Heartland Dental Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Heartland Dental Reviews

Updated 13 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 828 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Heartland Dental CEO Pat Bauer
Pat Bauer
431 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Must be an employee as a dentist, cannot be an independent contractor(in 39 reviews)

  • "poor upper management, lots of turn over(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Associate in Bourbonnais, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work balance, pay and staff is excellent! I love the people that I work with.

    Cons

    Very expensive medical insurance, almost unaffordable for a single mother.

    Advice to Management

    Please reevaluate the medical insurance costs, and thank you for having me!

    Heartland Dental2019-09-03

    Heartland Dental Response

    September 6, 2019HR

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! Your comments are greatly appreciated, and we will use your feedback as we continue to improve.

  2. "Teamwork is the main goal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Manager of Operations in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I came into a very rough team environment because my predecessor was not focused on her team. My RMO has maintained the same ideals as me.... keep your team happy and they will love coming to work! I have 3 amazing doctors in my practice and 2 amazing hygienists.

    Cons

    Training. I am the practice manager and came from another dental practice. The training I needed was mainly on the Dentrix system and because I was starting with a small and very new team, it was hard at first. I had a lot of support though and not too much pressure given the circumstances.

    Advice to Management

    Have a trainer or send new employees for training.

    Heartland Dental2019-09-03

    Heartland Dental Response

    September 6, 2019HR

    Thanks for taking time to write a review! One of the reasons we are able to offer great support is because of employees like you, and we are grateful for the contributions you have made to Heartland Dental. Taking care of our people is extremely important to us and feedback like your ...

    Show More
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist in North Myrtle Beach, Horry, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits great people fun environment

    Cons

    Sales can be tough and scanning is hard to fit in with new pts

    Advice to Management

    None

    Heartland Dental2019-09-04

    Heartland Dental Response

    September 6, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review! We are very glad to have you as a member of the Heartland Dental family. We appreciate your comments!

  4. "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team. Encouraging and helps one another.

    Cons

    Do not have any cons.

    Heartland Dental2019-09-04

    Heartland Dental Response

    September 6, 2019HR

    Thanks for taking time to provide your feedback! Your comments are greatly appreciated.

  5. "Slow to Adapt to Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager of Operations in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If I were a dentist interested in working hard, learning, and growing my skills, I wouldn't hesitate to work for Heartland. You'll be in a fail-safe environment with administrators that will work tirelessly to get you the resources you need. If you value personal responsibility and make no excuses for your outcomes, you'll do well and enjoy the network of thousands of dentists.

    Cons

    Patient care is literally equated in dollars, so it can feel a bit dirty. If your practice isn't producing, you will feel pressure. Not necessarily unreasonable, if your practice is in financial distress. That said, the main con here is if you're an administrator. Because you can't go out there and do more dentistry, you have to influence your dentist to produce more. But even if your practice was wedged between a... trash dump and a junk yard, you can count on getting raked over the coals if your practice isn't growing the way it "should."

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Go on a cross country road trip, talk to your doctors, talk to your team members. Listen to what they have to say. Go out there, mingle with the people. Don't rely on "waterfalling" information from your office. Also -- don't be so insecure -- meaning, if someone suggests an improvement, that doesn't mean you are personally bad and unworthy. Not at all -- what it means is, they are just trying to make things... better. When you say you're open to feedback, and someone gives you feedback, you might be tempted to follow these two step process: 1. Listen 2. Tell them why it is the way it is. BUT that's wrong, and it doesn't convey you value the brave soul who is naive enough to take what you said at face value. Instead: 1. Listen 2. Thank them for their valuable suggestion. You see-- you might preach openness, and receptivity to your teams when you want to implement something, but unless you can yourself be open minded and receptive, you will likely find yourself in a pit of frustration. Last piece of advice, you make admin fill out too many reports that are too long. I know it gives you a sense of control, which is important (as Dr. Bell would say), but it's extreme. Keep it simple. And along those lines, implement an agile/scrum team in your IT development team. Those portals are a nightmare, buggy, and are essential garbage.

    Show More
    Heartland Dental2019-09-13
  6. "Office Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free dental care for you and your family.

    Cons

    No transparency, management is very cliquey, false promises, dishonesty.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to who you place in the RDO position.

    Heartland Dental2019-09-13
  7. "Wonderful Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Manager of Operations in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very supportive culture focused on growing employees and business.

    Cons

    They are very numbers oriented. Can be a great thing, but every once in a while can be a bit much.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Heartland Dental2019-08-22

    Heartland Dental Response

    August 29, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're happy to hear that you've enjoyed your time with Heartland Dental and your comments are greatly appreciated.

  8. "Happy employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CRDH in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, new and modern offices/equipment, great management, team work environment.

    Cons

    So far I haven found any cons.

    Heartland Dental2019-08-18

    Heartland Dental Response

    August 21, 2019HR

    Thanks for taking time to provide your feedback! Your comments are greatly appreciated.

  9. "Low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Dentist 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    CE, freedom to tx plan, new technology, flexible hours

    Cons

    Low pay, bad management, few paid vacation days

    Heartland Dental2019-08-29

    Heartland Dental Response

    September 6, 2019HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the continuing education and flexible hours you received at Heartland Dental. We read all reviews in an effort to take the information that has been provided and maintain or improve the support we offer. Your feedback ...

    Show More
  10. "BEST COMPANY!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They stand for everything they believe in.

    Cons

    I have NONE at the moment

    Heartland Dental2019-08-04

    Heartland Dental Response

    August 6, 2019HR

    Thanks for taking time to provide your feedback! Your comments are greatly appreciated.

Found 828 reviews