Hargreaves Lansdown Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hargreaves Lansdown Reviews

Updated 27 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Hargreaves Lansdown Chief Executive Officer  Christopher Hill (no image)
Christopher Hill
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great working environment with an amazing proposition and focus on service(in 10 reviews)

  • "Nice office, dress down Fridays, people up for going pub after work(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management think they are above everyone else, lack of decent career opportunities, basically just a call hotline for pensions(in 6 reviews)

  • "No career progression, apart from going from a junior call centre operative to a senior one(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great people / opens doors to new opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Digital Marketing Executive in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for internal movement - I came here straight from uni just over two years ago now and am currently in my third job role in a sector that I may not have had the opportunity to work in elsewhere. If you put your head down the doors will open for you Flexibility- Most managers are happy to allow you to work from time to time so long as it doesn't impact your day to day business People - A young workforce with lots of like-minded people Travel - HL have also just introduced a new Sabbatical policy so you can apply to take one after 2 years of service.

    Cons

    Needs better contingency plans in place. Some teams could do with more staffing as it would help ease the pressure to complete the workload in busy periods.

    Hargreaves Lansdown2019-12-23

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    February 12, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you so much for sharing the details of your journey so far with us - it's fantastic to hear that you're clearly doing a great job at HL, and have had the opportunity to get into new teams and gain new skills and experiences! We completely agree that we have amazing people at here, and that you have had a positive experience with your teams and managers. We do agree that in busy times, we could always consider bringing more people into key teams, and we do do that, however we are also working hard on our systems and processes to make tasks much more efficient over time, to ease the strain during busy periods.

    Continue reading
  2. "Client support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good company great training and culture

    Cons

    Nothing it is an excellent company.

    Hargreaves Lansdown2019-10-28

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    February 12, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    We were so pleased to read this review - what a positive view of our business. We also hope that you continue to recommend HL and wish you the best of luck in your new role!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Getting too big too quick"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time

    Pros

    Great working environment with an amazing proposition and focus on service

    Cons

    Company is growing too big too quick.. hiring lots of external people with limited internal growth.. 4% cap on Salary growth!

    Hargreaves Lansdown2020-01-27

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    February 12, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for sharing your positive views, especially on our amazing focus on our products and client service - it's what we've always been known for, and we work tirelessly to ensure this is always our priority. We understand your comment around growing quickly - we've had a busy past few years to say the least! However we filled 40% of our vacancies internally in the past year, so there is definitely a lot of internal development and progression opportunities! You are right in saying we have salary plans in place now across the organisation, but this has allowed greater transparency on pay and reward, which has received very positive feedback so far.

    Continue reading
  4. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Helpdesk in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    okay pay, bristol location

    Cons

    cultural issues no career advancement in help desk

    Continue reading
    Hargreaves Lansdown2019-12-28

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    February 12, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, and we do always appreciate individual thoughts. Our management team work really hard to ensure both new and existing colleagues feel valued and rewarded, and part of a very successful team. There is actually a very structured career development path within our Helpdesk teams, and so we possibly didn't communicate this to you very well.

    Continue reading
  5. "Good, getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Business Process Analyst 

    I have been working at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time

    Pros

    Invested more recently in employee benefits and the office space. Great central location.

    Cons

    Limited in progressing upwards but plenty of opportunities to move sideways or into other areas.

    Hargreaves Lansdown2019-11-05

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    February 12, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for leaving us such a positive review! We agree that our location is one of the best in Bristol (we may be a little biased!), with great transport links and a beautiful view of the Harbourside. Our office refresh in 2018 was really well received, including the open and collaborative spaces for our colleagues to work in a more agile way. We do understand that in some areas of the business, it is more challenging to move upwards, especially if you're an absolute expert in your field, however we are keen to continue to make improvements on this for all colleagues.

    Continue reading
  6. "Overall very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Implementation in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to move between roles within the company, good benefits including SAYE. Great social culture

    Cons

    The basic salaries were a little on the low side

    Hargreaves Lansdown2019-09-23

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    February 12, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Really pleased to hear that you had a good experience at HL, and good to see that you stayed with us for a number of years! We definitely agree with your assessment of the 'Pros' - we work hard to provide internal opportunities for development and promotion, and are delighted to have embedded a great culture for all of our colleagues. Since last year we have continued to work on our pay, reward and benefits structures, and we hope you felt well rewarded with a competitive overall package.

    Continue reading
  7. "Rewarding and busy introduction to investment industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Support Agent in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of responsibility early on

    Cons

    Environment can be pressured and overwhelming.

    Hargreaves Lansdown2019-09-21

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    February 12, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    It's great to hear that you had a very positive time with us! We agree that we try and upskill all of our great people as soon as possible, and it is clearly a valued experience. We do understand that our business can be very fast-paced, but this is what enables us to deliver outstanding client service, so hopefully it all feels worth it in the end!

    Continue reading
  8. "Great Place to work, and start a career in finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Helpdesk Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people - Great training - Learn a lot of base knowledge about finance - Excellent culture - Harbourside office is fantastic

    Cons

    - Irregular working hours - Spend 99% of day on phone, which can get tiring. Would be good to mix it up with alternative tasks.

    Hargreaves Lansdown2019-09-17

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    February 12, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you so much for the positive review! We're really pleased to hear that you value the people and culture at HL - we've spent a lot of time bringing our colleagues along on our culture journey, so it's good to see that it's working. We understand that being on the phones can be challenging, however thank you for continuing to be at the forefront of our business, delivering excellent client service day-in, day-out.

    Continue reading
  9. "Operations is fairly dead end. Semi good way into an otherwise good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Business Development in Bristol, England
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are great but have a fairly big turnover in Operations department

    Cons

    Operations department is soulless paper pushing most of the time

    Hargreaves Lansdown2019-09-17

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    February 12, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for leaving us a review of your time at HL so far - we definitely agree that the people in our Operations teams are great! We have a lot of internal movement and progression throughout HL, and a lot of this comes from our entry level departments - whilst this is fantastic news, it does then mean that we need to continue bringing brilliant people into these teams.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not Great, but will do for a step up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Helpdesk Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time

    Pros

    Good experience once you first get the job

    Cons

    Overly demanding progression very quickly flattens out

    Hargreaves Lansdown2019-08-22

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    February 12, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us an honest review. We have spent a lot of time over the past few months developing a really great training, development and progression plan for our Helpdesk departments, to help us build motivated, engaged and high performing teams.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 94 reviews