HSS Hire Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Sep 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 204 reviews

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
HSS Hire Chief Executive Officer Steve Ashmore (no image)
Steve Ashmore
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "I have come in with no experience of building but other experience that HSS were intrested in, I was recommended by a friend(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great people, good room for progressions, ok wage structure(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Weekend work, long hours no breaks(in 17 reviews)

  • "poor pay , long hours, poor line managers(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "great people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great business

      Jun 20, 2020 - Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really great people is the number 1 Pro, everyone mucks in and supports one another.

      Cons

      Can be very hard graft. Like all businesses profit margins are important so quite often resources are tight. But like I said, we all muck in and get the job done.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HSS Hire Response

      Head of HR

      Thank you for leaving us a review, it’s great to hear that you’re still enjoying your role with us after 5 years! We are a very fast paced business, but as you mentioned, our strong focus on team work helps us all support each other and get the job done.

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Decent company

      Sep 18, 2021 - Senior Sales Manager in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, good room for progressions, ok wage structure

      Cons

      Little benefits offered with contract

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Opportunities to progress, pressured role at times

      Nov 10, 2020 - AREA SALES MANAGER in Bristol, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some great people with progression offered if you work hard enough

      Cons

      Pressured role at times with lack of direction

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Mar 28, 2020 - Senior Area Sales Manager in Bedford, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment to work and great people to work with.

      Cons

      Unreliable service can really let down your hard work. When you have won a new client it the reliability of the transport will really make you look bad.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HSS Hire Response

      Head of HR

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we’re glad that you enjoyed working with your team. Obviously our transport teams work hard to fulfil all orders promptly, but they can be subject to delays for a variety of factors such as traffic, or vehicle maintenance. Our Ops teams have been going through a management development programme over the last year, so our managers are constantly being upskilled.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great but areas to be worked on

      Oct 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent culture with great people

      Cons

      Low salary benchmark Communication can be tricky with certain areas.

      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      On it way out

      Jun 5, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work alongside ( if they have not been made redundant while you are there). Not a lot else about good things.

      Cons

      Company is floating about like a ship without a rudder. In 2 years 6 major restructures and the Directors change every couple of months. No communication from higher managers, everyone is looking over their shoulders to see if they are next to be made redundant. Company is shrinking quickly and struggling to pay its debts. Had a £13 million bailout in Feb, will probably last till September

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Once a great company

      Dec 30, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Having worked for HSS for 4 years and meet some great people, the trainers especially Stuart are fantastic they make the training relaxed but ensure there is going to be a return on the investment from the training and once HSS was a fanatic company

      Cons

      majority of the all great reviews come from Manchester - strange how the HR department are in Manchester - Branches being told by regional managers if you can't get the deal for 30% of the book price work tell the customer they need to go elsewhere ( great business how to win an influence customers) Stock availability- the NDEC is having a massive impact on you team very poor stock availability giving them no confidence to take an order - more importantly customer losing faith and turning to your competitors. Too many changes within the company no consistency branches don't know if they are coming or going!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      HSS Hire Response

      Recruitment Coordinator

      Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. It's always disappointing to see a 1* review if you were with HSS for 4 years, as I'm sure you would have had some great times in that period to have stayed for that long! We do really pride ourselves on our trainers too. On your note of Manchester based reviews - we do have other 300 employees within our head office alone in MCR! This includes IT, customer care, training, and yes HR too! That along with our branch network (approx. 10 branches) in the Greater Manchester area, you should expect to see a lot reviews coming from the area, alongside positive reviews we have received from across the UK. 2017 will see massive improvements with the NDEC, as our team have spoken to those within the branches to find out what can be done. We are passionate about making it work and making sure all at HSS are happy with positive changes that come in. Thanks, B

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor Management, Low salary

      Apr 27, 2016 -  in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people. You get to know loads of great people while working there.

      Cons

      Poor Management- the team leaders don't know what they are doing most of the time Low Salary- Low salary compared to similar jobs in the industry No progression opportunities

      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Jul 14, 2021 - Credit Controller in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with

      Cons

      No real cons working here

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lasted just 1 week

      Sep 2, 2018 - Sales Associate in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff are great people, very helpful, warm and welcoming. Good fun and dedicated

      Cons

      Salary, no overtime. Understaffed, workload is crazy. Working a 6 day week every second week

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with HSS Hire Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at HSS Hire? Share Your Experiences

    HSS Hire logo
    or