Handy Housekeeper Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Housekeeper

Handy Housekeeper Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
4%
Recommend to a Friend
4%
Approve of CEO
Handy CEO  Oisin Hanrahan
Oisin Hanrahan
22 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Will take your money with no proof"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Housekeeping in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I actually am good at cleaning and the app it pretty busy

    Cons

    doesn't pay near enough for supplies and labor takes your money on bogus fees with no evidence and gives you the run around when you try to address it. does not care about contractors at all bogus reviews Seriously, me working on this app is very temporary.

    Advice to Management

    Stop Stealing Make customers prove their claim or listen to contractors cause these people often have inappropriate expectations, aren't telling the truth, or don't rate at all even if you do a fantastic job.

    Handy2019-11-26
  2. "Feed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Housekeeper in New York, NY

    I have been working at Handy for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autonomy, and you get to set your own hours

    Cons

    Physically demanding and lack of training.

    Handy2019-09-21
  3. "Housekeeper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Housekeeper 

    I have been working at Handy

    Pros

    Cash out when you want Good for temporary work

    Cons

    Exhausting No gas reimbursement Pay is low Get less than half of what they charge customers

    Advice to Management

    Pay better

    Handy2019-08-19
  4. "Solid gig."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Housekeeper in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Handy for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Time freedom Choose your own schedule.

    Cons

    Customer Cancellations. Not always enough work. Lack of customer support.

    Handy2019-08-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "No consistent work hard to reach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Housekeeper in Reno, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Handy for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice to have freedom to work when I want.

    Cons

    Work is not enough to make full time. Have lots of money transfer issues and hard to reach them.

    Handy2019-06-16
  6. "Handy will throw you into the lion’s den and won’t look back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Housekeeper in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Handy for less than a year

    Pros

    Your own availability Build clientele

    Cons

    It’s insane how much handy doesn’t care about their employees !!!! No questions asked or anything when customers make false claims about you, even when you provide evidence they won’t pay attention to you, it’s just easier to charge you $50 for someone making an excuse to get a refund. I have kept my standards with handy, I gave my best in every job and went out of my way to make customers happy, but even the ones... you think are happy and satisfied, change their stance as soon as you leave and some of your customers seem to be impossible to satisfy but Handy doesn’t care or investigate as long as they charge anyone one with a fee (customer or employee) get the money, right ? Customers will ask you if you can do something extra for them which they didn’t pay for, and even if you tell them poilitely that it’s not part of their booking, they can give you a bad rate and this will significantly lower your general rate and puts you in jeopardy of loosing your job. I only worked for them 2 months and this job isn’t worth it at all, hope no one else falls for this scam

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    PAY ATTENTION TO YOUR EMPLOYEES Investigate situations, give you employees and customers a fair trial when discussing an issue, don’t just ignore your employees and leave them to figure it out, also it’s not fair to take money and jobs from employees over false claims with no evidence and please stop telling your employees you need evidence to prove their innocence bc you don’t even bother looking at it

    Handy2019-05-30
  7. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Housekeeper in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Handy for less than a year

    Pros

    You can work literally whenever/wherever you want to book a shift

    Cons

    You can do everything right go above and beyond work your butt off for hours on end only to receive 1 star even if you hit ever mark.

    Advice to Management

    Rating system is terrible if we have a checklist of things to do and get them all completed plus going over everything with the customer twice only to receive a 1 star rating is completely unfair and be based off the same checklist we get instead of opinion. Rating system is terrible and not the least bit fair.

    Handy2019-04-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Unsatisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Housekeeper in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay ,choose hours, location to work.

    Cons

    Rating system, dishonest customers ,fees, Handy is clearly against their workers.

    Advice to Management

    Rating system is terrible. Handy doesnt care about cleaners just their money.

    Handy2019-02-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Housekeeper in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy for less than a year

    Pros

    None, none, none, none, none

    Cons

    Barely any hours they don't let you choose your own hours you may be able to to choose what hours to start and when you want to finish but mostly they put me 2:30 to 5:30 slot

    Advice to Management

    You aren't a very good at running an honest company

    Handy2019-01-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worst company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Housekeeper 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Handy

    Pros

    The only pro is being able to create your own schedule

    Cons

    You can book a job and say it's for an hr the customer expects you to clean their entire apt, house, condo etc in that time, and that is not how it works, say you don't clean their entire place in an hr and because your job is based on an unfair rating system you can lose it at any given time no matter if you have completed the duties you were responsible for

    Handy2018-12-07
Found 40 reviews