Harrods Employee Reviews about "staff discount"

Updated 4 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Harrods Managing Director Michael Ward
Michael Ward
363 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount is great, 33% across the store(in 87 reviews)

  • "Good discount, met some great people, a good company set up(in 47 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place To Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Boutique Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff Discount was Great fun

    Cons

    Long Hours and Senior Management Politics

    Harrods2019-07-26
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Ok to put in your CV. Stay away from the Customer service department if you believe in integrity!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Acceptable staff discount - Looks good on CV

    Cons

    - Patronising management - Very little room for progression and recognition if English is not your first language! - High turnover of staff and no discipline

    Continue reading
    Harrods2020-02-04

    Harrods Response

    February 7, 2020Head of Customer Service

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I’m concerned about your experience with us. I would love the chance to speak to you to understand your feedback in more detail? If you would like please email me at Jillian.Aslet@harrods.com.

  3. "Fun but demanding"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun VIPs - celebrities Great staff discount

    Cons

    Stressful sometimes Demanding clients Dusty store rooms

    Harrods2020-02-03
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Unorganized and poorly managed department"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Knightsbridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team support develop interpersonal skills staff discount Business allowance for clothing

    Cons

    Unorganised department with no real goals Very patronising management No time for personal life Incredibly high turnover of staff: 20 new people in one year in a team of 30. Constantly changing. No one learns anything and this provides terrible and embarrassing customer service to the customer in front of you.

    Continue reading
    Harrods2020-01-07

    Harrods Response

    January 8, 2020Head of Customer Service

    Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am really disappointed to hear about your observations and your experience. It would be great to speak to you to understand your feedback in more detail? If you have time please email me at Jillian.Aslet@harrods.com.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sales associate"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in London, England

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    International team; interesting job; nice work environment; great staff discount and benefits; great teammate and good manager but very difficult to find

    Cons

    Could be bad work-life balance if not managed well; not that much team work unless you’re lucky to have a great teammate and good manager

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-11-05
  6. "a lovely place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    staff canteen, staff discount, security, pride in your work

    Cons

    managers set targets and ensure that staff are aiming towards them. this is not a laid back environment. glamorous but superficial attitude and work culture

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-09-17
  7. "Harrods Concession"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount, Prestigious name on your CV

    Cons

    No work life balance

    Harrods2019-07-31
  8. Helpful (4)

    "What can I say!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pros is the hardest bit to add, the customers are really nice. The staff discount is okay-ish the uniform discount is good, the staff members are really nice (not management)

    Cons

    This is going to be fun. Working for harrods is like Alcatraz or worse you can’t talk to colleagues without a manager being on your back. The “subsidise” canteen is really expensive profiting from the workers this is wrong! the food is crap. Management on an ego trip Commission Is rubbish they cut the Commission.

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-07-25

    Harrods Response

    August 2, 2019Retail Director

    I’m very concerned to read about your experience. For us to make positive change please let us talk with you about everything you have raised. You can contact me at Laura.Brown@harrods.com.

  9. "Harrods christmas temp sales associate"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Harrods full-time

    Pros

    good pay decent staff discount 10% days

    Cons

    long hours lots of standing can't have any holidays or any other commitments have to work on christmas eve and new years

    Harrods2019-06-15
  10. Helpful (6)

    "bullying tactics and no support"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Loyalty Advisor in Farnham Royal, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    meeting clients, other colleagues and staff discount

    Cons

    illegal hr practices, bullying and a new manager every 6 months.

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-07-03

    Harrods Response

    July 4, 2019Head of Customer Service

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to write this feedback; it’s really disappointing to hear that your time at Harrods wasn’t a positive experience. We really care about our people and take bullying very seriously. We want to address the challenges you had during your time with us, so I urge you to contact me at Jillian.Aslet@harrods.com to talk about this in more detail.

Found 87 reviews