Haines Watts Reviews

Updated 28 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Haines Watts Group Managing Partner Michael Davidson
Michael Davidson
2 Ratings
  1. "Great company, brilliant people."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been with Haines Watts in their Northampton branch for 4 months now and the welcome I received was exceptionally warm and caring. it was immediately made apparent to me that any fellow staff member you co-operate with will always give you their full time and resources, to ensure the outcome of your task is flawless. Driven by a great desire to consistently improve client service, the management staff will go above and beyond to help anyone achieve their goals; as long as you are committed to putting in the time and effort. Additionally, there is a great feeling of staff progression, given from the management staff who are always looking to develop you skills and tailor your progression within the business. The approachable nature of all members of staff, including Board level employees, makes you feel like an integral part of the team. Furthermore, the combination of like minded individuals, who appreciate team work is vital for consistent high quality client service, is what makes Haines Watts an exceptional organisation to work for.

    Cons

    The experience is likely to differ throughout the separate regions; however the various offices I have worked from have all encompassed this brilliant experience.

    Continue reading
    Haines Watts2016-12-15

    Haines Watts Response

    January 23, 2017HR Director

    We are so glad to hear that you've had such a great start with us and thanks for taking the time to let us, and others know!

  2. "A dynamic and energetic business"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Kettering, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A dynamic and energetic organisation that heavily invests in the development of its people and embraces the change the profession is seeing. A firm of advisors, more than accountants.

    Cons

    Fast paced - sometimes the need to take stock of where we are can be overlooked by the drive and enthusiasm to develop. Given the current climate - it would however be much worse to be standing still. Therefore a balance is required to get the best outcome.

    Continue reading
    Haines Watts2016-12-11
  3. "Ambition and opportunities aplenty!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management are very involved in getting you to the level you aspire to be within the business. Part of a very friendly team. Competitive salary with lots of additional perks.

    Cons

    Feel some people can take mick and don't appreciate what a good place this is to work for and the business would potentially grow quicker and better without them.

    Continue reading
    Haines Watts2016-12-07
  4. "No complaints, good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Office Administrator in Chorley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts

    Pros

    Encourage growth and development of skills. Honest and hard working team. Locally support charities. Knowledge base sharing. Up to date equipment and software.

    Cons

    Open plan office can sometimes become too loud.

    Continue reading
    Haines Watts2016-10-25
  5. "Administrator"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues - friendly and helpful. Managers are motivating and supportive. Great rewards and incentives. Good career progression - taking on work experience students and newly qualified accountants and helping them to progress. Treated as in individual human being, not just a number or an employee. Nice being part of a smaller team but of a large organisation also. Great social life with work colleagues!

    Cons

    Not being from an accounting background, I sometimes find it hard to get my head around things, but my colleagues and Managers are very helpful and understanding, and I know they would support any training that I asked for. I don't get as many holidays or sick pay as I did in my previous job either, but the fact that I enjoy my job so much makes up for it.

    Continue reading
    Haines Watts2016-10-16

    Haines Watts Response

    October 25, 2016HR Director

    Thank you. Everybody likes to be told when they are doing something well and we are no exception! Mike Lloyd.

  6. "Welcoming and supportive"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts

    Pros

    The whole team has been very welcoming and the business doesn't feel hierarchical which is great. The business is defintiely growing, so theres no lack of work but plenty of opportunity to prove yourself and move up. Its an extremely busy environment, so some of the onboarding activities fall by the wayside, although i feel very supported by my manager. Management are keen to support people through their professional qualifications and to develop.

    Cons

    The holiday allowance is really poor with Junior staff getting the legal minimum.

    Continue reading
    Haines Watts2016-10-24
  7. "New starter - Northampton"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Assistant in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Haines Watts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have felt welcome and part of the team since day 1! I feel very supported by my own manager and everybody else here. I have had a brilliant onboarding experience with regular reviews and clear objectives. I feel confident that I will be able to develop my skills and be thoroughly supported in that at HW.

    Cons

    My holiday allowance is lower than what it was in my previous role

    Haines Watts2016-10-24

    Haines Watts Response

    December 7, 2016HR Director

    Thanks for your feedback. This will help shape our future plans for development and for reward. Alexandra Garner.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Salary"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Accountant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Haines Watts for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to have worked with. Good colleagues there, no much red tape in getting small jobs done.

    Cons

    Salary is quite poor. They don't value experience over qualifications in there.

    Haines Watts2016-10-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Audit Manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Haines Watts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mid tier firm with some fairly good clients, gives good exposure to a varied client base in the SME sector.

    Cons

    Think and operate like a small firm. No cross-collaboration between other offices. Software used was old and clunky, and far from being paperless in my time there.

    Haines Watts2015-10-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 39 reviews