Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Reviews

Updated 27 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Interim Chief Executive Jim Harra (no image)
Jim Harra
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working arrangements are good(in 71 reviews)

  • "Flexi-time and relaxed culture means that you have a great work-life balance(in 61 reviews)

Cons
  • "Below inflation pay rise for the last 10 years(in 28 reviews)

  • "There are to cons to working at HMRC(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Senior Data Analyst in Government"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Analyst in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working, huge amount of data, great team, exciting project

    Cons

    Salary mainly, and bureaucracy surrounding everything

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2019-12-05

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

    January 13, 2020Social Media Officer

    We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community.

    Continue reading
  2. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Judge in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The ps was good

    Cons

    The ps could have been begger

    Continue reading
    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-26

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

    February 27, 2020Social Media Content Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    Continue reading
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility And good work life balance

    Cons

    Difficult to progress in career

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-27
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time

    Pros

    Very supportive and friendly staff.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say.

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-21

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

    February 27, 2020Social Media Content Manager

    Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you had a good experience. We put staff and customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thank you for your kind words.

    Continue reading
  5. "Interesting subject matter for an economist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of data, close to policy makers

    Cons

    Department is very slow to change

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-15

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

    February 18, 2020Social Media Content Manager

    Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you had a good experience.

    Continue reading
  6. "It's alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Secure job, flexible working, people.

    Cons

    Secure job for people who don't deserve it

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-13

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

    February 18, 2020Social Media Content Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us this positive review.

    Continue reading
  7. "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Officer in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexi time is really helpful, and working from home is great. Not all departments are like the one I’m in now.

    Cons

    The work is varied from position to position. You could be paid the same as someone who has way less responsibility or stress or you could be doing a similar job to someone who is a grade higher.

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-12

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

    February 18, 2020Social Media Content Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. Your feedback helps us get better.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great work-life balance but not very challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Caseworker in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexi-time and relaxed culture means that you have a great work-life balance. The people are friendly and down-to-earth.

    Cons

    The part of Compliance (CCG) that I worked in (Campaigns and Projects) did task-based casework. This is more simplistic and repetitive that normal casework in the rest of CCG. So not very fulfilling. Result of this was very limited training, only teaching me the bare minimum that I required to work on the particular project that I was assigned to. If I had stayed there then progression to more technical/senior roles would have been incredibly slow.

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-11

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

    February 18, 2020Social Media Content Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review and we're sorry to hear your experience in Campaigns and Projects was not what you expected.

    Continue reading
  9. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Corporation Tax Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time

    Pros

    really supportive manager and colleagues

    Cons

    peaks and troughs in terms of workload

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-07

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

    February 18, 2020Social Media Content Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review.

    Continue reading
  10. "There's better Government Departments to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Line Manager in Preston, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexi time. Good progression if your face fits.

    Cons

    There is a terrible bullying culture within HMRC. Quite a bit of corruption that gets covered up. Below inflation pay rise for the last 10 years.

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs2020-02-22

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

    February 27, 2020Social Media Content Manager

    Your review is very concerning to us. We would appreciate if you would contact our team to speak with a HMRC representative about your recent experience - recruitmentmarketingandattraction@hmrc.gov.uk

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 501 reviews