Hanover Research Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hanover Research Reviews

Updated 3 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Hanover Research CEO Wes Givens
Wes Givens
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "They go overboard with parties, happy hours, snacks, and events(in 18 reviews)

  • "Over the years, the firm has become more attuned to the need for work/life balance as a foundation for sustainable productivity(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Leadership is inexperienced and has no concept of professional development-fair promotion is nonexistent(in 15 reviews)

  • "Felt dispensable as a mid-level researcher(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "bin man"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bin Man in Lincoln, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hanover Research full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good money get to finis early and the pay is good and i like my job it is good

    Cons

    smells really bad all the time i think my nose might be broken and i also have to wash my clothes twice a week

    Continue reading
    Hanover Research2016-07-17
  2. "Too small"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hanover Research full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting work and good clients

    Cons

    Very small, when I was there it was mainly men

    Hanover Research2019-11-12
  3. "Really good and motivating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Professor in Infanta, Province of Quezon
    Recommends

    I have been working at Hanover Research full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Professional development Early career development Good team

    Cons

    Promotion is not often updated

    Continue reading
    Hanover Research2020-01-03
  4. "just okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Management Associate in Ballston, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Hanover Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Young culture, opportunity to be successful if consistently hit metrics.

    Cons

    Limited opportunity for growth, heavy workload at times.

    Hanover Research2019-12-11
  5. "Nothing but positive things to say about my Hanover experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director, Business Development in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hanover Research full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall, I LOVED my time at Hanover and I'd recommend employment there for anyone who likes a fun, dynamic work environment that will challenge them on a daily basis. Below are a few additional "pros" to consider: Awesome team members - smart, driven, energetic, fun loving; can't emphasize enough how amazing the people who work there are. Top notch Strong company culture, very inclusive Ample career growth opportunities Competitive compensation Great managers/leaders Compelling product Good work/life balance Solutions oriented business that allows for creativity within ones role to achieve the goal

    Cons

    Not too much to draw attention to here. My one criticism (or maybe just brutal honesty) would be there is a lot of pressure to hit quarterly revenue targets and missing your targets consistently can put you on the hot seat and really hurt you financially. Territory can also have an impact on your performance although things certainly got better in recent years.

    Continue reading
    Hanover Research2019-12-04
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Poorly managed and clueless superiors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Qualitative Researcher in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hanover Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice location compared to the old one

    Cons

    There's a reason why Hanover has such high turnover rates, and it's not because DC is a transient city. The superiors have no clue what they're doing, receive no training, and don't know how to manage projects. They don't like to be corrected or told they're wrong, too. I moved from one team to another and this problem was still there. If you need this job, I highly suggest you don't say anything if you are working overtime or if you're burnt out. They use it against you. Don't be honest in your check-ins, they're not on your side. Just take the job and start looking for something new around 6 months in. You also only get a raise if they like you, the superiors are really unhappy with their lives so if they mess up a project and blame it on you or they contradict themselves, don't go toe to toe with them. Just say thanks for letting me, I'll try harder next time and let it go. Also HR is not on your side so don't go to them for help. If you take this job get in and get out. Trust no one. Also companies can make fake reviews on here so look for the positive reviews on here, remember what they say, and watch how they don't match up with your experience at Hanover.

    Continue reading
    Hanover Research2019-10-05

    Hanover Research Response

    October 29, 2019Chief Content Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. Our biggest asset at Hanover is our people; we have an extraordinarily talented workforce, and we take the responsibility of advancing their careers very seriously. While there is always room for improvement, we pride ourselves on our robust and transparent performance management culture.Clearly Hanover was not a good fit for you; I do hope we were able to inflect your learning in some way and wish you every success in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Business Development Associate in New York, NY

    I worked at Hanover Research full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty good pay for starting-level.

    Cons

    Not a good place to work. Bad management.

    Hanover Research2019-09-12
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Good if no other options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Hanover Research full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, remote work flexibility, nice coworkers; a launching pad for a career as an analyst/consultant if you want to gain client-facing work experience

    Cons

    Poor compensation: Hanover pays below industry average and does not give cost of living adjustment raises. My salary was stagnant for two of the years I worked there. Incompetent leadership: This was my biggest pain point. Managers do not clearly communicate expectations and then penalize researchers for not following whatever rule they did not iterate. It contributes to widespread frustration and low employee morale. A lot of managers are also very condescending. I would say that second to salary, this is the most common reason employees leave and why there is high turnover. I would also add micromanagement, though I suspect this might be to justify the lack of salary raises (see above). I’ve had accomplishments – such as my reports leading to client renewals and my advice implemented – completely overlooked in performance reviews, and so-called issues like being too quiet in meetings dramatized as major performance issues and reasons to deny raises. Little to no opportunities for advancement: My manager looked down on my desire to learn other research methodologies in addition to the one I worked in, and I wasn’t given any substantial opportunities to learn more.

    Continue reading
    Hanover Research2019-08-18

    Hanover Research Response

    September 16, 2019Chief Content Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to read that you felt that your compensation and manager experiences didn’t meet your expectations. We’re upfront with all applicants about the salary bands for various roles when they join Hanover. We hire exceptional talent, train them well, give them more exposure to client interactions and advanced research methodologies faster than other firms, and they have the opportunity to advance faster at Hanover than anywhere else. We pride ourselves in being a meritocracy; the vast majority of our employees receive merit-based raises annually, usually a lot more than a cost-of-living adjustment. We take management and advancement of our talented employees very seriously; it doesn't advance our business interests at all to not reward those that are adding value to client experiences. While it appears that your Hanover experience didn't quite work out for you, we hope we were able to contribute to your professional development and wish you the very best for your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Growing Market Research Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prefer Not to Answer in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hanover Research full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, flexible schedule, understanding management, intelligent co-workers, talent is rewarded greatly.

    Cons

    Inexperienced upper management, growing pains

    Hanover Research2019-08-02

    Hanover Research Response

    September 5, 2019CHRO

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We'd love to hear more of your ideas about improving the upper management experience ranks so please feel free to reach out to our Chief Content Officer directly.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good opportunity for college grad transition into the job market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hanover Research full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hard and honest work with lots of hands on learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Project work gets repetitive over time and limited professional development opportunities

    Hanover Research2019-07-23

    Hanover Research Response

    August 7, 2019CHRO

    Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your time at Hanover. It is true that after a few years the project cycle can become repetitive for some teams. We are trying to introduce more rotation opportunities for staff internally to gain a different perspective and learn different skills.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 171 reviews