Harrods Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated 19 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Harrods Managing Director Michael Ward
Michael Ward
456 Ratings
Pros
  • "Best place to work, Lovely management team, discounted food canteen and staff discount on most of things(in 112 reviews)

  • "good discount with your harrods rewards card(in 54 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Managers are rude, hard to have relationships with clients if not in a boutique, very busy in the summer - long hours(in 54 reviews)

  • "Dysfunctional senior management team(in 26 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "senior management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place To Work

      26 Jul 2019 - Boutique Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff Discount was Great fun

      Cons

      Long Hours and Senior Management Politics

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Avoid...

      19 Jan 2021 - Marketing Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discount, Brand reputation, and some lovely colleagues (bonded over bad experience...)

      Cons

      Ridiculous work hours, lots of overtime which they say you can get back via the flexitime scheme, but this was not the case. No progression/impossible to get pay rises or promotions, low morale, poor management, poor training. I remember my first day and my manager ignored me for hours. Senior management lacked direction and clearly had little respect for those in lower authority positions.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Harrods Response

      Director of Marketing & Communications

      Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am really sorry to read about your experience and very concerned about the points you have raised. I would like to discuss further, please contact me at Sarah.Myler@Harrods.com if you are happy to?

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great opportunities but challenging work environment

      11 Jan 2021 - Marketing Manager in Knightsbridge, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing brand Many opportunities being part of a great company

      Cons

      Limited opportunities for progression Dysfunctional senior management team

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Awful & stressful

      29 Feb 2020 - Sales in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I made a few lifelong friends and met some really genuinely nice customers.

      Cons

      There are quite a few.... where do is start! - Bullying by managers was the normal way to work and if you disagreed you were treated really badly - If they did not like your face, you were singled out for really nasty comments day in & day out - Managers also had their favourites and made this known vocally. - Senior management used to walk around the place like they owned the place and looking down on you as if you were a just a lowly worker. No humanity or empathy shown. From my personal experience, I was literally pushed out of my job. I had to take some paid & unpaid leave for a family bereavement and when I returned to work, I was not even asked how I was or anything of the sort. And in my absence, my role was given to another new starter. Eventually this led to me being stressed out and calling in sick and not showing up to work. As I was aware that this would lead to an unfair disciplinary hearing, I resigned before they had the chance to do this to me. I had to job but my mental well being mattered more than this dead end job!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Harrods Response

      Retail Director

      Hello. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am really concerned about the points you have listed here. I would very much hope that you would contact me directly so that I can understand more about your experience. My contact email is laura.brown@harrods.com.

    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great for your CV however too much pressure that involves not taking full lunch neither breaks

      9 Feb 2020 - Assistant Sales Manager in Hammersmith, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great discount and perks. Full time works 37.5h not 40. Canteen with great prices for staff but food isn't that great tho

      Cons

      The over hierarchical structure, bureaucracy and failure to recognise these as issues makes completing work difficult. There is a real lack of understanding of what is going on at ground level, and it would well be worth taking the time to listen. No recognition Very old fashioned in terms of people policies Unrealistic workloads and expectations A bit of internal politics Some disorganisation in cascading important communication to the whole team in a timely manner Not always easy to approach managers It can be a real challenge to juggle expectations as standards are high. Issue with hierarchy, senior management are out of touch No recognition of good work Probation period puts you under high scrutiny that makes you believe you're not good enough!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Senior managers are very rude and arrogant. Horrible management. Rude managers, need to be able to communicate without being condescending and patronising. No option to progress unless English is your first language!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Harrods Response

      Retail Director

      Hello. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am really concerned about the points you have listed here particularly considering you are a current Assistant Manager in store. I would very much hope that you would contact me directly so that I can understand more about your experience and identify how we may resolve some of these issues. As you know, I hold regular drop-in sessions to give you the opportunity to come and speak to me and always make time to see anyone so please contact me as soon as possible at laura.brown@harrods.com so that we can work to resolve this together.

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Toxic culture

      21 Feb 2020 - Human Resources 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Location In store discounts and benefits

      Cons

      Harrods is a unbelievably nasty place to work. It has a toxic work culture which completely destroys your mental wellbeing. I wouldn’t believe any of the good reviews posted, just the leadership team trying to get the rating back up! No support given if you have personal issues outside work or health problems and if you ask for help you are deemed underperforming and subsequently managed out the business one way or another. The level of catty behaviour from senior management is so unprofessional and using colleagues for information to eventually use against you or your colleagues down the line. It will make you appreciate any job you have after. Where people are truly nice and make you feel valued. Avoid avoid avoid.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Harrods Response

      HR Operations Director

      Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I’m disappointed to read about your observations and experience at Harrods. I would like the chance to talk with you, if you would like? My email address is Abi.Weeks@harrods.com.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Toxic Environment

      7 Oct 2019 - Human Resources in Hammersmith, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at Harrods makes you appreciate any other company or organisation you’ll ever work for. Looks good on your CV, however this is becoming less and less so Good discount The retail side of the business is a pleasant environment. It’s hard work but there is a family feel to teams and the business managers support their teams in most areas.

      Cons

      The corporate side of the business felt very toxic to me. The Senior Managers are very good at managing people out when you are no longer flavour of the month. When you create a very hostile environment for someone they will usually leave! Ruthlessness is valued, and is then used by Senior Management. Lack of concern shown for the impact this has on stress levels and anxiety of current employees and the long term impact on individuals. Personally still dealing with the after effects on my self esteem and mental wellbeing.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Harrods Response

      HR & Retail Director

      I am sorry to hear about your experience. If you are happy to discuss further, please let us talk with you. You can contact me at Sarah.Andrews@harrods.com.

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good

      25 Mar 2020 - Retail Sales Associate in Chapel Hill, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good incentives, nice work environment

      Cons

      Pressure from senior management or favouritism

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      DO NOT WORK HERE IF YOU RESPECT & VALUE YOUR MENTAL HEALTH!!

      16 Jan 2020 - Marketing & Communications in Chapel Hill, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Work with some the best brands in the world -Flexi Time (Where you could take back overtime and arrive/leave 2 hours late/early on another day with your managers approval)

      Cons

      I have worked for a number of highly respected high-net worth international brands & companies both in the UK and abroad and I can say Harrods by far has been the most appalling company I have ever put my foot in. I would describe my whole experience in this disgusting company horrid. I would sincerely advise anyone who has self-respect and value for themselves as an individual and professional to turn any job down for Harrods- unless major changes are made. Please note I am a very fair person and positive person and I am writing this review to warn anyone who is considering accepting this role in this company that it is a very toxic environment filled with unhappy people. So many people’s mental health were affected in this company whilst I was there, mine included. I WOULD ADVISE NOT TO BOTHER WITH THE ONE LINER REVIEWS ON GLASSDOOR- WOULDN’T BE SURPRISED IF HARRODS ARE WRITING THEM TO KEEP THEIR RATINGS UP. Please see below all the cons from my time in Harrods Head Office in the Marketing & Communications department. -In late 2017 with a new arrival of management in the Marketing & Communication department saw around 48/50 either leave the business or been made redundant for no valid reason. I have come across a people in two different companies recently referred to this management ‘evil’. It just shows how Harrods has kept ‘evil’ and have let go so many well respected professionals. Speaks a lot about the company. -During my time in the company I have seen people run out the office crying from horrible managers, people taking time off work because of stress, there was one girl lost so much weight and had rashes on her arms because she was so stressed from the workload. The new management did not once ask anyone if they were okay, thank people for their hard work, or showed any empathy. -I will never forget when they tried to make a loyal employee of 8 years redundant without wanting to give her pay. -The company is VERY hierarchical. People work so hard with passion on their jobs and managers can in a second change everything without reason. Be prepared to just execute execute execute and then quickly change to everything because time, a very senior member of staff wants to. -It is not a company if you want to present new ideas for its own benefit to grow and do well. I tried many times to present new ideas for the store and marketing campaigns. Unlike other department stores which are booming right now with innovative marketing and ideas. -Do not expect a pay rise. There is no such thing. You can try but it’s not heard of. If you are to accept a job than go in with a high salary because unless you get a promotion (which is very difficult too) than you need to be content to have your salary for a good few years. There were people in the company who were on the same salary after 5 years- appalling. -Promotions are very difficult. I don’t know why but the company has always seemed to have a culture of not promoting people within. They happily will recruit from external for a new managers job but wouldn’t consider developing their own staff to progress. -There is massive blame culture. It never feels you’re all one team and work and succeed together, and learn from failing together. -There is so much whispering in the office it’s TOXIC!! I have never worked with such immature girls in an office. I find it disgusting that there were women in their 30s whispering as if they were 15 year old girls. Mainly whispering about other colleagues and how they dislike the company. I think no matter how bad a situation one should never whisper in a professional environment. -Everyone seems miserable. Honestly as a positive person who tries to live a fulfilling life I found it sad how everyone seemed so unhappy. I’m not surprised, the HR failed a number of times to help many people out with difficult managers and situations. Again this is because the company is hierarchical and no matter how many complaints a manager gets it doesn’t matter. -The HR is known to be amateur. I have come across a few people outside Harrods and they have said that the HR are not professionally trained and qualified in their roles and that is the reason of the failing of the company. This does make sense. If you don’t have a HR that works for the people of the company, than don’t expect a company for the people. Please note this is just something I have heard, but from personal experience the HR is not great. I have raised concerns a number of times of bad behaviour and being treated unlawfully in the company which they turned a blind eye to. The senior HR members need training or replacing. -TERRIBLE EQUIPMENTS. The equipments are nearly as bad as the Senior management & HR. Do not expect to find a new PC. They are all old PC with the worst internet connection I have experienced in any office. My local internet café is a dream compared to Harrods head office. The Knightsbridge office is worst than Hammersmith office with really old furniture. The company makes profit but doesn’t put anything back in the company. They only introduced free tea & coffee to staff under a year ago -If you love working in a company with a modern culture with payday drinks, social events and team bonding activities than I would advise you to stay far from Harrods. The office is pitch silence with no atmosphere- I am not over exaggerating. That was the first thing I noticed when I first joined and thought/hoped it would improve, it didn’t. If you however enjoy a more university library work environment than Harrods would be for you. Overall a toxic environment, terrible management, poor HR and really just standing on it’s name now. Times have moved forward but Harrods office culture is stuck in the 60s. You deserve better. Dear HR please do not reply to this review asking me for further feedback. I would advise to spend time changing the company and helping the staff instead of putting time in reading/writing/replying to glassdoor reviews.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Anxiety Inducing

      2 Jul 2019 - Resourcing in Chapel Hill, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are only 2 reason I'd ever recommend working at Harrods: 1) The discount 2) It looks great on your CV for future employers.

      Cons

      The only way you'll progress to upper/senior management is if you're ready to completely abandon your own personality and morals. When they've taken what they need from you, they'll either toss you to the side, or treat you so badly that you'll want to leave. Don't ever get sucked in and believe that you're irreplaceable. The stress that is placed upon you is anxiety inducing! They expect an awful lot from you on top of your day job, and offer very little in return in regards to recognition.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Harrods Job Seekers

    Sales Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Christmas Temporary Sales Associate
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Harrods? Share Your Experiences

    Harrods logo
    or