H&R Block District Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

H&R Block District Manager Reviews

Updated 2 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
H&R Block CEO Jeffrey J. Jones II
Jeffrey J. Jones II
4 Ratings
  1. "It's a wild ride, but it's a lot of fun."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District General Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&R Block full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always different, great boss, great peers, great work life balance, and strong culture.

    Cons

    If you're not a strong planner you will struggle. Live in your calendar.

    Advice to Management

    A few more year round employees would be helpful.

    H&R Block2019-10-03
  2. "H&R Block"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, pay is good, opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    Open every day including weekends. Seasonal work for 90% of associates.

    Advice to Management

    More training.

    H&R Block2019-08-06
  3. "Information overload. Spreadsheets, spreadsheets, spreadsheets....Micro managed!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District General Manager in Northfield, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Summer time was me time!

    Cons

    All other times. Info overload...

    H&R Block2019-08-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Many Talented and Dedicated People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many Hard working, dedicated and talented people at all levels.

    Cons

    constantly shifting leadership and direction

    H&R Block2019-06-03
  5. "Very different retail culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - District General Manager 

    I worked at H&R Block full-time

    Pros

    Autonomy in position, mobility of work functions

    Cons

    Limited support in field for leadership, especially during the off season.

    H&R Block2019-05-28
  6. "Lots of opportunity if you are prepared for sacrifices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant District Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely stable, good benefits, good pay

    Cons

    Lots of travel, three (or more) day meetings with franchisees

    H&R Block2019-02-26
  7. "District General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager in Shreveport, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The local staff. Great/loyal team members.

    Cons

    Volatile company. Over priced services. Peer group selfish. Bloated upper level management

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of Cobb

    H&R Block2018-11-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "District Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Marketing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at H&R Block full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Created my own schedule Required a somewhat entrepreneurial spirit Was not micromanaged Provided company car Provided company credit card

    Cons

    Wasn't technical fulltime, we didn't receive benefits Worked at least 35 hours a week and more during tax season but wasn't considered to be fulltime employees Had unrealistic goals

    H&R Block2018-09-12
  9. "Great place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very strong management development programs; challenging but rewarding environment; very progressive culture; excellent benefits

    Cons

    8 months of planning and 4 months of execution, success is largely dictated by outside forces (IRS open dates, Loan products that are Manager being challenged by government)

    Advice to Management

    I’ve got nothing but good things to say about HRB. It’s a challenging environment that helps push and develop high potential talent. Lots of opportunities to grow in KC or in the field. I started in the field as a Franchise Consultant and then a District Manager; my only disappointment was that I was only able to move up to a Regional Director after I left the company - but that is less about me and more about... the strong talent pool inside Block. This is a great company and I am very proud that I was able to spend 8 years with this organization.

    Show More
    H&R Block2018-09-13
  10. Helpful (9)

    "District General Manager Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District General Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Unlimited Vacation Time, during "off season". 2. The new CEO looks promising, but he has an incredible task ahead of him. I hope the best for him.

    Cons

    1. Micro-management to the extreme, from the Senior VP to hourly employees. You can not think for yourself here. 2. Lack of focus and unwillingness to engage in change. "We have always done it this way syndrome". 3. Turnover is out of control from District Manager down, 80% plus. 4. Aging workforce, with zero strategic plans on replacing highly skilled workers. More people are leaving then coming in. 5. H&R... blocks systems are inadequate and broken to meet the new market challenges. My outlook: I would not recommend working here. The outlook for H&R Block is not good, also echoed by Wall street and they don't even know the half of it. It was mind boggling how many new District Managers joined the company and left within months. This is a perfect example of a company ran very poorly for years and now with more pressure from the likes of turbo tax, the "house of cards" is falling apart. The new CEO is the only person who can change there trajectory, but he will need to make some huge changes to his senior leadership, specifically on the sales sides, to reduce and mitigate talent loss.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wipe out your executive team and start over. Create an employee centric atmosphere and let people actually collaborate and think for themselves. All of the turnover comes from poor leadership at the top, but no one wants to admit it.

    H&R Block2018-07-11
Found 59 reviews