Hays "work hard play" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hays Employee Reviews about "work hard play"

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "It is definitely a work hard play hard type of company and colleagues quickly become friends(in 140 reviews)

  • "Career progression are very transparent(in 139 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work hard play"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Highly rewarding with lots of progression in return for hard work and ambition."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Ipswich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Hays is a great company to join if you want to have a long-term career in Recruitment with a global leader and you aren't afraid of some hard work! As a business, it has really progressed in recent years in the way that it develops, trains and supports it's staff. With industry leading training, but also with the support of colleagues and management, those that are new to the Recruitment sector have the best... chance of being successful at Hays. Throughout your career, Hays will develop and push you further. You will have access to numerous benefits including a generous employee share scheme, flexible working, access from home, retail and restaurant discounts, discounted dental and health care schemes, black tie events, plus lots of incentives including anything from a bottle of bubbly to an all expenses paid holiday! Hays offers competitive salaries and a rewarding commission scheme. As you gain experience, you may get the opportunity to manage your own team which allows you to earn more, plus, can lead to you managing an office, a region, or even a country in the future. As a global PLC, a huge benefit is the ability to relocate with Hays abroad, or to take a sabbatical and return to a guaranteed job. This is a great option if you want to travel or explore the world.

    Show More

    Cons

    The hours can be long and the work can be tough, but if you are willing to put in the effort and work hard, it can be hugely rewarding.

    Hays2019-11-26
  2. "Great company to work for and are extremely appreciated as an employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern Recruitment Consultant in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays for more than a year

    Pros

    The company invests a lot of money into training you, although I was only an intern I was treated like any other member of staff with the same levels of responsibility. There is a great sales culture and buzz around the office, and every success is recognised amongst your peers and senior management. Support is always in place if you feel you are struggling and all colleagues, despite their seniority, are extremely... friendly and approachable. Overall I couldnt recommend Hays enough if you are wanting to work in recruitment, they are the biggest and best in the industry and if you work there you will understand why. There are lots of incentives to work towards eg race days or office parties, very sociable and young working environment 'work hard play hard'.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long working hours, standard day is 8:30 - 6 (5:30 on a Friday), however this is normal if working in recruitment. Can't fault anything else Hays do as a business.

    Hays2019-09-24
  3. "Great people and culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone at Hays is super supportive of your efforts and work. There is a great culture in place which recognises hard work and success. I have made some great friends here and the social scene is important to me.

    Cons

    There are no downsides to working for Hays.

    Hays2019-09-19
  4. "Highly recommended & a very professional outfit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultannt in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, realistic, hard work but rewarding, top class training,

    Cons

    No negatives or cons thus far

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your people and don't let the standards slip

    Hays2019-07-30
  5. "Great career progression!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Amazing training and support to make sure you can get the most out of your desk. Good company culture, and reward hard work.

    Cons

    The job itself can be quite challenging, but that is not exclusive to Hays.

    Hays2019-07-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Managing Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Progression, support and the general culture is fantastic . I have been in the business just over 4 years and have been given endless opportunity. All you need is hard work and some gumption and you can achieve whatever you want. I now look after a team of 8 and still bill on my own desk. Couldn't ask or want for more from an employer.

    Cons

    I wouldn't say there were any cons. They are a brilliant business.

    Hays2019-05-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Excellent culture You are always rewarded for hard work You are given real responsibility from day 1

    Cons

    Team structure/organisation can be improved

    Hays2018-11-06
  8. "Hays a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Director in Darlington, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A genuine meritocracy, you are rewarded for hard work and success

    Cons

    You will never want to leave - I've been here over 20 years!

    Hays2018-09-28
  9. "A positive atmosphere!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Maidstone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A work hard play hard environment. Everyone makes themselves part of the team. Training offered along with the software to achieve is of the highest quality.

    Cons

    It can take a a while to build a good work life babalnce

    Hays2018-09-28
  10. "Great place to work - Great Culture and Progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Fantastic training - Great culture, and very supportive directors - Progression available in the business is well communicated, with clear objectives set following each promotion meaning your career is in your hands - Great incentives - Work hard, play hard culture - Clear business strategies in place

    Cons

    - Long hours (but hours are needed in recruitment and you don't clock watch!) - Desks are split heavily to maximize opportunity in different markets but sometimes this can have a knock on effect to consultants earnings dependent on desks

    Hays2018-09-24
Found 140 reviews
</>Embed