Harrods "career progression" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Harrods Employee Reviews about "career progression"

Updated 4 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Harrods Managing Director Michael Ward
Michael Ward
353 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount is great, 33% across the store(in 87 reviews)

  • "Good discount, met some great people, a good company set up(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long Hours and Senior Management Politics(in 43 reviews)

  • "Lack of career progression, key reason for employees to leave their job(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "career progression"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Traditional bank with excellent senior management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Harrods

    Pros

    Excellent work atmosphere, competent and caring management.

    Cons

    Lack of career progression due to the size of the bank.

    Harrods2011-02-20
  2. "Building customer trust through exceeding level and attentive service."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Assistant in Knightsbridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people support and opportunities to move and develop around the business.

    Cons

    Lack of career progression, key reason for employees to leave their job.

    Continue reading
    Harrods2020-02-04
  3. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor 

    I worked at Harrods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Generous discounts across the store. Friendly colleagues.

    Cons

    Worked in the Hammersmith headquarters and there was a lack of facilities (areas for lunch and breaks) Limited opportunities for career progression Shift hours are not desirable

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-08-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Has potential but still a very long way to go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's amazing being a part of a world renown brand, it makes you proud to be a part of something and it sells such a vast range of products that suit all interests. Discount is very good and the store stocks a wide range of brands

    Cons

    Too director-heavy, means there are more meetings about getting things done than people actually getting things done Tedious, long-winded processes to get anything done Incredibly slow career progression, miniscule payrises A culture of meetings and forwarding emails instead of proactively actioning something

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-07-02

    Harrods Response

    July 9, 2019HR Operations Director

    Hello and thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback - It’s really disappointing that your time at Harrods isn't currently a positive experience. We really care about our people and we take feedback seriously and use it to make improvements where possible. Please get in touch at abi.weeks@harrods.com to talk about this in more detail.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Worked in Harrods for 3 Years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ecommerce Support Analyst in Hammersmith, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Flexi-time policy is a great benefit if you work at the Hammersmith office. Although note that Heads of can override company policy when it comes to your accrued Flexi-time balance - so talk to your manager before hand to avoid confusion

    Cons

    1. Lack of career progression 2. A vertical organisational structure results in lengthy lead times and bureaucracy stunting ability for you to develop yourself as well as impacts the ability of the business itself to grow 3. Did not receive a PDP plan, nor ever had a 1-to-1 with my line manager 4. Managers and senior members receive undisclosed bonuses 5. Performance review: your score is decided before your actual review - and the official meeting is basically you attempting to persuade your manager otherwise 6. Performance review: criteria you're judged upon is not always in your control. For example, how well the company performed in terms of its revenue 7. Every change needs to go through Service Management, which comes back to point 2 8. IT operate in a dominantly waterfall model, with old school ways of thinking, this gain come back to point 2 9. You are not given the tools to do your job well, tools which are industry standard 10. Culture seems to be 'buy it', rather than do it yourself

    Harrods2019-05-13

    Harrods Response

    May 24, 2019Head of Digital Technology

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. It’s very disappointing to read your comments. We care deeply about our employees and have recently launched our people promise and values to support this. For us to enact change I would like to understand more detail about the negative points you mention. Please contact me at scott.johnson@harrods.com

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Knightsbridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The discount is good I have met some of the best people whilst working here, most colleagues are lovely Looks good on CV

    Cons

    So competitive with everyone trying to get their commmission There is a lot of favouritism by managers on the floor There is no career progression Regularly witnessed bullying on shop floor from management Have never felt so under-appreciated in a job before No work life balance due to the shift patterns

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-02-16

    Harrods Response

    February 18, 2019Retail Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review; we really value your feedback. We strive to provide an environment where all of our employees are supported, enjoy their work and feel valued. Your feedback regarding the negative working atmosphere is of particular concern to me and something that I take very seriously. I would like the opportunity to discuss your feedback in more detail please contact me at Laura.Brown@harrods.com.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The best department store in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Ambassador in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, decent wage, beautiful store to work in with lots of history.

    Cons

    Career progression is all based on who you know not what you know.

    Harrods2018-12-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good people, terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Loyalty Advisor in Hammersmith, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -friendly staff -discount -good name on CV

    Cons

    -Shifts; Weekends and bank holidays -Poor management -Systems are outdated -High turnover of staff -No training by management, advisors are expected to train majority of new starters. -No development or career progression -Be wary of job description given at interview compared to what you will actually be doing.

    Continue reading
    Harrods2018-08-04

    Harrods Response

    August 6, 2018HR Operations Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review; we value your feedback. We are committed to creating a comfortable, transparent and collaborative environment for all of our employees, so I’m disappointed to read your feedback. We continually work with our managers to ensure our employees are happy with their leadership. For us to evaluate and improve, I’d really like to opportunity to discuss your feedback further. Please contact me at abi.weeks@harrods.com.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Doing a great job of covering up what goes on internally. Backwards company living off it's 100+ year history"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Buyer's Clerk in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of training offered (even though they are behind in the retail industry, so the training is outdated) - Met some nice people - The store is a nice shopping experience - 33% off - If you stay overtime, these hours are logged so you can take shorter days later - If you work hard it doesn't feel like there is too much work

    Cons

    - Outdated software and hardware used (general computer programs and also retail programs) - Underpaid to the industry standard - Higher ups think they are more important than they are - Completly delusional people all over the place thinking Harrods is the industry leader when it comes to retail (Lots of people have never worked anywhere else, so they are not aware of how backwards and behind Harrods is internally for the retail industry) - Hard work will not be rewarded or recognised because the people above do not want the spotlight to be taken off them - Lots of 'charity' event days where people are expected to donate out of their own pocket but Harrods itself won't - There is a long wait for career progression. Possibly 3 times the industry standard - Really hierarchical - Nice people work internally, but not an open or welcoming office environment. No culture - Really slow processes. Things can take 6 weeks to go online, basic requests can take weeks to resolve etc - Controlling management - People and co-workers are not allowed to give references of any kind (LinkedIn, ex-employees going for another job etc) I could go on, but I think you will get the picture. Some days I could have sworn I was working in 1995 due to the processes and treatment of staff. I wouldn't come to Harrods thinking it will lift your career or help you long term. The best employer award must be based on working in store as there is no way it would ever win it for its internal offices

    Continue reading
    Harrods2018-02-25

    Harrods Response

    February 27, 2018HR Operations Director

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of working at Harrods. We always value feedback and read with concern some of the dissatisfactions you've highlighted. I’d really like the opportunity to discuss these elements further and would urge you to contact me at abi.weeks@harrods.com

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Brand Specialist in Knightsbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods

    Pros

    luxury environment secondment programs careers weeks full of events to help you progress brand training nationally and internationally a lot of input with brand

    Cons

    career progression can be long winded, it really helps to network must clientele to make good commission lack of free weekends and mix of early and late shifts can disturb daily routines and work life balance

    Continue reading
    Harrods2017-06-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 20 reviews