Harrods Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 13 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Harrods Managing Director Michael Ward
Michael Ward
363 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount is great, 33% across the store(in 87 reviews)

  • "Good discount, met some great people, a good company set up(in 47 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent working environment and Friendly Colleagues"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods part-time

    Pros

    Facilities are easy to use and Highly centred customer service - good training- long work hours- full training provided- excellent manager- a lot of benefits. Learned to work in a very paced environment.

    Cons

    Very high expectations Long hours Keeping customer satisfaction progressive

    Continue reading
    Harrods2020-05-12
  2. "Great pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in London, England

    I worked at Harrods part-time

    Pros

    Great pay, interesting clients, amazing place to work, flexible

    Cons

    Long hours, manic shoppers, late shifts

    Harrods2020-05-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "RUDE MANAGEMENT, LONG HOURS AND A MISERABLE PLACE TO WORK AT."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate 
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods

    Pros

    - There are some really nice people to work with - Most customers are nice

    Cons

    - Rude management, especially the “top dogs” that work on the shop floor. They act like they are above you and treat you terribly. - Horrible hours, if you work here there’s NO SOCIAL LIFE when you’re working full time, you get treated like a slave. - 70% of staff you work with are extremely stuck up and act like they’re above you! - No discount on the top brands - impossible to progress - long hours and on your feet the whole day - in general a terrible place to work in I feel sorry for people who have to work in that environment.

    Continue reading
    Harrods2020-02-20

    Harrods Response

    February 24, 2020Retail Director

    Hello, I am really disappointed to hear about your experience. I would like the chance to talk with you to understand in more detail. My email is Laura.Brown@harrods.com. Thanks

  4. "Great Place To Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Boutique Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff Discount was Great fun

    Cons

    Long Hours and Senior Management Politics

    Harrods2019-07-26
  5. "operation in a department store"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Operations 

    I worked at Harrods full-time

    Pros

    nice, fast, organised, structure, position

    Cons

    long hours, far to travel

    Harrods2019-07-13
  6. "Harrods christmas temp sales associate"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Harrods full-time

    Pros

    good pay decent staff discount 10% days

    Cons

    long hours lots of standing can't have any holidays or any other commitments have to work on christmas eve and new years

    Harrods2019-06-15
  7. "Harrods Teview"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Supervisor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training programme, networking , benefits

    Cons

    Long hours, flexibility, progression, work atmosphere and culture

    Harrods2019-05-13
  8. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Knightsbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee Benefits and Staff Discount Training opportunities Progression opportunities International team Good for your CV

    Cons

    Shift work and long hours Working weekends and all bank holidays apart from Christmas Day and Easter Sunday Not possible to request holidays during the Summer Sale and Winter Sale periods No work/life balance

    Harrods2019-04-24
  9. "sales executive"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Harrods full-time

    Pros

    good pay and great commission to be earned

    Cons

    long hours and boring days very repetitive

    Harrods2019-04-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Harrods"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Knightsbridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is something magical about Harrods - everyone has good memories of the store growing up. The store is beautiful and it was always look good on your CV. Discount is very good. Michael Ward is totally ruthless always seemed like a nice guy around the store and HQ.

    Cons

    Some Directors that have been there a long time are bullying, dreadful people that treat their teams like children. No flexibility, long hours, humiliating tellings off in the middle of the office, zero support and pregnancies are deemed inconvenient.

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-03-19

    Harrods Response

    March 20, 2019HR Operations Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review; we really value your feedback. We strive to provide an environment where all of our people are supported, enjoy their work and feel valued. Your feedback regarding the working atmosphere is of particular concern to me and something that I take very seriously. I would like the opportunity to discuss your feedback in more detail please contact me at abi.weeks@harrods.com.

Found 45 reviews