HealthTap "smart people" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

HealthTap Employee Reviews about "smart people"

Updated 7 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
HealthTap Chief Executive Officer Bill Gossman (no image)
Bill Gossman
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are some *VERY* smart people here who come to work every day super motivated to make things happen(in 12 reviews)

  • "They are super excited about what they are doing and mission driven(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Tough to find a work-life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "You have to be passionate about your role and the product because it is long hours and a large commitment(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "smart people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Unhealthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time

    Pros

    Product potential and a good product team. Both offices are nice environments. Lots of smart people who are good at their individual jobs.

    Cons

    No sense of teamwork or encouragement - never felt less supported, anywhere. Executives are always disagreeing and changing direction. Product doesn't seem to match the market.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2019-05-07
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Lots of learning but also lots of burn out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time

    Pros

    You will get a lot of opportunities to grow and learn because there is always a need for people to step up and take over. The engineering team are great and smart people, it's fun to work with them and learn from them too. There is a sense of solidarity and understanding from most people because everyone is going through the stress that arises. So people will try to help you out. There does seem to be a trend of improvement. People used to have to work many weekends, nowadays it's necessary maybe one weekend every other month. Management recently has to adopt a better planning process including asking for time estimates to product and engineering teams involved.

    Cons

    Processes and planning are a bit of a mess and timelines are always short. This causes unnecessary stress on everyone. This becomes especially annoying when things are missed because of lack of planning so you have to work late or work a weekend. There will be certain pressures, be it working during lunch, working late and on weekends so it is important to set limits. There has historically been a lot of burnout and turnaround so many of the coworkers you started with might quickly be gone.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2018-05-09

    HealthTap Response

    August 27, 2018

    Thanks for your insights. New leadership and updated processes are making a difference and we're glad you noticed. Please continue to be contribute your input.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Live better healthier lives--- unless you are a HealthTap employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HealthTap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only positive thing about this place is that I met some smart people. We came together because we were all experiencing a strange, abusive situation. It was the co-workers who offered to grab coffee with you, or take a walk or even hug you in the hallways that made this place tolerable. We all knew what was going on and we tried to support each other. The emphatic people here was the only positive thing.

    Cons

    That this company has been allowed to succeed is a testament of everything that is wrong with Silicon Valley. But let’s put the toxic culture aside for a minute. It’s a really terrible product. In theory, it's a good idea. But the actual execution is awful. It's almost like someone picked up a "What Not To Do When Building a Product" book, skimmed past the "Not" and followed it line by line. Oh and it makes no money. And no one really uses it. Including doctors. That alone should make you not want to work here. Before you interview, go to the site or download the app. Ya- it’s been that awful for years. When I interviewed and pointed out how awful the product was- I was told this is my opportunity to change it. I thought I could make a difference here. But once I joined it was quickly apparent that management didn't want to make any changes. They wanted you to focus on making them "look" good by any means necessary. But doing good? No. That's a waste of time. When you look closer you realize Product is run by an intern and what the CEO is good at is giving talks. The CEO regularly told people he was like Steve Jobs. Sure, if all Steve Jobs did was give keynotes and treat his employees like something stuck to the bottom of his shoe. Jobs did all that but he also built products. Ron's never built a product. He's never run a successful company. The negative reviews are true. The neutral ones are true. The positive ones are either fake (I was asked to write fake reviews myself) or written by terribly lost individuals who have blindly decided to follow the CEO, even if he treats them like dirt. The benefits are some of the worst I have seen. The pay is terrible, the sick policy required you to give 48 hours notice before you took a sick day (think about that for a second), and you received a total of 14 days off including sick days. The sad part, is you won't discover any of this until you join. Because during the interview process you are misguided, misled and provided false information. The numbers I was given were "inaccurate". It wasn't until I joined that I saw what a terrible mistake I had made. Needless to say it didn't take me long to decide to leave. As I tried to leave, I was threatened and harassed. I witnessed it happen to others too. No one should have to go through this. While I'm glad that the board fired management-- it took them too long. This has been happening for over a decade.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2018-05-05

    HealthTap Response

    August 27, 2018

    Sorry to hear about your difficult experience, but thank you for acknowledging the quality of HealthTap's staff. We're very proud of our people. Such experiences as yours are not representative of our company since recent improvements in leadership and culture have positively redirected the trajectory of the company.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (5)

    "The real deal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time

    Pros

    * High work satisfaction. You get to work on real problems that have a real impact on real people. * Great teammates and culture. You’ll work with very smart people who enjoy working together. * A+ benefits. Competitive pay, good insurance, and options with lots of upside. * Growth opportunities. You’ll get a lot of responsibility and ownership if you have the desire and the skills to take it.

    Cons

    The team needs to grow to accommodate all the work coming In, and finding candidates that meet the company’s high technical standards takes time. I’m glad the company is not growing for growth’s sake, but teams need to speed up finding and onboarding the best people.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2017-07-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "The proof is in the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HealthTap full-time

    Pros

    I urge everyone to look at the bios, accomplishments, education, and successes of many of the key people at the company. There are some *VERY* smart people here who come to work every day super motivated to make things happen. Why? Because the work we're doing is too important for humanity and not enough people are helping to catalyze a brighter future quickly enough!

    Cons

    The hiring bar here is high. Hiring managers often use the ratio of 600 candidates for everyone 1 hire! Many qualified candidates don't get the offer due to extremely stringent requirements on culture and background. I'm lucky I made the cut ;)

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2017-03-11
  6. "Supreme Silicon Valley adventure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthTap

    Pros

    HealthTap is a great example of the classic fast-paced, mission driven team of super smart people who believe in a bigger cause and are hustling to make their vision a reality, enjoy nice perks with a dog-friendly office and a lot of sunshine, but are super intense about winning and their technology. Whatever you imagine the epitome of being in a Silicon Valley startup, HealthTap is a perfect manifestation of that dream. Being here is FUN. But you have to be made of the right stuff to love it, like the people thriving here.

    Cons

    The company is evolving quickly. And I have to give it to the leadership team here that it's a lot of juggle and solve for. I think the company can benefit from a few more skilled leaders who can manage and grow teams, especially so there are fewer bottlenecks and constraints.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2016-10-21
  7. Helpful (16)

    "Lots of faith in the leadership team and people here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time

    Pros

    One thing that is not lacking here is the vision, passion, commitment, dedication, a can-do attitude, work ethic, athletic mentality, and group of people who all genuinely look out for one another and help and work as a team. The leadership team collectively is a group of really smart people that I admire. And as challenging as the goals and sense of urgency are that are laid out for us, they consistently translate into results and our trajectory for success. There is a winning formula here and no one can deny that.

    Cons

    I've been here a while now, and other than the fact most people have to move their car every three hours because of annoying Palo Alto parking rules, it's a really great place to work. Meetings can probably start more on time, but it's hard to really blame any one thing for it given the dynamic environment.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2015-10-13
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Interned over the summer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Palo Alto, CA

    I worked at HealthTap for less than a year

    Pros

    Great perks, lunches, smart people, cool product and mission

    Cons

    Lots of miscommunication and secrecy, not much mentorship and career/personal growth

    HealthTap2015-09-30
  9. Helpful (12)

    "The Place to Change the World"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The most energetic environment with super passion people around you and cover you. Huge impacts from each engineer. Great way to stretch yourself and learn faster! Smart people. Convenient location on the University Avenue. Enjoyable environment.

    Cons

    Very competitive so you have to be very strong to enjoy!

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2015-03-02
  10. Helpful (6)

    "One of the most important uses of Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Android Developer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthTap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to impact lives. And millions of them. It is an amazing experience to do that by writing lines of code. The company profoundly believes in making people live better lives. And as a result we have an awesome product that constantly strives towards that goal. There are incredibly smart people who come up with amazing product ideas and love solving problems by employing cutting edge technologies. Over all this leads to a very stimulating work environment where you learn at every step.

    Cons

    The benchmarks of quality are high and the belief is in doing it quick. At times, it can be a bit challenging but if you can handle that for the ultimate tempting end goal, these things start appearing trivial.

    Continue reading
    HealthTap2014-12-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews