Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology Reviews

Updated 20 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "MS degree candidate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good research environment for studnets

    Cons

    But it is different depend on lab

    Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology2019-04-20
  2. "Research Institute with High Research Facilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Gwangju
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Full curriculum run in English, 3rd in the world considering Citation per faculty. Collaboration with Caltech. Graduate assistantship is available for all student. No 1 in Korea considering technology transfer.

    Cons

    It is far from the city. The size of the university is comparatively small( only 2000 students)

    Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology2019-01-15
  3. "PhD student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student in Gwangju
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Calm and peaceful environment Beautiful campus Good living facilities

    Cons

    Language barrier Huge Culture barrier Difficult communication Administrative problems Difficult to secure resources, sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Implement rules to promote global culture rather than traditional Korean culture

    Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology2019-01-10
  4. "Long Working Hour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Gwangju
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learned many techniques, worked with talented researcher

    Cons

    Long working hour (12hrs for almost all labs) which made me exhausted

    Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology2018-02-23
  5. "PhD candidate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology full-time

    Pros

    good and clean facilities, kind people, low cost of living

    Cons

    it is far from the heart of a city

    Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology2017-11-24
  6. "Post doc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology full-time

      Pros

      It is a good experience.

      Cons

      They give very few vacation days.

      Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology2017-10-12
    • "Freedom to do what's best for my students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      I really liked that they didn't micromanage me. Everyone in my department was able to utilize their strengths in order to best serve their students. Pay and benefits were good, and working conditions were excellent.

      Cons

      Female students were frequently sexually harassed and/or belittled in their labs, and international students were often ostracized or discriminated against. Complaints to the university often fell on deaf ears. The lack of healthy food options on campus is also a problem. Students need to eat well if they are expected to perform their best academically.

      Advice to Management

      Do more to make the university a safe and fair space for females. Actively recruit more female students, faculty, and researchers (women are seriously underrepresented in the current male/female ratio--my guess would be an 80/20 or worse split). Sponsor more women's organizations on campus, and implement a mentoring program. Do not tolerate sexism or racism at any level. Open a grocery store, or add a fresh produce...

      Show More
      Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology2017-08-24
    • "Good School, Full of Evil Professors"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology full-time

      Pros

      The administration of the school is willing to do everything for its students.

      Cons

      I never seen a single professor who is actually researching, even though teaching load is almost none here.

      Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology2017-07-24
    • Helpful (2)

      "Research Assistant, MS student"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Gwangju
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Equipment, Infrastructure, Location, Perks, Professors

      Cons

      Language, Long work hours, Alienation, Some lectures are taught in Korean even though they are advertised as being taught in English.

      Advice to Management

      Make sure that all lectures are taught purely in English, as advertised. Take care of long work hours.

      Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology2017-06-16
    • "Lecturer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology full-time

      Pros

      Quality students, good resources for learning

      Cons

      Ultimate lack of loyalty, resulting in 'strange' occurrences

      Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology2017-02-16
    Found 20 reviews