Hays "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hays Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 5 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "It is definitely a work hard play hard type of company and colleagues quickly become friends(in 140 reviews)

  • "Career progression are very transparent(in 139 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in Colchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working at Hays for 6 weeks now and i have by far received the best training. I had never been in Recruitment before joining hays and i was apprehensive about going into Recruitment. I have just returned from a week away Module 1 training where i learnt all the tips and tricks in the world of recruitment. I have returned to work feeling confident about my journey of success at Hays. The support and... training is unreal, you will never feel unsure of anything as your questions are always listened too and answered.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours and hard work.. but worth it in the end!

    Hays2019-11-05
  2. "Hays London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good culture, good parties, nice offices

    Cons

    micro management, long hours, very rigid, poor benefits, low pension

    Hays2019-11-28
  3. "Market leading, professional recruitment firm, good training, systems and tools. High expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Industry leading training and opportunities for development. If you work hard, hit targets and want to progress you will be given the opportunity to do so * High performing culture * Professional environment, great systems and tools available * Large client base and candidate database * Decent benefits and commission structure is not as bad as many competitors would have you believe

    Cons

    * The more you do, the more is expected of you however this can be said for most sales environments * Some managers do micromanage staff * Long hours and limited flexible work options

    Hays2019-11-26
  4. "Work hard play hard - no reward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people working there, can have great incentives, but at a price

    Cons

    Long working hours, very little reward, compared to other agencies the salary is very low for hours worked. Don't feel valued, always a small fish in a big pond. Don't value their staff until they're looking/threatening to leave if you do hand your notice in they don't try and find out why they just cart you out and pretend you never worked there

    Advice to Management

    Have more one to ones with staff, produce your hours, stop assuming what your staff want and actually listen and stop doing half hearted days like mental health day and actually practice this

    Hays2019-12-03
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service 

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Great company, good pay, Friendly

    Cons

    Long hours, fast paced and hard at times

    Hays2019-11-19
  6. "Hard work but well rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Leicester, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good incentives Knowledgeable colleagues Interesting work Good development opportunities

    Cons

    Long hours (as with all recruitment) Backwards thinking when it comes to flexible working/work-life balance initiatives Great when it is going well, but management struggles when it is not

    Hays2019-11-05
  7. "Good company but no work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A very friendly company with some great people to work with. They have the bog standard benefits and support good causes and lots of room for growth in the business. Lots of little perks every now and then for employees which was nice

    Cons

    Entry salaries are pretty poor, particularly for Central London. Company need to consider taking a leaf out of their own 'Salary Guide' and paying people as per the industry guidelines they set out. Also very long hours and little work life balance.

    Hays2019-11-04
  8. "Good experience and Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Receive top class training and experience for future jobs. If things are going smoothly you can make decent money (not always the case unfortunately).

    Cons

    Long hours, highly KPI driven, pressure to hit targets, technology within the offices are very outdated, commission structure is not amazing.

    Hays2019-10-16
  9. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Hays for less than a year

    Pros

    Given Responsibility and the training within the industry.

    Cons

    Long hours as expected within recruitment

    Hays2019-09-30
  10. "Great company to work for and are extremely appreciated as an employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern Recruitment Consultant in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays for more than a year

    Pros

    The company invests a lot of money into training you, although I was only an intern I was treated like any other member of staff with the same levels of responsibility. There is a great sales culture and buzz around the office, and every success is recognised amongst your peers and senior management. Support is always in place if you feel you are struggling and all colleagues, despite their seniority, are extremely... friendly and approachable. Overall I couldnt recommend Hays enough if you are wanting to work in recruitment, they are the biggest and best in the industry and if you work there you will understand why. There are lots of incentives to work towards eg race days or office parties, very sociable and young working environment 'work hard play hard'.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long working hours, standard day is 8:30 - 6 (5:30 on a Friday), however this is normal if working in recruitment. Can't fault anything else Hays do as a business.

    Hays2019-09-24
Found 443 reviews
</>Embed