Hastings Direct Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hastings Direct Reviews

Updated 29 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Hastings Direct Chief Executive Officer Toby van der Meer (no image)
Toby van der Meer
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly environment, room to progress, good benefits(in 12 reviews)

  • "good pay and work flexibility for students(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lots of 20 year olds as team leaders that think they know everything; very patronising(in 11 reviews)

  • "These problems are typical of many call centre based environments but have increased in the Renewals department compared with how things used to be(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very supportive company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Staff Environment, Support, Progression, Training

    Cons

    no onsite parking, sometimes reactive

    Hastings Direct2020-03-26

    Hastings Direct Response

    March 27, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Inbound Call Centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training, healthy team based work environment, little perks

    Cons

    The workplace app & communication between Team Leader & Staff could have been better

    Hastings Direct2020-03-29

    Hastings Direct Response

    April 6, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience at Hastings Direct.

    Continue reading
  3. "Typical Call Centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Advisor 

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, the people, Location

    Cons

    Clarity on the operating software

    Hastings Direct2020-02-20

    Hastings Direct Response

    March 10, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! If you would like to leave any further feedback please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

    Continue reading
  4. "Well taken care of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Hastings Direct part-time

    Pros

    Employees taken care of very welll

    Cons

    Cant go on your phone

    Hastings Direct2020-02-11

    Hastings Direct Response

    February 14, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! We're pleased to hear you’re enjoying your experience at Hastings Direct.

    Continue reading
  5. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment Very flexible Friendly

    Cons

    May have agitated customers Other than that nothing else!

    Hastings Direct2020-02-11

    Hastings Direct Response

    February 14, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for your review! I hope you continue to enjoy your time with us.

    Continue reading
  6. "Company does not care about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Renewals Agent in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free tea and fruit

    Cons

    management is bias and only help friends

    Continue reading
    Hastings Direct2020-03-17

    Hastings Direct Response

    March 18, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for getting in touch and we’re very sorry to hear that you feel you are not being looked after, so as a matter of urgency please contact RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com who can forward to our HR Advisory team. The welfare of our colleagues has been and continues to be our top priority since we became aware of the Coronavirus with our business continuity and pandemic plans being put into action at the beginning of the year. Our advisory team have been on call to all colleagues who have concerns around the virus, advising the best way to protect themselves and fellow colleagues – all in line with advice from Public Health England. We have also made changes to our temporary sickness and travel provisions, including giving colleagues full pay who have to self-isolate for 14 days (which sits outside our normal sick pay policy). We’ll continue to monitor the situation and work with our colleagues to ensure their safety and provide a safe working environment.

    Continue reading
  7. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are positive people at work

    Cons

    It gets busy at times so it gets stressful

    Hastings Direct2020-02-05

    Hastings Direct Response

    February 14, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Growing business. Very competitive business model

    Cons

    It's full on. You need to apply yourself 100%.

    Hastings Direct2020-02-01

    Hastings Direct Response

    February 14, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! We're pleased to hear you’re enjoying your experience at Hastings Direct.

    Continue reading
  9. "Manage a team of 10"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive company good wellbeing programmes

    Cons

    Progressjon is limited and difficult

    Hastings Direct2020-01-29

    Hastings Direct Response

    January 31, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here.

    Continue reading
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hastings Direct in Bexhill-on-Sea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment, room to progress, good benefits

    Cons

    Salary could be better, the building is old

    Hastings Direct2020-01-30

    Hastings Direct Response

    January 31, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! If you would like to leave any further feedback please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

    Continue reading
Found 225 reviews