Hays Employee Reviews about "working hours"

Updated Nov 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 159 of over 4,866 reviews

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
2,176 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent career progression available(in 174 reviews)

  • "A work hard play hard environment(in 160 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours - 8-6 Monday to Friday(in 549 reviews)

  • "there isnt any other than long working hours(in 160 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Hays

    Join the conversation on

    Human Resources

    3m

    an 

    HR Associate

    Hi! I am on a delicate situation in my career right know and I would like some advice. I joined my current company 4 years ago as HR Generalist through Hays working part-time while studying my Masters and I was hired full-time in 2020 with a different title as HR support Specialist. 11 months after, my FTE reduced to 70%. My senior colleague by then working part-time requested becoming full-time again and promoted to Director. Would you leave in my situation if I dont have any offer yet?

    7

    6 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "working hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fantastic Company

      Jul 19, 2021 - Business Manager in Southampton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff, corporate working environment, good reputation in the market, supportive management team

      Cons

      Salary is low, limited parking space, long working hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Churn out staff, no investment in people

      Nov 29, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing bad to say about the team I worked for

      Cons

      Poor technology. Horrific working hours. No long term growth

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to start

      Oct 14, 2021 - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and impeccable training. Staff are a great bunch to work with and happy to share their knowledge with new starters and those coming into recruitment for the first time.

      Cons

      Can be a little strict on working hours, some consultants are quite competitive when chasing fees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Needs Improvement

      Aug 4, 2021 - Associate Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training plan and very supportive team.

      Cons

      Salary is very poor - even with your on target earnings and team bonus on top of your minimum wage salary. For a company who openly shares their finances with you and who is very successful and highly profitable, this needs to change. Long working hours of 8.30am - 6pm, however realistically more like 8am - 7pm due to workload. They say they promote flexible working, however if you are a full time employee, there is nothing flexible about it. A very target driven culture, which although will work for some people, it won't work for everyone. I found them de-motivating and made me feel like I was a child being constantly watched over.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Recruitment Consultant

      May 24, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large well known company to work for

      Cons

      not a good work life balance. long working hours. very clicky environment.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Opportunity

      Apr 13, 2021 - Business Manager in Cheltenham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to learn with experienced colleagues Brand reputation

      Cons

      Working Hours Flexibility Dated offices Entry level turnover

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Avoid

      Apr 8, 2021 - Senior Consultant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - my immediate team were great

      Cons

      - low pay and long working hours - commission structure is not competitive with wider market. It is worth me pointing out here that I was successful and well regarded in my role - I made very little on top of my base. - awful management, there are individuals who are good at being recruiters who are put into management roles, when they are awful at managing. My first manager bullied me and nothing was ever done because they were a high earner - lad culture and misogyny are commonplace - Employees are treated like children and there is an extremely rigid working structure, if you were ever not at your desk by the time you were meant to start, logged on with phone in hand - this was an issue - lack of benefits - no private medical etc. You do get a piece of fresh fruit though if you hit target! - there is this mindset that is drummed into you from day 1 that you are SO lucky to work at Hays, and that you should never leave. One of my colleagues had worked there for over 10 years and left for a career break - we were not allowed to even give her a card to say goodbye

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great opportunity

      Apr 1, 2021 - Sales in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Welcoming staff Excellent, ambitious culture Good salary

      Cons

      Long working hours High targets Can be a high pressure environment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to start a career

      Mar 4, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with charismatic people Great training Opportunity to do well if you work really hard

      Cons

      Poor entry level pay Poor commission structure Long working hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great experience

      Feb 4, 2021 - Bid Manager in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Forward thinking, varied opportunities, supportive teams

      Cons

      Pay not competitive, long working hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 159 Reviews