HBOS Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

HBOS Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
HBOS CEO Lord Dennis Stevenson
Lord Dennis Stevenson
10 Ratings
  1. "A great, fun place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HBOS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Edgy Pushes boundaries Going places Place to build a career. Career development is taken seriously, a lot of opportunities for the right people to move quickly with a lot of support and development.

    Cons

    Too risky some would say! Unfortunately tainted by the financial crisis. I think it's important to note that a lot of the HBOS values live on within LBG and the new combined company is a great place to be.

    HBOS2013-04-14
  2. "General Insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Halifax, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HBOS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff Good money Local office

    Cons

    Shifts all over the place No staff rewards

    HBOS2019-04-03
  3. "Support Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Technical Support in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at HBOS full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Relaxed environment, Good to work as a contractor as not much pressure.

      Cons

      Lots of politics, work not get appreciated as you would expect.

      Advice to Management

      A change of attitude is needed

      HBOS2018-07-30
    • "Poor management behaviour"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at HBOS full-time

      Pros

      Friendly co workers. Good training facility and training covers every aspect of the role. good team morale amongst floor staff .

      Cons

      My most recent manager unfortunately was very disrespectful and could have handled the situation of a bereavement in my family with more care. Due to the way i was treated i felt no option but to resign from my role. Management came across as very uncaring towards staff.

      Advice to Management

      Treat staff with dignity and respect. You will have a happier and more productive workforce. Some managers were clearly not suited to the role and their people skills were lacking. Investing a significant amount of money in training to get staff to a level required is irrelevant if management destroy any good work your training team has carried out.

      HBOS2017-11-15
    • "Adviser"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Advisor in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at HBOS full-time for more than 19 years

      Pros

      Package good hours suitable

      Cons

      Target driven not customer driven

      Advice to Management

      Assess on what a person knows not who they know

      HBOS2017-09-05
    • "Solution Architect review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Solutions Architect in Edinburgh, Scotland
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at HBOS

      Pros

      Good employee development if you drive it yourself

      Cons

      Poor project planning, can be very frustrating

      HBOS2016-03-17
    • "Risk Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at HBOS

      Pros

      Opportunity to further your career

      Cons

      Restructures and work life balance

      Advice to Management

      Restructures to fierce

      HBOS2016-02-26
    • "HBOS Branch life"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Savings Specialist in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at HBOS

      Pros

      Some nice people (customers and colleagues), some notion of progression and movement. Inside. No chance of getting hurt other than untidy cables. Education is supported and there is an ethos of further education being vital for the business at all levels

      Cons

      A lot of restructuring of branches and the company means that progression is halted. Company values aren't adhered to. Sales vibe when there isn't anything good to sell along with the supposed customer focused values. Lots of mundane work which is monotonous and doesn't change from day to day. Feels very stagnant

      Advice to Management

      Support the staff more. Make it a more enjoyable workplace which is actually customer-centric not salesy. Provide paths for careers which actually pan out. Support the values and lead from the front not hiding at a desk

      HBOS2014-12-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Shoddy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Analyst in Pudsey, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at HBOS full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      A lot of the positions at HBOS Plc, especially in the IT division, are aimed at entry-level so this is a great place to get experience before moving on. The people in these areas tend to be quite young and as a result are very social if not the hardest working.

      Cons

      Poor Management doesn't even begin to describe HBOS Plc's Service Desk Management. I was personally singled out repeatedly and even moved to a Desk between a Service Manager and my Team Manager DESPITE being the top performer in the Department AND a specialist (SME) in Voice technologies such as VoIP. If your face fits you'll be absolutely fine but heaven help you if it doesn't. You don't have a chance even if like me...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get involved, a good start would be to send all the Service Managers 'back to the floor' so they can see what your Staff have to put up with.

      HBOS2014-09-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Could have been great but the culture was all wrong."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Manager in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at HBOS full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      great benefits, pension & bonus

      Cons

      The sales targets often being pressurised into thing that are not best for the customer.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your staffs feedback.

      HBOS2014-05-06
    Found 27 reviews