HealthSouth Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

HealthSouth Reviews

Updated 13 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 509 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Mark Tarr
40 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The acuity of inpatient acute care rehab is still just that - acute(in 22 reviews)

  • "Upper management definitely could use some work(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Therapy Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at HealthSouth

      Pros

      Great support by therapy department. I had good access to resources, and saw a variety of disorders.

      Cons

      I would have liked to have the opportunity to work with multiple therapists to gain other perspectives.

      Advice to Management

      I was only there for a short period of time, so I don't feel qualified to comment in this area.

      HealthSouth2016-05-19
    • "Great Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Pct in Gadsden, AL
        Recommends

        I worked at HealthSouth full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Nice and clean place to work.

        Cons

        Short on Techs very often.

        Advice to Management

        Make nurses help more.

        HealthSouth2019-05-13
      • "Run away!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Sherwood, AR
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at HealthSouth full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        They did make it look promising in the beginning... it was all a lie though.

        Cons

        These people are awful humans...

        Advice to Management

        Stop being power hungry and treating your staff like they are beneath you.

        HealthSouth2019-04-21
      • "Good Atmosphere"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - RN Nurse Supervisor in Columbia, MO
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at HealthSouth full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Team players, great therapists, good outcomes, knowledgable physicians

        Cons

        Staffing challenges, hours didn't work for my family

        HealthSouth2019-03-14
      • "Colorado nurse"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Nurse 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at HealthSouth part-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Meh?😷 there is dedinitely a need for the community.

        Cons

        Leadership ...good ol boys (and girls) club

        Advice to Management

        Get some training. Respect goes a long way. Not just control but consideration of staff ideas is key to growth. Also, your old sales leadership and flirtiness is in appropriate .

        HealthSouth2019-02-28
      • "There is a reason they changed their name"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newnan, GA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at HealthSouth full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        401k nothing else is worth mentioning

        Cons

        The list is to long.. worst place I have ever worked

        Advice to Management

        Open your eyes...

        HealthSouth2019-01-13
      • "Ok"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at HealthSouth full-time

        Pros

        Learned a variety of nursing skills. Co-worker and doctors were great.

        Cons

        Acuity of residents, ratios, always short-staffed, very acute and late admissions on Fridays when doctors have left for the weekend

        Advice to Management

        Better staff:patient ratios

        HealthSouth2018-11-14
      • Helpful (2)

        "Rehabilitation tech"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at HealthSouth part-time

        Pros

        Healthsouth was a very welcoming company. I have still been seeking the culture and appreciation that I felt at this company in my new role. They are really big on employee appreciation!

        Cons

        I can’t think of any cons. I truly enjoyed working here.

        HealthSouth2018-10-23
      • "RN"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aldie, VA
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at HealthSouth full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        There were always plenty of extra shift available.

        Cons

        Many people called out often which would result in higher nurse to patient ratios. The acuity of inpatient acute care rehab is still just that - acute. Yet, you are expected to handle a higher load of patients than on a typical med surg floor despite no real difference in patient acuity.

        HealthSouth2018-10-11
      • "Physical therapy tech"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at HealthSouth part-time

        Pros

        Good patient exposure as I was applying for physical therapy school. Good therapy staff

        Cons

        Too high of census at times

        HealthSouth2018-10-04
      Found 509 reviews