HealthSouth Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

HealthSouth Reviews

Updated May 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
53%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
HealthSouth CEO Mark Tarr (no image)
Mark Tarr
40 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The acuity of inpatient acute care rehab is still just that - acute(in 22 reviews)

  • "Upper management definitely could use some work(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Therapy Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at HealthSouth

    Pros

    Great support by therapy department. I had good access to resources, and saw a variety of disorders.

    Cons

    I would have liked to have the opportunity to work with multiple therapists to gain other perspectives.

    Advice to Management

    I was only there for a short period of time, so I don't feel qualified to comment in this area.

    HealthSouth2016-05-19
  2. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Pct in Gadsden, AL
    Recommends

    I worked at HealthSouth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice and clean place to work.

    Cons

    Short on Techs very often.

    Advice to Management

    Make nurses help more.

    HealthSouth2019-05-13
  3. "Run away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Sherwood, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HealthSouth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They did make it look promising in the beginning... it was all a lie though.

    Cons

    These people are awful humans...

    Advice to Management

    Stop being power hungry and treating your staff like they are beneath you.

    HealthSouth2019-04-21
  4. "Good Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Nurse Supervisor in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HealthSouth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team players, great therapists, good outcomes, knowledgable physicians

    Cons

    Staffing challenges, hours didn't work for my family

    HealthSouth2019-03-14
  5. "Colorado nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HealthSouth part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Meh?😷 there is dedinitely a need for the community.

    Cons

    Leadership ...good ol boys (and girls) club

    Advice to Management

    Get some training. Respect goes a long way. Not just control but consideration of staff ideas is key to growth. Also, your old sales leadership and flirtiness is in appropriate .

    HealthSouth2019-02-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "There is a reason they changed their name"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newnan, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HealthSouth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    401k nothing else is worth mentioning

    Cons

    The list is to long.. worst place I have ever worked

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes...

    HealthSouth2019-01-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at HealthSouth full-time

    Pros

    Learned a variety of nursing skills. Co-worker and doctors were great.

    Cons

    Acuity of residents, ratios, always short-staffed, very acute and late admissions on Fridays when doctors have left for the weekend

    Advice to Management

    Better staff:patient ratios

    HealthSouth2018-11-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Rehabilitation tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at HealthSouth part-time

    Pros

    Healthsouth was a very welcoming company. I have still been seeking the culture and appreciation that I felt at this company in my new role. They are really big on employee appreciation!

    Cons

    I can’t think of any cons. I truly enjoyed working here.

    HealthSouth2018-10-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aldie, VA
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HealthSouth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There were always plenty of extra shift available.

    Cons

    Many people called out often which would result in higher nurse to patient ratios. The acuity of inpatient acute care rehab is still just that - acute. Yet, you are expected to handle a higher load of patients than on a typical med surg floor despite no real difference in patient acuity.

    HealthSouth2018-10-11
  10. "Physical therapy tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HealthSouth part-time

    Pros

    Good patient exposure as I was applying for physical therapy school. Good therapy staff

    Cons

    Too high of census at times

    HealthSouth2018-10-04
Found 508 reviews