Haines Watts Reviews

Updated 8 Apr 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Haines Watts Group Managing Partner Michael Davidson
Michael Davidson
12 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can drive your career where you want to Down to earth Partnership Passionate Leaders You can be yourself at work

    Cons

    Can sometimes lack social interaction in office

    Haines Watts Response

    March 15, 2021Group People and Learning Advisor

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and it's great to hear that you are enjoying working at Haines Watt.

  2. COVID-19

    "Good Job but not living up to expectations"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Trainee in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff and good pay

    Cons

    The training that was advertised with the job never seemed to arrive and I was told this was because I was not ready. When asking for help the staff and managers were either too busy or do it themselves. I have also been told by management that they did not know how to help me and blamed the pandemic for it.

    Continue reading

    Haines Watts Response

    April 19, 2021Group People and Learning Advisor

    Thank you for your review. Can you please email some more information to national@hwca.com as it is really important to have more details so we can pick this up with the relevant office.


  3. "Clear career path and progression"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit and Accounts Trainee in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility of time off for ACA studies.

    Cons

    Sometimes under-appreciated due to company structure.

    Haines Watts Response

    March 15, 2021Group People and Learning Advisor

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and it's great to hear that you enjoyed working at Haines Watts and appreciate your feedback.

  4. "Gary Heywood - owner of high wycombe - Does not pay commission due"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior in High Wycombe, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time

    Pros

    bar owner - nice team

    Cons

    Gary Heywood conveniently forgets about agreed pay rises and commission owed. he currently owes several existing staff pay increases which he has agreed in the past and "conveniently" forgotten about He also owes thousands of pounds of commission to staff. he does not act with integrity.

    Continue reading

    Haines Watts Response

    March 15, 2021Group People and Learning Advisor

    Thank you for your review. Can you please email some more information to national@hwca.com as it is really important to have more details so we can pick this up with the relevant office.

  5. "Great environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Senior in Bristol, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, great systems in place

    Cons

    There are no cons with HW

    Haines Watts Response

    February 8, 2021Group People and Learning Advisor

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and it's great to hear that you enjoyed working at Haines Watts.

  6. COVID-19

    "Avoid like the plague - or shall I say like COVID-19."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auditor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ground staff are generally nice and friendly - we are all in the same boat and all know how bad it is, so the camaraderie is there.

    Cons

    - Toxic work place from the top down - If a client doesn't provide correct information/support for the audit the expectation is to just "get the audit done regardless" so the accounts can be signed ASAP, as profit is all that matters - Open affairs committed at after work events - Work place bullying - Unlawfully firing people for no good reason - Not performing timely background checks on people they hire - Total disregard for COVID regulations i.e. meetings taking place with zero social distancing and a desperate need to have people in the office (because they don't trust anyone) and if you do not come in, they find a reason to sack you - People take their masks off and stop social distancing as soon as they get into the office and there are no repercussions (other than catching covid) - People who were unwell with covid have felt like they have had to attend the office and then subsequently tested positive which has caused a lot of stress for vulnerable staff members - Making people they don't like "redundant" and then rehiring for that exact role (not legal) - Absolutely no chance of getting a promotion - Very little audit training for the graduate trainees is provided (other than going to college) which makes life more difficult for seniors/managers as the trainees need hand-holding on every job and cannot use their own judgement because they have not been provided with any standardised training - Ok salary, but no other benefits of significance, probably one of the most basic packages you could get

    Continue reading

    Haines Watts Response

    January 18, 2021Group People and Learning Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We would like to investigate this further and would ask that you contact the National office to discuss national@hwca.com

  7. "Good"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Reading, England, England

    I worked at Haines Watts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice welcome package on starting, easy to use systems

    Cons

    team culture was poor and felt alone

    Haines Watts Response

    February 8, 2021Group People and Learning Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We would like to investigate this further and would ask that you contact the National office to discuss national@hwca.com

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Witholding of remuneration"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Manager in High Wycombe, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Haines Watts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generally the group is well managed with good perks. A friendly environment in the Aylesbury, Berkhamsted and High Wycombe office.

    Cons

    Gary Heywood (who is the owner of the High Wycombe office) conveniently forgets all verbal agreements that do not suit him to remember. For example i am still owed several thousand pounds of commission due to his lack of integrity. Similarly I know people still working for him who are still yet to receive a previously agreed pay rise over 6 months after the point at which it was supposed to be active.

    Continue reading

    Haines Watts Response

    November 16, 2020Group People and Learning Advisor

    Thank you for your review. Can you please email some more information to national@hwca.com as it is really important to have more details so we can pick this up with the relevant office.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Owner has no integrity"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auditor in High Wycombe, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time

    Pros

    Other than the owner the team is great. Good banter in the office.

    Cons

    Owner has withheld remuneration from one of the staff who left. Gary Heywood(the owner) has acted so poorly with the resignation of one of the staff. I read the review of the person who left and I can verify that the owner "forgets" his verbal agreements on a daily basis...when it suits him ...convenient you may say. I suggest you consider working elsewhere.

    Continue reading

    Haines Watts Response

    January 11, 2021Group People and Learning Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We would like to investigate this further and would ask that you contact the National office to discuss national@hwca.com

  10. "Na"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VAT Assistant Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, friendly people

    Cons

    Each office is a separate company, making working with other offices sometimes a challenge

    Continue reading

    Haines Watts Response

    November 16, 2020Group People and Learning Advisor

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and it's great to hear that you enjoyed working at Haines Watts. It is always great to have positive feedback and that you found the people friendly. I wish you all the best with your new career path.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 72 Reviews

Popular Careers with Haines Watts Job Seekers

Semi-senior Accountant
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Trainee Chartered Accountant
Learn About the Job

Work at Haines Watts? Share Your Experiences

Haines Watts logo
or