Hastings Direct "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hastings Direct Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated 29 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
68%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Hastings Direct Chief Executive Officer Toby van der Meer (no image)
Toby van der Meer
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly environment, room to progress, good benefits(in 12 reviews)

  • "good pay and work flexibility for students(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lots of 20 year olds as team leaders that think they know everything; very patronising(in 11 reviews)

  • "These problems are typical of many call centre based environments but have increased in the Renewals department compared with how things used to be(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teamleader in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Definitely contribute to the 4Cs. Hours are really good. Benefits and rewards are fab. A lot of focus to keep colleagues engaged. Overall excellent place to work. Growing big so recruiting to maintain service levels

    Cons

    Busy but the company working towards improvements

    Hastings Direct2019-09-05

    Hastings Direct Response

    September 13, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! We're pleased to hear you’re enjoying your experience at Hastings Direct.

    Continue reading
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hastings Direct in Bexhill-on-Sea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment, room to progress, good benefits

    Cons

    Salary could be better, the building is old

    Hastings Direct2020-01-30

    Hastings Direct Response

    January 31, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! If you would like to leave any further feedback please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

    Continue reading
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Nice people, Good location

    Cons

    Pay could be better and work culture is toxic at times

    Hastings Direct2020-01-10

    Hastings Direct Response

    January 31, 2020Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! If you would like to leave any further feedback please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "great for part time and university students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Representative in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company culture Flexible Decent training (depends on the department) Good benefits and incentives Nice and friendly people

    Cons

    Vast majority of managers are not trained on the systems Poor management Very slow and difficult to progress or become a team leader. Company would rather hire inexperienced leaders from outside then internally promote qualified agents who have been working there for years.

    Continue reading
    Hastings Direct2019-10-17

    Hastings Direct Response

    October 24, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! If you would like to leave any further feedback please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good overall but not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assessor in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    All my direct managers over the years have been great, genuinely caring for the welfare of their teams. The company offers good benefits, shifts have changed for the better since I was on the phones, and there are flexible working options in some roles. The absolute best thing is the people who work here as they make coming into the office so much more enjoyable.

    Cons

    From an outside perspective it appears there are major problems in the Renewals department - staff on the frontline there have over the last 12 months come under increased commercial pressure and targets, driving bad behaviours and decreasing morale. The Quality department needs a whole extra team of people to meet demand but there is no likelihood of this being provided. These problems are typical of many call centre based environments but have increased in the Renewals department compared with how things used to be. Higher up there have been a few management "restructures" which don't give great confidence in direction/state of the business.

    Continue reading
    Hastings Direct2019-09-14

    Hastings Direct Response

    September 20, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We take your concerns on board and we will look into how we can improve these areas further to ensure working at Hastings Direct is a positive experience for all. If you would like to provide further feedback or have ideas on how we could better improve these areas please email us at RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

    Continue reading
  6. "Terrible company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits scheme, very fun place to work with strong colleague culture.

    Cons

    Terrible management structure, team leaders will over micro manage you without justification and apply pressure to reduce KPIs without actually understanding the wider factors of the business. Hard to progress unless you have 'talk to the right people in the right way'. Majority of current team leaders have minimal competency in the role and barely have the skill to be customer service advisers let alone management material.

    Continue reading
    Hastings Direct2019-10-21

    Hastings Direct Response

    October 24, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and we value your feedback. We will take your comments on board as we continually review and work to improve our colleague experience.

    Continue reading
  7. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales & Retention Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay good benefits. Costa.

    Cons

    Rubbish hours, most management dont know what they are doing and are rude

    Hastings Direct2019-09-04

    Hastings Direct Response

    September 13, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It would be good to chat further and look at how we can address this, please do email us at RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

    Continue reading
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Bexhill, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company gives good benefits, good salary and the people are amazing!

    Cons

    High pressure, no real care about wellbeing from leadership upwards

    Continue reading
    Hastings Direct2019-07-27

    Hastings Direct Response

    August 2, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

    Continue reading
  9. "Customer Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bexhill, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, supportive team, cheap good food and drinks available, free fruit

    Cons

    Car park is always full, need to arrive early for a space

    Hastings Direct2019-01-19

    Hastings Direct Response

    February 4, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review. We hope you continue to enjoy your time with us.

    Continue reading
  10. "great for starting a career in a big comapany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retnetions Consultant in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    leaders are engaged and positively encourage progression, lots of incentives, good benefits (childcare vouchers, discounts ect) company is very engaged with its staff from the CEO to the people on the floor everyone has a voice that is heard. reasonable targets that can be achieved. good shift pattern and hours

    Cons

    days can feel repetitive on some occasions

    Hastings Direct2018-06-06
Found 12 reviews