladder.

    Cons

    Managers need to do what they do without upper management getting involved.

    Continue reading
    Groupon2019-07-11

    Groupon Response

    October 15, 2019Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're happy to hear that you had the support you needed to succeed. We're continuously looking to evolve, and value your feedback about management. Thanks again!

    Continue reading
  3. "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Groupon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food Working from home option

    Cons

    Extremely unprofessional, unfair and nasty management in some departments Limited career progression

    Groupon2020-03-28
  4. "Buying Roles at Groupon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buyer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people, Flexible Working Hours including WFH

    Cons

    Sales targets, systems not set up for Buying.

    Groupon2020-03-05

    Groupon Response

    March 16, 2020Human Resources Representative

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on the London office with us. We agree, we have some of the best people (maybe ever) at Groupon. We're glad to hear you're enjoying the flexible work culture as well. We hope you feel comfortable sharing feedback on any of your individual targets with your manager, larger leadership team, or anonymously in a monthly pulse survey. We're continuously looking to evolve, and greatly appreciate your feedback to help us grow. Thank you for everything you do for us here at Groupon!

    Continue reading
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with Great company culture Management values employees input and feedback Relaxed atmosphere Get paid on time

    Cons

    Relatively limited career progression Base salary should be improved

    Continue reading
    Groupon2020-01-27
  6. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Supervisor in Sutton, East Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    best place to work for work there 20 years

    Cons

    there are no down sides to the job

    Groupon2020-01-27
  7. "A massively oversold opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Groupon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good office location and social/ get together offering

    Cons

    -No strategic direction and constant changes - not sure if anyone can follow what's happening - Constantly micromanaged (questioning every decision even though I was hired as a senior), no support for direct managers - Clear favouritism, opportunities given only to those who never challenge their manager

    Groupon2020-02-21

    Groupon Response

    March 16, 2020Human Resources Representative

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the London office with us. You're right, we're going through a ton of change right now. To be successful in this rapidly changing climate, everyone must feel empowered and trusted to innovate. That's why inspiration and ownership are two of our core values. We're truly sorry to hear that this wasn't your experience. We're continuously looking to evolve, and greatly appreciate your feedback to help us grow. Thank you for everything you accomplished during your time at Groupon.

    Continue reading
  8. "Dream company that changed into a nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Groupon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Used to be a great company, amazing environment, great people with a lot of diversity. Many social event, but everything have completely changed the last couple of years.

    Cons

    No structure, managers have no experiences, workload unrealistic. Toxic place

    Groupon2020-02-20

    Groupon Response

    March 16, 2020Human Resources Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on the London office with us. Every employee should feel empowered to meet fair goals. We're sorry to hear that this hasn't been your experience— truly. We believe in supporting employees to take on leadership opportunities at all levels (ownership is one of our core values) and are continually investing in training programs to help new managers become great leaders. We hope you felt comfortable addressing specific concerns with HR, your leadership team, or anonymously in our monthly pulse surveys. We're continuously looking to evolve, and greatly appreciate your feedback to help us grow. Thank you for everything you did for us here at Groupon.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great company, but you need a thick skin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Groupon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people with great ideas. Competitive salary, good benefits such as bonuses and contribution to pension plan. Best HR team that truly cares.

    Cons

    Lack of job security, questionable senior leaders.

    Continue reading
    Groupon2020-01-12
  10. "Bad working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Manager 

    I worked at Groupon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kitchen Playstation Building Snack area Location Option to play music in breakout area

    Cons

    Management Management & Management Training Coach has made over 5 people cry which is never a good start. Training group starts off with 10 and ends with maximum 3.

    Groupon2020-01-21
Found 2477 reviews