Hale & Hearty Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hale & Hearty Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
33%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Hale & Hearty CEO Simon Jacobs (no image)
Simon Jacobs
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free soup (to a degree), flexible hours, friendly atmosphere(in 5 reviews)

  • "free lunch or dinner, very fast paced work environment(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 2 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "New Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hale & Hearty full-time

    Pros

    Job is pretty easy once you get use to It.

    Cons

    New Management to over Nd let everyone go

    Hale & Hearty2019-10-03
  2. "Unsupportive Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Support Coordinator in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Hale & Hearty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch and good hours

    Cons

    No support from management, no growth opportunities, terrible pay and benefits

    Hale & Hearty2019-09-04
  3. "Fast Paced Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Prep Cook 

    I worked at Hale & Hearty part-time

    Pros

    Good coworkers and management.

    Cons

    Fast paced environment and stressful during rush hours. Work gets exhausting.

    Hale & Hearty2019-08-28
  4. "Good Company but will fire you fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Hale & Hearty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good soup, good salad, you learn how to work well with customers.

    Cons

    They Fire you quick. and there is not much room for growth. Managers play favorites

    Hale & Hearty2019-07-25
  5. "High demand low income-based"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hale & Hearty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to get employed due to high demand and LARGE turnover rates.

    Cons

    Hale and hearty is a very lucrative business so it's a shame that the benefits that come with working here is low to none. Don't expect huge bonuses or great benefits or anything above minimum wage even as a team leader instead of getting the dollar raise I was promised my pay was raised by 50 cents.

    Advice to Management

    Definitely better communication between management and staff.

    Hale & Hearty2019-08-03
  6. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Server in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hale & Hearty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a free soup a day

    Cons

    Horrible management, no respect, very offensive and hostile work environment

    Advice to Management

    Get your act together

    Hale & Hearty2019-06-17
  7. "NO JOB SECURITY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hale & Hearty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    not too many late night and most of the location close on weekend

    Cons

    no raises, no bonuses no job security

    Advice to Management

    Management need to listen more from the Team member. they need to come up with new idea on how to cut turn over and make team member happy.

    Hale & Hearty2019-03-23
  8. "Boy oh boy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Hale & Hearty

    Pros

    Free DELICIOUS soup & occasionally free salad.

    Cons

    I can't speak for the company as a whole, but the store I worked at was terrible. The hours were garbage, I'm talking less than to 15 hours a week, which is barely enough to pay weekly train fare. On top of that, some coworkers would treat you like DIRT and still demand respect from you. When you stand up for yourself you get reported to the manager. Everybody thought they were a manager. Lines would grow endless... and customers orders would constantly get messed up. Not a day would pass without an argument over something stupid. This place is a joke. If you're someone who seeks education, respect, good vibes, and good money, this ain't the place for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Enough with the favoritism, it's corny. If you're going to favor employees, favor the ones who actually do their job- not the ones who come to work just to start drama & bully people.

    Hale & Hearty2019-02-04
  9. "New Management is a turn for the worst!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hale & Hearty full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    No over night shifts ever!

    Cons

    Hale and Hearty has declined in in food quality and overall upper management. This company use to care about the people that work for them but not any more. They will toss you around like a rag and expect you to be ok with it.

    Hale & Hearty2018-11-12
  10. "Great First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hale & Hearty part-time

    Pros

    Easy to learn Flexible Schedule Can take a soup for lunch

    Cons

    Hot Soup Everywhere Have to clean

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keeping on

    Hale & Hearty2018-05-31
Found 65 reviews