HSBC Holdings "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

HSBC Holdings Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated 14 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
HSBC Holdings Interim CEO Noel Quinn
Noel Quinn
370 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Group Senior Manager GCB4 in London, England
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for with some incredibly talented staff.

    Cons

    Currently a lot change in senior management creating uncertainty in some areas.

    HSBC Holdings2019-11-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Protect yourself - they will pay you off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice offices, free water (include misspelt water bottle to help)

    Cons

    Internal promotions are paid badly, overpaid senior management, scandalous managers that sexually harass

    Continue reading
    HSBC Holdings2020-02-18
  3. "SSM in London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Service Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pension package and share option programme

    Cons

    Senior management plan to act but don’t do.

    HSBC Holdings2019-12-16
  4. "Very disorganised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Programmer Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Money to invest in the right area

    Cons

    Senior Management dont want change

    Continue reading
    HSBC Holdings2019-10-14
  5. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CCA 

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time

    Pros

    smart people, good location and opportunities

    Cons

    bureaucracy. pay. deal flow. senior management

    HSBC Holdings2019-09-12
  6. "Lengthy contract and good working relationships"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Business Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people to work with both within project team and business. Contract extensions are fairly common if providing value or if you have subject matter expertise. Flexible working is available.

    Cons

    Rate cuts and imposed contractor furlough. Reluctance to change. Senior management detached from the staff. Lengthy hours.

    HSBC Holdings2019-08-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Sickness prevails in UK with bullying from the very top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Banking in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you’re a long-term employee of HSBC, there are great opportunities outside of the UK commercial bank.

    Cons

    A toxic culture of bullying and utter disregard for customers data, circumstances, account closures and underinvestment in systems and tools. Short-term projects to bolster senior management egos with strategic fixes ignored to the detriment of customer protection. The externally published customer satisfaction rankings evidence how unimportant customers are. As is the employee satisfaction surveys.

    Continue reading
    HSBC Holdings2019-07-28
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Trading 

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Fun and creative environment

    Cons

    Disconnect with senior management

    Continue reading
    HSBC Holdings2019-06-18
  9. "HSBC Commercial Banking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HSBC Holdings full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    International opportunities UK market leader Strong product capabilities Working on creating a strong

    Cons

    Very bureaucratic Very political Feels there is a disconnect between senior management and more junior staff

    HSBC Holdings2019-06-11
  10. "Disgraceful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HSBC Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Pension, International opportunities, HSBC University and Canteen.

    Cons

    Where to begin! Diversity: I was warned about HSBC by an ex-colleague at a previous employer and read all the Glassdoor comments about poor diversity in certain central functions. When I joined I was shocked at how bad it was. The problem is management and very poor diversity in this global bank. Despite the Asian connection, the bank is actually British which explains why all senior management and executive management are predominantly white. In the Executive team, only 2 women. Conduct: My line manager has a history of poor behaviour and complaints raised against them that resulted in people leaving or transfering to other teams. This seems to be common there with another joiner also having the same problem. Had I known how bad my line manager was I would never have taken the job and just stayed longer at my previous employer. The employee support is so bad, managers are not equipped or trained to deal with issues and don't care. They are very old school and the management clique stick together, not interested in the very people they hire! As usual, HR are useless. I.T: Infrastructure is so bad at HSBC, things take ages to get fixed and no I.T person to come to help at your desk since they offshored 1st line support . If you want something done you go and wait at the help desk for everything. Overall, there is only a very toxic environment with poorly managed processes and incompetent management at HSBC. Employees are seen as nothing but a number and treated like cattle. Certainly not the "healthy human system" a very disconnected CEO keeps shouting about.

    Continue reading
    HSBC Holdings2019-07-08
Found 259 reviews