Hastings Direct Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hastings Direct Reviews

Updated 14 March 2019
143 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Toby van der Meer
16 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "any call centre based job, hours are long and tiresome" (in 7 reviews)

  • "No Parking space provided by company" (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct part-time

    Pros

    - Treated equally and fairly.
    - Plenty of support from coaches and managers.
    - Good pay and plenty of benefits.
    - Relaxed working environment.
    - Wear what you like (as long as its appropriate).
    - Flexible working hours

    Cons

    - Extremely repetitive when taking calls.
    - Progression can be difficult as it is about who you know

    Hastings Direct Response

    4 Mar 2019 – Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! If you would like to leave any further feedback please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com


  2. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Hastings Direct part-time

    Pros

    People and salary are great.

    Cons

    Management needs to consider working hours and flexibility.

    Hastings Direct Response

    4 Mar 2019 – Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! We're pleased to hear you’re enjoying your experience at Hastings Direct.

  3. "Hastings Direct"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Manager in Bexhill, England
    Current Employee - Commercial Manager in Bexhill, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    A flexible employer - supporting work/life balance.
    Good progression up to certain levels and good opportunities to move around different areas of the business

    Cons

    Doesn't allows put staff first.
    Offers lower than benchmark pay as standard.
    Inflexible with rewards that is focused on younger staff rather than colleagues looking forward to future / pension.

    Hastings Direct Response

    15 Mar 2019 – Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! If you would like to leave any further feedback please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com


  4. "Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training Advisor in Bexhill, England
    Former Employee - Training Advisor in Bexhill, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    This was a fantastic place to start my career off. I started off in customer service and quickly progressed into L&D. I learnt an incredible amount here which has been incredibly useful for developing and setting me off in the right direction.

    Overall great rewards, incredibly well organised, the people also really make this place. This is a place I always look back on with the fondest of memories.

    Cons

    I worked away a lot due to the nature of my role, so work life balance for me wasn't fab & I was on a secondment perhaps a little too long. Other than that this was a great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. :)

    Hastings Direct Response

    4 Mar 2019 – Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing
    about your personal experience and we’re pleased to learn that you enjoyed working for Hastings Direct.


  5. "Very on par place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time

    Pros

    Progression is good
    Work life balance is good

    Cons

    Salary is awful
    Too much of a call centre culture
    Too focused on results, quantity over quality
    You are almost a machine that has no flexibility

    Hastings Direct Response

    15 Mar 2019 – Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com


  6. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, England
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Team work, fun place to to work , career progression.

    Cons

    Can be a little bit stressful

    Hastings Direct Response

    4 Mar 2019 – Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience at Hastings Direct.


  7. "Amazing Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Hastings Direct part-time

    Pros

    Very good training in teams which fostered bonding and good working relationships
    Clear training structures
    Dedicated managers and supervisors

    Cons

    Training was a bit too long

    Hastings Direct Response

    18 Feb 2019 – Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing
    about your personal experience and we’re pleased to learn that you enjoyed working for Hastings Direct.

  8. "Part Time Customer Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct part-time

    Pros

    Easy job to have whilst studying, decent pay

    Cons

    Sometimes can feel like a pressured environment

    Hastings Direct Response

    4 Mar 2019 – Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! If you would like to leave any further feedback please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com


  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct part-time

    Pros

    - Great company to work for
    - Colleagues and staff are very supportive
    - Hastings Direct recognises performance

    Cons

    There are no bad aspects being an employee at Hastings Direct

    Hastings Direct Response

    18 Feb 2019 – Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you enjoyed working for Hastings Direct.


  10. "Recovery Handler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time

    Pros

    Great team, opportunities for training and development.

    Cons

    Expected to meet unrealistic targets given without notice during the day.

    Hastings Direct Response

    4 Feb 2019 – Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience here.