Hays plc Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Hays plc Reviews

Updated 28 March 2017
1,246 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.3
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Hays plc CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
691 Ratings

1,246 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Long hours can be a struggle but the rewards are great (in 300 reviews)

  • Maintaining good work-life balance can be a bit challenging at times (in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Employment Review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time

    Pros

    Hays is a great company to work for. Since starting my career here I have had the access to continuous training and development, strong guidance from senior management, and an opportunity to work independently as part of a wider business

    Cons

    Due to the nature of our business, there are a lot of grey areas in regards to remits. Constant changes to these remits makes it more challenging to establish oneself.

    Advice to Management

    Although it is a target driven environment, long term planning as opposed to quick business is key. More focus on this is required.

    Hays plc Response

    29 Mar 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time at Hays. Your comments & advice have been noted and passed onto the London based MDs.


  2. "Very happy here"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruiter in Exeter, England
    Current Employee - Associate Recruiter in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Friendly team, good working environment, professional, I feel like I am supported and encouraged by my team and office.

    Cons

    No free parking on the site

    Hays plc Response

    29 Mar 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    I'm glad to heat you're happy at Hays in Exeter. Thanks for sharing.


  3. "Director"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I get to work with the most talented people in the industry! A true meritocracy where hard work is rewarded! Brilliant culture!

    Cons

    Long hours - but if you can cope with that and have the ambition to run your desk like your own mini business, it wont be a problem as you get out what you put in

    Hays plc Response

    27 Mar 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you for your 5* review from the Midlands region - we appreciate you taking the time to share it.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Senior Recruitment Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Liverpool, England
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Culture, commission structure, promotion progression.

    Cons

    The inflexible hours working - 8-6 and the one touch system constantly freezing.

    Advice to Management

    Working hours 8-5:30 or 8:30- 6. Having the option of working flexi overtime and if you work 9 hours overtime you can get 1 day off per week.

    Hays plc Response

    27 Mar 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Appreciate you sharing your thoughts and noted comments about the OT system and flexi hours. There is an option to request flexi hours and you will find the form on the intranet. There is also a lot ... More


  6. "Excellent career opportunities"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Business Manager in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Hays plc part-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Progression and training. You are supported to achieve your potential through great training and support from experienced consultants allowing you to progress.

    Cons

    Long working hours but you are always busy and the day goes quickly so you find yourself wishing there were more hours in the day.

    Hays plc Response

    27 Mar 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    More than 10 years with Hays and it sounds as if you're still very happy considering the 5* review. I appreciate you sharing your comments and wish you the best in the future.


  7. "Over 7 years with Hays and still love my job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Recruiter in London, England
    Current Employee - Internal Recruiter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Career progression
    Competitive commission scheme
    Great benefits & incentives

    Cons

    Hard work but what you put into this role is what you get out of it so your hard work pays off.
    Challenging but very rewarding at the same time.
    Competitive but in a good way and the way it should be in a sales environment

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Hays plc Response

    27 Mar 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    And here's to another 7 years! Thanks for taking the time to share your Hays story and all the best with your future career with us.


  8. "Excellent progression and training"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Burnley, England
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Burnley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - The culture and people are one of the main reasons why I love my job. It is very much a "work hard, play hard" culture, with great work continuous celebrated and recognised.
    - Brilliant progression and training available. You always know what you need to do to achieve promotion, and there are always opportunities to continuously develop your recruitment knowledge.
    - The job itself is fun, fast paced and rewarding. Its also very varied so you never get bored!

    Cons

    I suppose the hours are long however you are never clock watching as the role is so varied - sometimes it feels as though there aren't enough hours in the day, but in a good way!

    Advice to Management

    None

    Hays plc Response

    27 Mar 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    I think it's fantastic that you shared your thoughts on working at Hays and am glad it's going well for you. All the best moving forward.


  9. "Excellent Company with Endless Progression"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Burnley, England
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Burnley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The support from managers and colleagues is absolutely fantastic alongside the working environment and culture of the company. You really are rewarded for your hard work and praise is always given. The job can be challenging but the end result is always worth it. I couldn't imagine myself working anywhere else!

    Cons

    The hours can be a little long, however, the social element of Hays is such a big factor that you really don't mind working the extra hours to ensure the job is done as the people you work with are super.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Hays plc Response

    20 Mar 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you for your great review and I completely agree - One of the main reasons I work at Hays is because I enjoy working with the people in this business. Thanks again & all the best in Burnley.


  10. "Love to be a part of Hays"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Croydon, England
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Croydon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I absolutely love the working environment. I thoroughly enjoy the structured way of working, it gives me motivation and at the same time challenges my abilities.

    Cons

    Maintaining good work-life balance can be a bit challenging at times.

    Hays plc Response

    20 Mar 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    And we love the fact you love being part of it! Thanks for your review and take it from me, the work life balance goes but for the first few years (or at least that was my personal experience) you do ... More


  11. "Great company to start your career at"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Former Employee - IT Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays plc full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent training for new colleage starters

    Cons

    Long working hours
    Not great pay (£18000 pa)

    Hays plc Response

    15 Mar 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thanks for your 5 star review. Noted your comment about working long hours and I will respectfully challenge that. Our contractual hours at 8.30am to 6pm and these are normal by most business ... More



Showing 1,246 of 1,343 reviews
Reset Filters