Haines Watts Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Haines Watts Reviews

Updated 21 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Haines Watts Group Managing Partner Michael Davidson
Michael Davidson
1 Rating
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "A forward thinking business who value their people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Consultant in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and high employee engagement. Excellent progression opportunities.

    Cons

    Getting clients to see we are more than just an accountants

    Haines Watts2019-10-21

    Haines Watts Response

    November 6, 2019Talent Business Partner

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave your review, it's great to hear you are enjoying your time with us!

    Continue reading
  2. "Loved the job but now significant unrest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Senior in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team overall, potentially exciting changes ahead, good office atmosphere (most of the time), study support package provided is excellent (except restrictions mentioned below).

    Cons

    Change in company procedures and ethos appears to put profit before quality and utilisation of employee skills. Work is not delegated out evenly between the team with various members of staff regularly under immense workload and deadline pressures. Study support varies from employee to employee with some employees allowed to sit exams as they please and others restricted - no standard package. Broken promises from staff appraisals regarding opportunities and future aspirations and plans. No set remuneration review and no review has been undertaken in the last 18 months - at least, not with me.

    Continue reading
    Haines Watts2019-08-13

    Haines Watts Response

    August 14, 2019HR & Training Advisor

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We are keen to investigate these points further. Can you please email some more information at national@hwca.com and I can pick this up with the relevant teams.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Negative culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Senior in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Haines Watts full-time

    Pros

    Study was paid for and study leave was given in the run up to exams. Good work/life balance as overtime was rarely expected.

    Cons

    Little room for development, focus was on hiring external staff rather than trying to train and develop existing staff. Long term issue of managers being rude and lacking empathy, resulting in high staff turnover. Too many partners, associate partners and managers for size of company, leading to micromanagement of lower level staff. Appraisals were rare.

    Haines Watts2019-07-27

    Haines Watts Response

    August 12, 2019HR & Training Advisor

    Hello, We are sorry to hear that your experience with us wasn't 100%. We would like to investigate this further. Can you please drop us an email at national@hwca.com with some more information on your concerns? Many Thanks

    Continue reading
  4. "Absolutely no regrets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Associate Director in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really enjoying my role. Varied interesting clients and cases. A great group of people to work with. I really appreciate the positive reinforcement received from colleagues and superiors. I feel that it has been a good fit for me and am pleased to be part of the family and see a positive future here with a great opportunity to continue to progress my career.

    Cons

    Was difficult to get to grips with new systems and procedures. Whilst the staffing structure is great for providing opportunities it is somewhat different to my former employer’s and a little more explanation of the roles as part of the on-boarding process would have been useful.

    Continue reading
    Haines Watts2019-06-18

    Haines Watts Response

    June 19, 2019HR & Training Advisor

    Thanks for the review! Great to hear you are enjoying your time with us! We will take on your feedback regarding systems training. We wish you every success in your role at Haines Watts

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time

    Pros

    A company that shares everything with you, they are as transparent as possible which helps employees embrace changes within the business as we understand the end goal. Northampton office is a great group of people with a work hard, play hard mentality. Thoroughly enjoying my time with the business.

    Cons

    Northampton and indeed the whole SEM region have grown rapidly and sometimes procedures aren't quite as streamlined as they should be.

    Continue reading
    Haines Watts2019-02-21

    Haines Watts Response

    February 21, 2019HR & Training Coordinator

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We are glad that you are enjoying your time with Haines Watts.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management believes in the company and the employees and wants everyone to do well and improve all the time. The office "vibe" is always good and there is a family atmosphere

    Cons

    There are a few gossip mongers, but that's to be expected in every company; and sometimes there is possibly too much work on your plate at one time.

    Continue reading
    Haines Watts2019-01-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "An Amazing Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Charge Accountant in Flitwick, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A family like atmosphere, helpful people all around you and a team you can rely on (and you get paid). What more do you need?

    Cons

    I do not think I can find any. However, the paper cuts are getting out of hand :)

    Haines Watts2018-12-17

    Haines Watts Response

    December 17, 2018HR & Training Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to review us! So glad to hear you are enjoying your time with us.

    Continue reading
  8. "Nice Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apprentice in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The onboarding process was really good, I got told and given everything I needed. Everyone was so friendly. I have been given lots of different types of work to do and always busy. There is lots of opportunity to develop and grow,

    Cons

    Parking is difficult and its difficult to be healthy when there's always cake and pizza on offer

    Haines Watts2018-12-17
  9. "Leaver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Semi-senior Accountant in Hornchurch, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Haines Watts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff, all very nice and definitely what I will miss most

    Cons

    Office is a bit dated and building is getting tired

    Continue reading
    Haines Watts2018-07-25

    Haines Watts Response

    July 26, 2018HR & Training Coordinator

    Thank you for your review and your feedback has been noted. I hope you have enjoyed your time with Haines Watts and wish you all the best for the future.

    Continue reading
  10. "Accounts Senior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account in Flitwick, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive and friendly team, very welcoming.

    Cons

    Very busy and fast paced, which I wouldn't personally consider a bad thing but may not be to everyone's taste.

    Haines Watts2017-12-04

    Haines Watts Response

    May 10, 2018HR & Training Coordinator

    Thank you for your review. Great to hear you are enjoying your role.

    Continue reading
Found 38 reviews