HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY Reviews

Updated 26 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY Managing Directors Lyndon & Jamie Cormack
Lyndon & Jamie Cormack
28 Ratings
  1. "Fabulous Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    – Had an amazing team and manager – Great company events that involve the whole company – Good salary – Fast–paced with interesting variety of projects

    Cons

    – Once the company moved into the new space, there was less intermingling with other departments

    Continue reading
    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2018-06-02
  2. "Herschel just cut all employees pay by 20% due to COVID"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time

    Pros

    Some fun product perks and social days

    Cons

    Some people work too hard, others do very little

    Continue reading
    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2020-03-26
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - British Columbia in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time

    Pros

    Culture, work life balance, the people

    Cons

    Disorganization, lack of clarity and communication

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2020-03-10
  4. "Good Entry Level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good brand to have on your resume, relaxed culture, good work life balance

    Cons

    Low pay, disorganized, slow to promote

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2019-12-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A disappointing experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My colleagues were great. They are enthusiastic, friendly and supportive. I appreciated my team very much and I wish they had the support structures in place to let them excel.

    Cons

    It is a company of young people with little experience in typical business workflows. Plans are made and abandoned. There is no concept of having a project planning pipeline and no BAs or PMs who can negotiate priority and time between business and development. As a result, tasks were poorly planned and their completion fell to people on the frontlines even though the main issues were due to planning and (lack of) the sign-off/approval process. Upper management is a mixed bag. Upon hiring, my recruiter and I were repeatedly reassured that my pre-requisite of working from home several days a week would be respected, after an initial in-office onboarding period. However, I (and my team) faced repeated passive aggressive comments regarding my work schedule even when I was only wfh once a week. I also was criticized for working from home for medical reasons (concussion symptoms) despite having a doctors note. To me, this reflects a level of unprofessionalism that is not appropriate for this size of company.

    Continue reading
    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2019-11-08
  6. "Worst Job Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Facilities in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A few of the staff werevery nice tow work with

    Cons

    A lot of the staff were horrible to deal with

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2019-11-05
  7. "Thumbs up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time

    Pros

    -awesome office with great people -great experience for growth

    Cons

    -product mentality is not too concerned with keeping up with environmental demands -for a design role in the city compensation is on the lower end

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2019-09-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "They don't pay enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time

    Pros

    Interesting variety of work, good team of strong and talented people, fun and relevant business.

    Cons

    Compensation is lower than competitors.

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2019-04-24
  9. "sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY part-time

    Pros

    1. not too stressful 2. flexible shifts 3. employee discount

    Cons

    1. can be boring at times 2. lack of

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2019-02-18
  10. "Great company and people - if the money's right, take the job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Energetic workforce that is generally very positive and encouraging (think the opposite of a draining workplace). -Pays on time - a lot of people think this is a given but you'll be surprised how bad other employers are about this. -Opportunity to rise as it's a growing company that is expanding organically. There isn't a lot of formal career progression mapped out, but I know they're working to fix this quickly.

    Cons

    -Being a younger company, some areas/depts don't have as much structure. However in other ways this is a positive (more flexibility, less red tape, more opportunity to craft your own change).

    Continue reading
    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2018-10-19
Found 43 reviews