Hays "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hays Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 24 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Developing a successful career as an agency Recruiter does require long hours at times(in 456 reviews)

  • "long working hours, set targets(in 129 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing place to start a career in recruitment if you're willing to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Sourcing Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays for less than a year

    Pros

    The social side of the office is fantastic, there's always charity events going on, nights out being planned and after work drinks, and the Christmas party was amazing. As soon as I walked in on my first day in the office I was invited to join the 5 a side football team by about 5 different people, told about the next few nights out that were planned and introduced to everyone on my team. After just a couple of weeks I pretty much knew everyone in the office. The company really focuses on training in your first 6 months, both from your manager, in classroom based week-long sessions with other colleagues from different offices at a similar level to you, and through online training modules. Although the hours are long, (42.5 hrs a week is standard), I'd disagree with people saying that work-life-balance is a con of working at Hays - they've introduced flexi time (although this is at your managers discretion and needs to be pre-arranged), there's the ability to purchase extra holiday days, and there is no expectation to take your work home - your weekends are completely yours and so are your evenings, often you cannot even access your emails outside of work. Hard work is always rewarded, from 'Star of the Week' awards as voted by other members of your team, lunches and after work drinks on your director if you hit targets, bonuses, and eventually promotions. Higher billers also get the opportunity to be entered into a company holiday competition, period end afternoons off for a lunch and drinks. Management are also incredibly supportive of both personal life and career progression, and will give up their time to have one-to-one meetings with staff to offer advice and help. I've often seen my director having meetings with junior staff giving them career advice, and also being very understanding of other staff members when they've had issues in their personal lives. This is something that I know a lot of the staff really appreciate. Every 4th Friday (period end) we all have beers/prosecco together towards the end of the day, and the whole office gets together to celebrate the achievements from the past 4 weeks, give out some company updates, congratulate people on promotions and have a laugh at some of the embarrassing things people have done in the past week. Usually everyone goes to the pub after, and then the younger members of staff tend to stay out quite a bit later. There's loads of benefits, but for me the best one, and the one I've utilised the most, is the online GP appointment service. You can literally book an appointment and have a video call with a GP on your phone for free within half an hour where they can diagnose symptoms and email a digital prescription for you to go and pick up on the same day. If you do need to go to an appointment face-to-face, management will allow you to flexi-time your work around it. I have to stress this is based on my experience in my team in my office, I think different people in different offices will have had different experiences compared with me.

    Cons

    KPI targets are set as standard, and don't always reflect the difficulty of the desk that you have. Some KPIs are unrealistic and unattainable. It's a very large company so (especially in compliance-heavy sectors) there's a lot of red tape and it's hard to be innovative. Some desks are very competitive, but that's the nature of recruitment. As an intern, doing the exact same job as other members of staff, it can be frustrating when you pay is substantially lower. The rate of pay was something that really put me off applying for this internship, but in the end I'm glad I did.

    Continue reading
    Hays2020-01-31
  2. "Incredible Training and Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - fun interactive training - lots of company benefits - great management -constant room for development and promotion -friendly and upbeat office environment -flexible work hours giving me good work/life balance -great company values and culture -social events

    Cons

    I haven't experienced any con's working at hays.

    Hays2019-03-29
  3. "Wonderful Employer, lots of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/Life balance Excellent salary & benefits Plenty of training & development Lots of fun socials If you do not perform, you will be dismissed

    Cons

    No negatives working for Hays

    Hays2017-09-20

    Hays Response

    September 27, 2017

    Thank you for your review. I wouldn't say we're as black and white as "if you do not perform you will be dismissed" - we have high expectations and we do hold people accountable but we want our employees to succeed and give people every opportunity to improve and hit their goals. Thanks for your positive comments about life at Hays.

    Continue reading
  4. "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The training provided at Hays is very good for people new to recruitment. There is also a very good work life balance (coming from someone who has been with several agencies) Very nice people to work with and if you're a trainee I would definitely recommend.

    Cons

    Narrow minded company who do not have their priorities straight. In a sales environment you are there because you want to earn good money, good luck! The commission structure is appalling and the basics are 4k behind competitors. Hays are very much about brining new trainees and pulling them through thr ranks. If you are an experienced consultant, this is the last place you want to be!

    Continue reading
    Hays2017-09-07

    Hays Response

    September 10, 2017

    Thanks for your review. We welcome experienced consultants and have many people here that started their careers at other agencies that have gone on to be very successful. They tell us the training, technology and infrastructure is far superior to what they have experienced elsewhere so they have more tools to make more money at Hays. I'm sorry you didn't feel it was the right fit for you but I hope you've found success in your new agency.

    Continue reading
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance Good environment Good Colleagues

    Cons

    Strange interview process Poor base salary

    Continue reading
    Hays2017-04-20

    Hays Response

    April 25, 2017Head of Internal Recruitment

    Appreciate your comments and would like to discuss your advice to management in more detail. Are you free for a telephone conversation? 0203 465 0202.

    Continue reading
  6. "Supportive, Exciting and Dynamic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, understanding and supportive management structure who can understand the line between business needs and personal needs. Excellent training provided with best in industry technology

    Cons

    Can be a lengthy process to build up enough fees to earn commission.

    Hays2017-02-14

    Hays Response

    February 20, 2017Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you Dundee, it's great to hear about your experience so far. I hear what you're saying about building fees but believe me, all the time and effort you put in now will be very much worth it when you reach recruitment/senior recruitment consultant level.

    Continue reading
  7. "Best company I've worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Great company, almost feel like your part of a family. Really look out for their staff. Good work/life balance in my role. Get out what you put in which encourages everyone to get involved.

    Cons

    None that instantly spring to mind.

    Hays2016-10-13

    Hays Response

    October 25, 2016Head of Internal Recruitment

    Great news! Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of the people are incredibly funny, empathetic and excellent in general to work alongside. Because of the longer hours this is essential to enjoying your working life! You aren't thrown in too deep and it is easy to get the hang of the role if you ARE actually good at communication and comfortable cold calling and dealing with tough situations. Hays will provide a good internship experience to you and support you throughout. If you are quick at working during the set hours and get on with it there is no real reason it should affect your work/life balance.

    Cons

    Pay structure isn't that great. Not too sure as to the reasons why intern pay is several thousand less than associate level when you are doing the same role and receiving less training. Bonus structure (as interns don't get commission) is fair to start off meaning that you aren't left in the lurch whilst waiting to get your feed off the ground. However again once you are billing as a normal asscon in the back end of your placement would it leaves you significantly worse off - so there's a balance.

    Continue reading
    Hays2016-08-17
  9. "Unrivalled opportunities for recruitment specialists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent working environment in modern offices in all locations with excellent training programmes for new consultants, with or without previous experience. Massive investment in IT systems and support Unlimited earnings potential - high fees rewarded with high earnings (uncapped). Loads of incentives available on a monthly and annual basis to fee earners. Supportive of reduced hours/work-life balance (within reason). Excellent benefits package.

    Cons

    The "work hard play hard" mentality does not suit everyone. Time management can be hard at times. Many incentives are not tangible to most consultants so are not motivational. Part-time workers are given the same targets as full-time workers.

    Continue reading
    Hays2016-04-13
  10. "A Fantastic Company with Endless Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous 

    I have been working at Hays part-time

    Pros

    I started with Hays in May 2014 as an intern, taking a year out from my studies. Since then, Hays has only provided me with endless opportunities to expand my knowledge and help me progress in my working life. The work/life balance that Hays offers is fantastic, even though the hours are long, the social side is amazing. You are praised for everything you achieve and are given support from managers and colleagues from the start. Hays have provided me with the best start to my career, even continuing my contract to part time and offering me a new role to start after graduation.

    Cons

    The hours can be long, working 8-6 can be seen as quite daunting at first, but the days go so fast. You are always so busy and sometimes, theres not enough hours in the day. The office atmosphere and the people you work with really outweigh the cons of working long hours.

    Hays2016-04-04
Found 42 reviews
</>Embed