Groupon Employee Reviews about "merchants"

Updated Nov 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 of over 3,759 reviews

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
Groupon CEO Kedar Deshpande
Kedar Deshpande
0 Rating
Pros
  • "Amazing work environment and ability to build knowledge gain skills(in 226 reviews)

  • "Wonderful Culture and no dress code(in 164 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sudden decisions by upper management(in 92 reviews)

  • "Company really care more about its merchants(in 71 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Groupon

    Join the conversation on

    Designers

    4m

    a 

    UX Designer

    I’m in a final rounds of two companies that I potentially want to work for, Grubhub and Groupon. I recently had a recruiter from Deloitte digital reach out as well. At this point I’m not sure if I should reject the recruiter or go ahead with an interview even though I might be getting offers this month from other two companies. I’m honestly torn because they all seem like great opportunities and it’s absolutely wild to me how all three are happening at the same time for me.

    11

    4 Comments

    Tech

    107.4K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Groupon~301291
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "merchants"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Avoid this company if you value your mental wellbeing

      Nov 24, 2020 - Account Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice office, free breakfast, drinks on Fridays

      Cons

      Toxic environment, Nepotism & discriminatory hiring and management operations, encouraged to lie to merchants to avoid paying them on time on numerous occasions. I witnessed bullying across various departments, no genuine career prospects in what is a declining business model. Senior leadership changes at a rapid pace.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A once great place being slowly reduced to nothing...

      Aug 19, 2015 - Ops in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great office on the river in London Nearly all who work in Ops are fantastic and talented people, staff and management alike Good interdepartmental camaraderie for the most part Exposure to lots of issues (believe me, there are a lot) makes for heightened problem solving skills

      Cons

      All the great things we created are slowly being stripped away, as a brand it is losing its identity in favour of austerity. The amount of job losses/cuts recently has been utterly ridiculous, don't get me wrong, I understand the business decision behind lowering the operating margin, but the way it has been handled over the last 3 years has been atrocious. Terrible vision from the board leads to a very uninspiring local senior leadership team, mostly because they probably don't have a clear direction or plan to work towards, which trickles further down to the frontline staff who are deeply, deeply unhappy, I don't think I knew anyone that was genuinely enthused about their job when I left. The rot is so deep I worry if the company will recover. The amount of resources available for development is utterly disgusting, being told by L&D that there was no help available whatsoever to coach young managers, for people that actually want to improve and make a difference in their job, it really did make me sick to my stomach. Not that it's the fault of the local L&D departments, they do a fantastic job with what they've got, but what they've got isn't much. HR direction from the US has been a disaster with continually changing messaging month on month, year on year. I understand this is [was] a growing company, but that doesn't mean it should feel like a ship in a storm all the time. Terrible and non existent HR leadership, even at local level, has led to a culture of mistrust between the company and its employees. Nobody knows whats going to happen next which makes for very little engagement. Absolutely awful comms from HR from the very start of the company, examples of language completely out of sync with local/work culture, of rash and almost childlike attitudes, no unity in messaging from one person to the next. Add that to confusion in org and responsibilities means they have lost a lot of good people. Its only recently that they gained some GREAT people who are doing their best. Not strong enough leadership through the sales team, no one has stepped up to sync sales and ops, which could be the key to making this company tick. It's obvious that the Sales team will promise the moon on a stick to our merchants for a contract signature, only to disappoint down the line when they don't get what they've been promised, diabolical expectation management. This maybe down to unrealistic targets, and probably due to poor training also, which I sympathise with, but this makes it all the more important that their leadership is strong, I fear it is somewhat of a boys club though. People go for being liked over being respected, which doesn't make for longevity.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Intern

      Groupon, probably the worst company to work for in the world.

      Aug 27, 2014 - Anonymous Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice office Good Location Relaxed dress code

      Cons

      - Management positions are only given to friends within the company that have little or no previous management experience - Staff are very unprofessional with little or no respect for each other or, that of the merchants they deal with - Organisational skills are terrible between departments with constant focus on play instead of work - No support, development or growth opportunities within company - High staff turnover leading to loss of experience and expertise - Company not transparent and in most cases, its the blind leading the blind

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Intern, less than 1 year

      Toxic! Terrible company, avoid like the plague.

      Oct 1, 2013 - Anonymous Intern in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy to get in through recruitment regardless of your lack of qualifications or experience. Ideal first time job to see how bad a company can be before you move on to a real company.

      Cons

      Management are terrible - have no qualifications or experience to lead staff other than being hired on the grounds of being friends. No career progression or sense of purpose in role...just clocking in and out like factory workers. Staff generally don't care what happens to subscribers, merchants or pretty much anything other than when they are going to get drunk next or get their nails done. The company was made and designed to be a quick get rich scheme for the founders and nothing more as the business is unsustainable, unreliable and most importantly flawed. This company is absolutely toxic and chaotic - will make you regress in your career, avoid like the plague if you are looking for a career!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good to start with... Bad to end with

      Sep 30, 2020 - Business Development Representative in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked for Groupon for about 2 years, so this info will be regarding pre and post covid19. -Honestly, they give a pretty great training program. I feel like my sales skills were really improved over time with their structure and the way they initially train their reps. -Free snacks in office (though they were limited) -Good benefits and "unlimited PTO" (post-covid19 unlimited PTO was pretty much non existent and you had to get PTO double or triple approved weeks in advance) -Great peers and coworkers (for the most part) -Fun in-office environment before covid19

      Cons

      -company is going downhill -upper management and management in general have no idea what they are doing -micromanagement that seems to be getting pushed from C level employees -major changes in commission structure (started out making a decent commission percentage, then they changed to a smaller commission percentage with a larger base pay, then they took commission away all together and only paid on launched deals -they are always doing some weird sneaky things with your money (I've personally had to call into HR to receive bonuses that were missed on their end, and I had a coworker that was missing nearly 5K in commission) -the merchants you will reach out to are either out of business or HATE groupon -they encourage you to harass merchants to the point of legal threat -constant Zoom meetings to chat about "feedback" on the new program Groupon has laid out... employees give challenges on how their newly enforced pitch has been going over with merchants while upper management tells reps that they just need to do better and keep pushing -petty petty petty environment, everyone is talking about someone else, make sure to have all your ducks in a line because even if you have something in your personal life, Groupon managers will bring it to your professional life -no real sense of a promotional process, I know successful reps that have been exceeding metrics for months going on years and are still not promoted, while other reps that got lucky with a high selling deal get promoted or low performers get moved to a customer service roll instead of getting fired -awful communication overall -Groupon as a company is corrupt, they lied to their investors about where their money has come from and I know numerous current and former employees that are caught up in lawsuits with Groupon

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Wonderful culture, challenging business model

      Sep 16, 2020 - Director in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Engaged associate community with significant resource groups and cutting edge technology. Executive Leadership Team (ELT) is clear regarding the priorities and communicates frequently.

      Cons

      Challenging business with COVID-19 restrictions on consumer behavior. Questionable competitive moat if Google/Facebook/Amazon/Walmart decide to invest in building relationships with merchants at scale.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Groupon Response

      Global TA Manager

      Thanks for your review and we certainly appreciate your "Advice to Management." We will be sharing your feedback with Sr. Leadership. Thanks for all you do!

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      ok

      May 28, 2020 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good benefis, possibility to grow and learn new skills

      Cons

      Company really care more about its merchants

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Stay away, especially now

      May 15, 2020 - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of autonomy depending on your team, time off, matched 401k

      Cons

      Lack of leadership, chaotic, screwing over merchants

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great environment

      Apr 13, 2020 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent training, culture and management

      Cons

      Does not pay in comparison to other sales jobs and it seems as the company doesn’t always have the merchants best interests in mind

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company!

      Mar 5, 2020 - Merchant Development Representative in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Groupon is so fun to work at. They care about their employees and make work a fun place.

      Cons

      Merchants yelling at you all day long. Not always bad though.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 70 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Groupon Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews