HSBC Holdings Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

HSBC Holdings Reviews

Updated 8 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
HSBC Holdings CEO Noel Quinn
Noel Quinn
151 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Truly, the world's global Bank!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Busineess Analyst in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - limitless internal mobility opportunities in every major hub around the world. - relaxed, flexible working culture to suit every kind of personal circumstances both for contractors and perm staff - many learning opportunities to develop career - non-contributory pension scheme - good employee benefits - nearly everyone I worked with takes pride in working for HSBC - decent bonus

    Cons

    - although employee benefits are good, base salary can be better - you can't really stand out due to the sheer size of the organisation - in order to be classed as exceptional, you need to have luck for an opportunity to present itself as doing excellent in your project / assignment is simply doing what you're paid for

    HSBC Holdings2019-07-28
  2. "Huge company with huge resources and excellent opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Given ambition, individuals have a potential to achieve great heights in their professional development.

    Cons

    Hierarchy in the company slows its growth.

    HSBC Holdings2019-12-08
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the best companies I’ve worked for! Very supportive, caring, and attentive towards employees mental health. I was able to study full time while working there as they were flexible with my hours and understanding of my timetable

    Cons

    None at all because I enjoyed my time there.

    Advice to Management

    Lovely managers

    HSBC Holdings2019-12-04
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Auditor in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for. Not the highest salary out there, but the benefits definitely make up for that. Option to work across First Direct and M&S money as well. Keen on volunteer days, giving back to the community.

    Cons

    Lower average salary, but great benefits make up for it

    HSBC Holdings2019-12-03
  5. "Good culture, average pay and poor infrastructure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Relationship Manager in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good corporate culture, high levels of lateral opportunities and international outlook

    Cons

    Poor IT and systems, average pay

    HSBC Holdings2019-12-03
  6. "Lots of opportunity to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Quantitative Analyst 

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time

    Pros

    good teams, opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Sometimes too bureaucratic to get things done

    HSBC Holdings2019-12-01
  7. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, opportunities, people, recognition, additional training/courses

    Cons

    Stretched on staff, can make for long hours

    HSBC Holdings2019-11-29
  8. "No headline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning experience and team culture

    Cons

    Intense demanding and competitive environment

    HSBC Holdings2019-11-28
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate 

    I worked at HSBC Holdings part-time

    Pros

    Good experience and good role models

    Cons

    Struggle to integrate into team

    HSBC Holdings2019-11-28
  10. "Excellent experience but always the fear of redundancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Executive in London, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits and Excellent experience

    Cons

    Organisation too big, too many layers of management

    HSBC Holdings2019-11-26
Found 10625 reviews