Hague Dental Supplies Reviews

Updated 15 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Awarded family business

    15 Mar 2020 - Senior Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awarded family business with a good growth potential, therefore they are expanding year after year. The whole team is very dedicated to keep the customer at the core of the business. Friendly environment and colleagues. I’ve been covering an engineering role for almost 3 years within the firm and they have provided me with all the recources needed to carry out my jobs (comfortable Van, tools, phone and laptop) also trainings were provided in order to stay up to date with the technology. Of course days can be long when emergencies come in or there are projects deadline but I have given flexibility and also received it when I needed personal time off. Overall a good company to work with where your skills are recognized.

    Cons

    Lack of internal communication. Management roles and procesess are not well defined but in the last period they were trying to improve these.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A true family business with service at the core.

    6 Dec 2019 - Sales Manager in Horsham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great office environment Hard working managers Lots of rungs to climb Dedicated colleagues Mentally stimulating tasks Positive daily comments Amazing showroom Constant drive for internal improvements I have only been with Hague Dental for 6 months and from the moment I started I have felt like I was welcomed in the family. This is a customer service focused company and run by real people, they are not robots and as such will have good days and bad days. To criticise a company based on individual emotions on any one day is unfair. The company is run prudently and carefully making sure each month is a success. This requires everyone to pull their weight and perhaps pick up for others when some people can’t due to illness or holiday. That shows how close the company is, a moan here and moan their is part of human nature, the facts show the company grows every year and is a leader in the dental industry due to the hard work and dedication of the employees and bosses alike. Office staff are encouraged to go out on jobs with the engineers to understand the difficulty each job entails and minimise underestimating engineering job times. Overall the biggest positive in the company is the effort you put in is exactly what you get out.

    Cons

    Communication internally could be better to reduce stress in busy times.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Review

    9 Sep 2019 - Senior Dental Engineer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Having worked for number of dental companies I can honestly say Hague dental is one of the best ,very professional with a great knowledgeable team who go above and beyond.

    Cons

    Some long days and early starts But payed accordingly

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Disappointing

    12 Sep 2019 - Engineer in Horsham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A small engineering company based in Horsham. Impressive showroom. Won Customer Service awards Get to visit different dental practices, some impressive and others were questionable. Opportunities to progress your career within the company. Company van, tablet and phone.

    Cons

    I decided to join this company as it was a good opportunity to get back into field based engineering role. It’s a family run business with friends and family members working at the helm. At the interview, the role was sold very well, with opportunities for product and technical training by chair and furniture manufacturers this company markets and sells. This was also the reason why I took the job as this had shown that this company was interested in investing in training for staff. Hours were discussed and found to be manageable (8am to 6pm) with the option to take time in lieu or paid overtime, which sweetened the long hours. Holidays were the standard 20 days plus bank holidays. The company didn’t offer any other benefits. When I started, I quickly realised that the internal operation of this company didn’t seem right. High staff turnover Working hours were found to be much longer than discussed at the interview stage. A typical day would be around 16 hours, no offer of time in lieu or overtime (even though the additional hours were recorded and submitted). No breaks during the working day and due to no fault of your own either by delays due to traffic, customer contact not on-site or the surgery is in use, you were constantly playing catch up getting to customer sites within the allocated time. Jobs were found to be added to the diary without prior knowledge - the only time you found out that there were added sites to visit, is when the diary was updated. No company credit card, so paying for parking or any spares required to carry out on-site repairs had to come out of your own pocket and claimed back as expenses. Expenses were paid back at the end of the month. There were a few health and safety issues: No PPE - company issued safety footwear, disposable gloves safety eyewear, etc No decontamination procedures when removing faulty contaminated equipment from the customer sites. No decontamination procedures for repairing equipment to sell second hand. No test procedures for testing equipment ready to be sold second hand No disposal procedure for faulty equipment No installation and commissioning procedures Management were very judgemental and promote a blame culture. Very unprofessional, lack empathy and arrogant. Office clique (us and them), this found approaching management to discuss any personal issues difficult. Lack of confidentially between staff and managers. Lack of recognition for hard work. I also found that the management were lacking in professional experience dealing with issues, either work related or personal. Some decisions made by management were knee jerk (shoot first), rather than reviewing the situation first before making a decision. Joining this company was a disappointment as I wanted to build a career, learn from the engineers and work up the ladder, but that wasn’t to be.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    The day you start. The day you finish...

    6 Sep 2019 - In-house Maintenance Technician in Horsham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of cake, sweets and sugar blow-outs for salad dodgers in the office.

    Cons

    When there was no work for myself to undertake (which was very often) and when I asked for any tasks that needed doing (which was often) I was greeted with a sigh and a "list" which consisted of "jobs" such as: sweep the floors and make sure all pallets are correctly aligned in the warehouse type roles. When I completed the "list" and asked what else needed doing, I was informed that I should, "Find something to do" or "Look at your list!" in no uncertain terms. I would ask management for the materials that I needed to undertake the jobs I was given, and then questioned as to why the jobs hadn't been completed several days later?Maybe that was because I wasn't given the materials to do the job? The management asked me to draw up plans and re-design the loos and fit a shower in their building. I have a tiny knowledge of CAD and when I asked management to install CAD on a computer for me, all I got was this Jurrasic-give-away-from-a-cracker-type of programme that was pants. The other engineers were using the proper kit for their installs, but I Googled the programme I was given and couldn't find diddly-squat about it online, so I gave up. I could have drew it on paper at home, but that's my free time and I had already undertaken three days editing work for Hague at home on a previous project and received nothing for it. Once bitten. I find it very funny that the job Hague is now advertising, is exactly what I was asking management to send me out and do! As the song goes; "A pocket full of mumbles, such are promises..." Apparently an engineer complained that I arrived late for a job. The management complained that I should have got up earlier to avoid the rush on the motorway. Silly me, how was I to know that there was going to be a crash on the motorway, whilst I sat in a van with broken air-con and the sweat dribbled down my pits in the midst of a heatwave? My starting times were 8am. I got into work for 6am. I was informed by management to get into work earlier still to avoid the rush! For the next employee, I recommend buying a camper van and sleeping in the parking lot. I could tell you of several occasions that I was spoken to like I was the dirt on someone's heel, but hey it's someone else's problem now. I was so looking forward to starting here, but there were two good days whilst working at Hague Dental Supplies: The day I started and the day I finished.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Worst employer ever

    12 Jun 2019 - Engineer in Brighton, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None at all. Absolute slave driver

    Cons

    Long hours Rude management Poor pay Promises never kept No overtime or time back for the 16 hour days No training

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Strong, professional, forward thinking and supportive family run business.

    17 Sep 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong leadership team means that customers receive the highest levels of customer service giving employees a strong feeling of job satisfaction. Employees are made to feel an integral part of the team with regular team meetings and employee engagement activities. There are lots of opportunities within the business to put ideas forward and self manage, meaning that employees can grow and develop within the business. Old fashioned family values are the heart of Hague Dental and as an employee you really are made to feel part of the family.

    Cons

    I don't have any negative feedback, I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Hauge and it was only due to a change in personal circumstance that I left the business.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Hague Dental Supplies Response

    Marketing Manager

    Thank you so much for your feedback. I do hope everything is going well for you. Don't hesitate to pop in for coffee and a catch up. Kirsty

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great company with opportunity to control your career

    22 Sep 2015 - Project Manager in Horsham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Availability of management to discuss any aspect of the company/job role. Great team cohesion between all areas of the company. Opportunity to control your job role, for example if you experience a certain aspect you really enjoy then this will be taken on board and allocated to yourself in future. Although a company hierarchy is in place, the team operates on a very level playing field which makes for a happy and efficient working environment. Well rewarded for hard work.

    Cons

    On occasion hours can be long, however this can be accounted for in replacement hours offered in lieu, good communication. High responsibility on various aspects.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Hague Dental Supplies Response

    Marketing Manager

    Thank you so much for your kind words. Your commitment to the team over the years has enabled Hague to grow and become well established in the Dental Industry. I know how much our customers value your dedication to their projects. Kirsty

  9. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Ex employee, great company

    16 Sep 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get a great company van loaded with extras, state of the art phone and laptop and all the tools you need to carry out your everyday work. The company ethos is great, work hard and you get rewarded. I have been at other companies in the dental industry but Hague pay better than most, they have a commission scheme where if you go above and beyond and do well for the company and bring in sales then you get to earn extra.

    Cons

    As in some of the other reviews the hours can be long but really that is more down to the traffic as working in London most of the time.

    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Customer focused and a can do attitude

    12 Jan 2017 - Warehouse Manager in Billingshurst, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    All the support an employee needs from a very friendly family run team. The focus is to keep the customer up and running and promote the business through a firm base of knowledge and experience. The friendly banter in the office creates a good environment for problem solving and the service engineers are well supported with spares and well equipped vans. Health and safety is overseen and regularly reviewed within the guidelines and with the assistance of Peninsular Business Safe online software.

    Cons

    There are no cons unless you are unhappy with working hard for a good reward.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

Work at Hague Dental Supplies? Share Your Experiences

Hague Dental Supplies logo
or