Hastings Direct Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hastings Direct Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 151 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Toby van der Meer
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "The subsidised canteen is always nice as well(in 9 reviews)

  • "A flexible employer - supporting work/life balance(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too much of a call centre culture(in 8 reviews)

  • "No Parking space provided by company(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time

    Pros

    Best colleagues and Great Prospects

    Cons

    None none none none none

    Hastings Direct2019-03-26

    Hastings Direct Response

    March 28, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for such a lovely comment. We hope you continue to enjoy your time with us.

  2. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time

    Pros

    Amazing work life balance.

    Cons

    Can feel very repetitive and can get bored easily.

    Hastings Direct2019-04-15

    Hastings Direct Response

    April 26, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience at Hastings Direct.

  3. "Hastings Direct"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    - good benefit scheme - awarded for long service - the people that work there are great - convenient location - flexible working

    Cons

    - no room for progression - managers not trained enough to manage a team and can at times micromanage and be unsupportive

    Hastings Direct2019-04-16

    Hastings Direct Response

    April 26, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here.If you would like to provide further feedback or have ideas on how we could better improve some of these areas please email us at RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

  4. "Customer representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bexhill, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    A handful of people who you work. Free fruit and drinks while you’re working.

    Cons

    Some of the downsides to working at Hastings Direct include: Being micromanaged and being questioned when you aren’t conforming to their high standards. Even if you’ve given viable reasons for why you aren’t living up to their expectations. The CEO himself stated “we (as employees) are not a statistic”, yet continiously being treated like we are just that. Managers and coaches not actually wanting to help, basically...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change your management style and learn how to treat people as human beings.

    Hastings Direct2019-04-16

    Hastings Direct Response

    April 26, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It would be good to chat further and look at how we can address these, please do email us at RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

  5. "Retentions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct part-time

    Pros

    Good rate of pay

    Cons

    Only work evening and weekends

    Hastings Direct2019-03-26

    Hastings Direct Response

    March 28, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

  6. "Customer representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    People, nights out, bonus, salary

    Cons

    Management are poor, aggressive, micro-manage

    Advice to Management

    Respect your staff more, don't treat them like children

    Hastings Direct2019-04-09

    Hastings Direct Response

    April 12, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

  7. "Never work for them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Hastings Direct full-time

      Pros

      None. None. None. None. None.

      Cons

      A weekend training then throw you onto phones. When you need help you hardly get it.

      Advice to Management

      Don't treat front line staff as crap even when they ask for help.

      Hastings Direct2019-04-30
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hastings Direct part-time

      Pros

      - Treated equally and fairly. - Plenty of support from coaches and managers. - Good pay and plenty of benefits. - Relaxed working environment. - Wear what you like (as long as its appropriate). - Flexible working hours

      Cons

      - Extremely repetitive when taking calls. - Progression can be difficult as it is about who you know

      Hastings Direct2019-03-01

      Hastings Direct Response

      March 4, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

      Thanks for your review! If you would like to leave any further feedback please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

    • "Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Hastings Direct part-time

        Pros

        People and salary are great.

        Cons

        Management needs to consider working hours and flexibility.

        Hastings Direct2019-03-01

        Hastings Direct Response

        March 4, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

        Thanks for your review! We're pleased to hear you’re enjoying your experience at Hastings Direct.

      • "Hastings Direct"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Commercial Manager in Bexhill, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 9 years

        Pros

        A flexible employer - supporting work/life balance. Good progression up to certain levels and good opportunities to move around different areas of the business

        Cons

        Doesn't allows put staff first. Offers lower than benchmark pay as standard. Inflexible with rewards that is focused on younger staff rather than colleagues looking forward to future / pension.

        Hastings Direct2019-03-14

        Hastings Direct Response

        March 15, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

        Thanks for your review! If you would like to leave any further feedback please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

      Found 151 reviews