Hays Recruitment Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hays Recruitment Consultant Reviews

Updated 8 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Exceptional training, development and management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Committed and hardworking managing and director team who are keen to upskill employees and keep them in the business. You can have a very successful career at Hays. Team is chatty and we have fun everyday in the office. Lots of progression on offer if you show drive and ask for it. Lots of incentives and rewards which make staff valued and rewarded for our hard work. Your success is what you make of it, if you put the hard work in you'll see results.

    Cons

    Expectations to be in the office for 40-50 hours per week is too much and way above industry standards. Very corporate office environment. Lack of flexibility even with "flexible working" - 1 hour either side and approved by management beforehand is not flexible and no options to work from home. Maternity pay is standard and based on base salary no matter how long you've been in the business or what level you are. When you start there is luck of the draw in whether your desk is hot, warm or cold and promotions are based on fees not effort so that impacts new recruits. Only take on entry level recruiters due to salary being too low for market rate. Salary and commission is a LOT lower compared to market rate.

    Continue reading
    Hays2019-12-08
  2. "Work hard play hard - no reward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people working there, can have great incentives, but at a price

    Cons

    Long working hours, very little reward, compared to other agencies the salary is very low for hours worked. Don't feel valued, always a small fish in a big pond. Don't value their staff until they're looking/threatening to leave if you do hand your notice in they don't try and find out why they just cart you out and pretend you never worked there

    Continue reading
    Hays2019-12-03
  3. "Would never go back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training provided to new starters

    Cons

    Bad office atmosphere, non inclusive or welcoming team unless you drink and take drugs every weekend, awful commission scheme Office was so cold staff wear coats and scarves

    Continue reading
    Hays2019-12-02
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant 

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good job, lots of opportunities.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Hays2019-11-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in Colchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working at Hays for 6 weeks now and i have by far received the best training. I had never been in Recruitment before joining hays and i was apprehensive about going into Recruitment. I have just returned from a week away Module 1 training where i learnt all the tips and tricks in the world of recruitment. I have returned to work feeling confident about my journey of success at Hays. The support and training is unreal, you will never feel unsure of anything as your questions are always listened too and answered.

    Cons

    Long hours and hard work.. but worth it in the end!

    Hays2019-11-05
  6. "Hard work but well rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Leicester, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good incentives Knowledgeable colleagues Interesting work Good development opportunities

    Cons

    Long hours (as with all recruitment) Backwards thinking when it comes to flexible working/work-life balance initiatives Great when it is going well, but management struggles when it is not

    Hays2019-11-05
  7. "Good training for entry level recruitment. Graduate led and poor base salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They provide strong training for entry level associates to get you up to speed with the realities of recruitment.

    Cons

    Business model is to hire graduates on extremely low base salaries. Incentivised by commission and regular social activities, often alcohol fulled. Lacks diversity in terms of age ranges.

    Hays2019-10-17
  8. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Hays for less than a year

    Pros

    Given Responsibility and the training within the industry.

    Cons

    Long hours as expected within recruitment

    Hays2019-09-30
  9. "Great Place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to learn recruitment high energy culture

    Cons

    hire a lot of junior consultants with the expectation that most will quit/not pass. should be more focus on training

    Hays2019-09-28
  10. "Intern Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Trainee Recruitment COnsultant in Chelmsford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Atmosphere, Friendly and Helpful Staff, good staff benefits

    Cons

    Long Hours, but nothing else

    Hays2019-09-24
Found 591 reviews