Hastings Direct Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hastings Direct Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 162 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Toby van der Meer
25 Ratings
  1. "Good environment, unpleasant job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Ringwood, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most people working there are nice, friendly but don't invade your space. Above minimum wage.

    Cons

    Long hours, bad shift/starting time changes. High pressure for sales/stats. You are a number on paper for managers to toss around. Managers don't care about employees and consistently break company protocol but if you take minute too long in the toilet, you will get trouble for it.

    Advice to Management

    Better monitoring of team leaders and managers. Realistically until this company cares about its staff and doesn't operate like a factory, nothing will improve and it's the customers that pay the price being pressured into buying things with shady tactics that employees are taught by team leaders after *training*.

    Hastings Direct2019-06-25
  2. "good job overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hastings Direct part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay and work flexibility for students

    Cons

    can be extremely stressful

    Hastings Direct2019-06-17
  3. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Comes with good hourly pay.

    Cons

    Felt like I was in school again

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring people who dont care

    Hastings Direct2019-06-16
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work, progression is really good.

    Cons

    I dont believe i have experienced any cons so far.

    Hastings Direct2019-06-13
  5. "Scratch below the surface and things are very wrong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the colleague engagement Some of the people

    Cons

    Favouritism Backstabbing If the face fits climate

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent reward and promote based on skills / knowledge and expertise. Not personal recommendations / inner circle / if the face fits methodology

    Hastings Direct2019-06-10
  6. "Digital sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Sales Representative in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many young people so friendly environment. Canteen available

    Cons

    Not flexible with shifts If you are part time it’s by force to work weekends even if not convenient You are more or less penalised for being ill. Pay deducted Can take a while to scale up in the business

    Advice to Management

    Make hours flexible Part timers should have the option to not work weekends Make people aware of sickness days allowance etc

    Hastings Direct2019-06-04
  7. "Look after you, but some team leaders were a bit lazy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incentives for hitting targets and doing well. Look after everyone and donate to charity

    Cons

    Other members of staff in a higher role had their favourites or were very lazy

    Hastings Direct2019-06-04

    Hastings Direct Response

    June 4, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! If you would like to leave any further feedback please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

  8. "Good company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Claims Administrator 

      I worked at Hastings Direct part-time

      Pros

      Good training, nice people working there although people move on very quickly

      Cons

      Very Robotic job, time is more important than customer service

      Hastings Direct2019-06-01

      Hastings Direct Response

      June 4, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

      Thanks for your review! If you would like to leave any further feedback please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

    • "Bad Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Hastings Direct part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Pay and the other employees

      Cons

      The company is compiled of 90% student employees, however, team leaders at Hastings, do not remember this, and it is an ordeal for students to get time off for exams If a student needs time off for exams and they have the holiday time available management should not require them to make up the time, they should have the option to use a holiday. The company should not be allowed to deny any student time off for exams....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      .Train TL's better Do not deny students days off for exams Make sure coaches are taught the same information

      Hastings Direct2019-05-31

      Hastings Direct Response

      June 4, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

      We value your feedback and are disappointed to learn that your experience working here was not a positive one. Our colleague/candidate experience is very important to us and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss further with you so we can fully understand your personal experience. ...

      Show More
    • "Bad management but great people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

        I worked at Hastings Direct part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great colleagues Decent pay

        Cons

        Bad management Very unprofessional

        Hastings Direct2019-05-29

        Hastings Direct Response

        June 4, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

        Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

      Found 162 reviews