Hale & Hearty Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hale & Hearty Reviews

Updated 3 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Simon Jacobs
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free soup (to a degree), flexible hours, friendly atmosphere(in 5 reviews)

  • "Is a good first job if you are studying, they have flexible hours and they pay weekly(in 3 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company but will fire you fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Hale & Hearty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good soup, good salad, you learn how to work well with customers.

    Cons

    They Fire you quick. and there is not much room for growth. Managers play favorites

    Continue reading
    Hale & Hearty2019-07-25
  2. "High demand low income-based"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hale & Hearty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to get employed due to high demand and LARGE turnover rates.

    Cons

    Hale and hearty is a very lucrative business so it's a shame that the benefits that come with working here is low to none. Don't expect huge bonuses or great benefits or anything above minimum wage even as a team leader instead of getting the dollar raise I was promised my pay was raised by 50 cents.

    Continue reading
    Hale & Hearty2019-08-03
  3. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Server in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hale & Hearty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a free soup a day

    Cons

    Horrible management, no respect, very offensive and hostile work environment

    Continue reading
    Hale & Hearty2019-06-17
  4. "NO JOB SECURITY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hale & Hearty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    not too many late night and most of the location close on weekend

    Cons

    no raises, no bonuses no job security

    Continue reading
    Hale & Hearty2019-03-23
  5. "Boy oh boy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hale & Hearty

    Pros

    Free DELICIOUS soup & occasionally free salad.

    Cons

    I can't speak for the company as a whole, but the store I worked at was terrible. The hours were garbage, I'm talking less than to 15 hours a week, which is barely enough to pay weekly train fare. On top of that, some coworkers would treat you like DIRT and still demand respect from you. When you stand up for yourself you get reported to the manager. Everybody thought they were a manager. Lines would grow endless and customers orders would constantly get messed up. Not a day would pass without an argument over something stupid. This place is a joke. If you're someone who seeks education, respect, good vibes, and good money, this ain't the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Hale & Hearty2019-02-04
  6. "New Management is a turn for the worst!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hale & Hearty full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    No over night shifts ever!

    Cons

    Hale and Hearty has declined in in food quality and overall upper management. This company use to care about the people that work for them but not any more. They will toss you around like a rag and expect you to be ok with it.

    Continue reading
    Hale & Hearty2018-11-12
  7. "Great First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hale & Hearty part-time

    Pros

    Easy to learn Flexible Schedule Can take a soup for lunch

    Cons

    Hot Soup Everywhere Have to clean

    Continue reading
    Hale & Hearty2018-05-31
  8. "Prep Cook Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Prep Cook 

    I worked at Hale & Hearty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work, good pay, free soup

    Cons

    A lot of work. Start at 6am, organize heavy deliveries of supplies. By 7am start making hundreds of sandwiches. Finish by 11am before it opens. Very slow and short working hours during the summer

    Continue reading
    Hale & Hearty2018-05-18
  9. "No"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hale & Hearty part-time

    Pros

    Weekly pay, friendly workers, good rating

    Cons

    Bad management, bad scheduling

    Continue reading
    Hale & Hearty2018-06-06
  10. "Good company that has had problems recently"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hale & Hearty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good store level management and excellent hours for restaurant industry

    Cons

    Many store closings lately. Generous bonus program ended 2016 and hiring of assistant managers has stopped.

    Continue reading
    Hale & Hearty2017-09-15
Found 62 reviews