HC-One Employee Reviews about "carers"

Updated 29 Sep 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 380 reviews

2.7
40%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
HC-One Executive Chairman Sir David Behan CBE (no image)
Sir David Behan CBE
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Kindness is through all we do at HC-one(in 33 reviews)

  • "Good working environment with lovely colleagues(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours as with any care provider(in 21 reviews)

  • "Poor pay for the work carried out, carers should be given a decent wage(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "carers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Very Happy

      9 Mar 2017 - Nurse in Wigan, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Kind caring staff, from all departments. Managers actually see the person rather than a number or looking good on paper. Great pay Fantastic personal development programme

      Cons

      The only thing I can say is not great is the colour of uniforms. Carers uniform is nice and looks very professional. The nurses and nursing assistants uniform is not complimentary and not practical as white can look unclean very quickly and can affect others perception of cleanliness and confidence in nurses if they don't look 100 % .

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Nice staff, poor pay

      29 Sep 2020 - Caregiver in Caerphilly, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The staff were very friendly and cared about the people they were looking after

      Cons

      Highly stressful job, especially is there are staffing issues on the shift. Poor pay for the work carried out, carers should be given a decent wage

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don’t do it

      1 Apr 2020 - Housekeeper in Colchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good management & some lovely caters Lovely residents

      Cons

      Along with some lovely carers the housekeepers aren’t the nicest to work with, talk down to you & tell complete lies about you. Expect you to be on their level at work, no5 everyone is as good as everyone else & they weren’t even the best at what they did.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not as good as Bupa

      11 Jan 2020 - Housekeeping Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bleach is banned in hc one care homes. Time and a half is paid if you work on bank holidays.

      Cons

      There is always a shortage of staff so you have to do extra work as well as your own for no extra pay. No sickness pay No ventilation when using chemicals. You are just given a tiny cleaning cupboard with a small sink and no window. That is bad for the cleaners health because the chemicals are strong. Some carers, nurses and unit managers will try to bully you and look down on you because you’re a cleaner. If you complain, nothing ever gets done to resolve the problem but if they complain about you then you’re immediately questioned in the office. No health insurance offered.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Under staffing

      21 May 2019 - Health Care Assistant in Coventry, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice work environment, and odour control is good, some staffs are quite supportive.

      Cons

      Carers are basically turned to slaves, do so much cleaning, and a staff will be left alone with 13 residents and still expected to do so much cleaning

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good

      16 Nov 2018 - Care Assistant in Peacehaven, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good training programme, good policies but only in theory difficult to put in practice,

      Cons

      Low pay rate, carers always at risk, money focused company, lack of support for the staff,lack of nurses because of lowest pay rate in uk

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor senior management

      9 Jun 2019 - Manager in Huddersfield, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company. Well maintained properties. Great training tools. For carers. Not bad salaries

      Cons

      Aggressive regional management Claim they use a dependency tool. Poor hca pay rates. No overtime Too much pressure on management to fill beds

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Terrible company

      12 Feb 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Looking after the different people

      Cons

      Management are just money grabbers no care qualities at all. Some carers are brilliant some just want to sit and do nothing

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Company to work for !!!

      7 Feb 2017 - Home Manager in Doncaster, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Having read some of the other reviews on here about HC-One, I can only say as I find. I have been working for HC-One since they took over from Southern Cross (moving swiftly on !) and can honestly say that I have experienced some fantastic support from senior management and peers alike. My skills have been nurtured and encouraged over the years to the point where I am now the manager of my own little home and am working alongside some of the best carers who share HC-Ones' vision of providing the kindest care.

      Cons

      Sometimes the amount of paperwork/reports/audits that we have to complete can be time-consuming and over-whelming, but I do understand the reasons for it. The job can be relentless at times and on occasion the work-life balance tips in favour of work.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Contractor

      Should be called 'HC-Shambles'

      28 Jan 2016 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent, hard-working staff The chance to do something good for people Meeting new residents and improving their lives

      Cons

      I've worked in care for over 10 years and I seriously have never known a company like this. Hard to know where to start. I'm sure management are cross-overs from the police academy. They haven't got a clue. Over-worked staff who work 12 hour shifts with no break because there is a mountain of paperwork to make Edmund Hillary sweat. We don't have time to provide a better standard of care because there are two carers to "look after" 22 people with EXTREMELY high needs. Training is almost non-existent. And I mean hands-on training. I've been with this company almost a year and not seen any new staff doing basic first aid! It's scary. Touchstone is a good approach but why should I do it in my free time for nothing?! No structure or organisational skills from management, I also love how a senior carer is included in numbers when they have mountains of paper work to do. Overall, I've never finished a shift as exhausted as I have been since working for HC-One. The demand and lack of appreciation is overwhelming. I choose to do this job because I CARE for the people I got the job for. It's all about numbers, not needs. Oh and all about the money! I'll bet CEO doesn't walk home after a shift?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

    Popular Careers with HC-One Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at HC-One? Share Your Experiences

    HC-One logo
    or