Grubhub Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Grubhub Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Grubhub CEO Matt Maloney
Matt Maloney
315 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some restaurants wind up giving you a sample of free food and/or a drink(in 67 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is huge at Grubhub(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "Although it can take a bit to get a response to some customer service issues(in 34 reviews)

  • "Inconsistent pay, driver care hard to get a hold of(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Bdr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work Good benefits

    Cons

    None that immediately come to mind

    Grubhub2018-01-22
  2. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people and a wonderful work environment. Flexibility and freedom to make big decisions in your marketplace. Due to the small size of the London office their are great opportunity for professional developments and promotion. Fantastic culture with great people finding creative solutions to challenges.

    Cons

    A very US focused business which means on occasion the decisions made by senior management aren't suited to international marketplaces.

    Grubhub2014-10-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been with Grubhub for almost 3 years, and I am still excited to come to work! It is a fast paced environment where I am challenged to solve new problems on a daily basis. The teams are very supportive, collaborative and excited to be making an impact.

    Cons

    No real cons that I can think of. As mentioned above it is a fast paced environment, sometimes there is little direction and you have to be able to think on your feet often.

    Grubhub2019-09-30
  4. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Grubhub

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on cool projects and take ownership out of wheelhouse.

    Cons

    No opportunity for career advancements, training, recognition, and management is a non existent. Salary is pretty low too.

    Advice to Management

    Promote, train, and recognize your employees. Moral is already so low now that the A team has left and the B squad is the only to remain.

    Grubhub2019-10-17
  5. "Be prepared to be under valued and put your career goals on hold"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on interesting projects.

    Cons

    Zero opportunity for career advancements, training, recognition, and overall success. Pay is pretty low compared to other companies as well.

    Advice to Management

    Promote, reward, train, and recognize your employees before its to late. With the moral now being so low with the A team turning over, at least make the B squad feel loved.

    Grubhub2019-10-17
  6. "Great Culture & Tons of Room for Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tons of room for growth and development. This place is an innovation hub

    Cons

    Pay structure needs to be revisited

    Grubhub2019-10-12
  7. "Growth depends entirely on your manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time

    Pros

    1. Smart and friendly collegues 2. Cutting edge technology 3. Awesome products

    Cons

    1. Slow growth 2. Managers tend to keep scapegoats in their teams

    Advice to Management

    Reach out to your engineers and focus on transparency. People are leaving the company because of slow growth and politics.

    Grubhub2019-09-23
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Interview the company as much as they interview you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Client Success Manager in New York, NY
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - $30 a week grubhub stipend - Flexible schedule - A lot to learn and places where you can grow - Great office location in the city - Company culture is great

    Cons

    - Middle management does not seem developed in management at all and only seems to be in the seat based on tenure - - I would highly vet your direct manager - Inter departments are very disconnected making process hard to connect for the clients - Discussions about clients and their well being are very much based on numbers - Not a lot of direct team collaboration or sharing of best practices - Training is all... wiki based and not hands on at all - Direct department culture needs a lot of improvement especially to represent the culture of the company

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Executive leadership seems to be very strong with great knowledge. I would put a lot more effort into helping middle management learn how to lead a team and how to communicate effectively.

    Grubhub2019-09-23
  9. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver Care Agent in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Grubhub part-time

    Pros

    Nice perks and staff is nice

    Cons

    No cons at the moment

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Grubhub2019-09-08
  10. "A Bit Sexist Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Food perks ($30 per day) - Interesting People - Company growing - Good location

    Cons

    Company can be a bit sexist. I hear comments from the management downgrading women sometimes. Women tend to get worse jobs than men.

    Advice to Management

    Check your middle management better.

    Grubhub2019-09-15
Found 521 reviews