H&R Block Tax Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Tax Specialist

H&R Block Tax Specialist Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
H&R Block CEO Jeffrey J. Jones II
Jeffrey J. Jones II
11 Ratings
  1. "Just Started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tax Specialist 

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time

    Pros

    The training courses were worth my time and money.

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say at this time.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    H&R Block2019-10-17
  2. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Specialist in Miami, FL

    I worked at H&R Block part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you want to gain some experience, this is a good place to start. Their tax course is really good.

    Cons

    There is not much organization when it comes to some offices. In my first year, I worked at an office in Hialeah, and it was almost impossible for me to get a client. Older employees would literally run to the door to get a tax return.

    H&R Block2019-10-16
  3. "XXXXXXX"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Tax Specialist 

    I worked at H&R Block part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule and the work is always different

    Cons

    The lack of resources and employees

    H&R Block2019-10-14
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Specialist in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There's a plethora of training available to you on all different types of tax topics. Get to meet many different kinds of people and build relationships with your clients.

    Cons

    Sometimes, staff may be short and clients are impatient or they think that we're the IRS so they get irate about their refunds or taxes being owed.

    H&R Block2019-09-21
  5. "unorganized company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Tax Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at H&R Block for less than a year

    Pros

    flexibility work time so you can work after 7pm

    Cons

    I was working as a seasonal intern in H&R Block before. This company doesn't have good management at all. It's so unorganized that a bunch of people left after the busy season

    H&R Block2019-10-02
  6. "Great Co-Workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Tax Specialist in Idaho Falls, ID
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at H&R Block for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers were wonderful people in my case. They really looked out for me my first year. The “bonus” can be a great way to make more money than the base pay and can be really motivating if you enjoy that type of situation.

    Cons

    While my immediate coworkers were wonderful I have seen a lack of connection with regional and corporate advisors. It often felt like the corporate/regional advisors cared little about what the people who were actually on the floor had to say and often had conflicting goals that would end up hurting the employees and customers more than anything.

    H&R Block2019-09-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Supplemental Income"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Tax Specialist 

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Hours, Ability to earn extra income

    Cons

    Marketing Campaigns that aren't well thought out

    H&R Block2019-08-01
  8. "Great for retirees or sahm looking for extra income"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Tax Specialist in Hampton, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    flexible scheduling meet new people learn new tax laws

    Cons

    poor management low pay not enough training

    Advice to Management

    Hire office managers that have degrees and experience managing employees. Increase pay

    H&R Block2019-08-05
  9. "Good temp work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Tax Research Specialist in Santa Ana, CA

    I worked at H&R Block part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Training to research on tax law - Friendly and helpful staff and leads - Emphasis on quality customer service over quantity - Free food on weekends - May lead to other opportunity based on your background - Decent hourly wages for entry-level work - Meet at least 20 hours of work

    Cons

    - Temp work, will last until tax season is over - Reliance on your training as the leads may not be available at the moment to help you - No benefits - Some tax law is too difficult to understand

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    H&R Block2019-06-20
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Tax Specialist 

    I worked at H&R Block

    Pros

    Flexible working time and good working environment

    Cons

    Only open in tax season

    H&R Block2019-06-26
Found 124 reviews