Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Employee Reviews about "hmrc"

Updated Jan 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 of over 1,159 reviews

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Interim Chief Executive Jim Harra (no image)
Jim Harra
265 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great employer, flexible working and career development(in 106 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance and friendly(in 88 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Below inflation pay rise for the last 10 years(in 32 reviews)

  • "There are to cons to working at HMRC(in 29 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "hmrc"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Dec 8, 2020 - Direct Tax Investigator in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      HMRC is a great place to work.

      Cons

      Salary less than private firms

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Placement

      Jan 6, 2021 - Business Administrator in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learned that there are many roles in HMRC, people often move from one department to another.

      Cons

      Placement only allowed me to shadow and did not help me get a career.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Misleading job advert - avoid!

      Nov 19, 2020 - Customer Service Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - You get flexi time, within reason. you have to work core hours and still need manager approval if you want to leave slightly early. it's flexi-ish time.

      Cons

      - Misleading job advert. ''You'll be using phones, email, webchat, letter'' etc. It's a call center. You're on calls, all day, every day. - Authoritarian system of work. They track what you're doing. You need to update your status if you're on the toilet. They track how long your calls are, how many, did you do them correctly. -Lack of support. They say the support is there for calls but, it's not. You get thrown in at the deep end. There's a tonne of online learning, basically being bombarded with information without any context, much of it irrelevant to the job and distracting. Never give you a chance to get used to anything, being moved around in different groups all the time, some people without a manager being thrown into a team that started months earlier. They recruit faster than they're able to train people -No real training. You go from elearning to listening in on calls, then one day you have drop everything and are expected to take calls, with an experienced member listening in. This is ''support'', but it's very daunting considering the complex and varied nature of most enquiries. You have to get used to using systems without any real practise, despite the fact they say we get ''support'' -The recruitment campaign is a joke with HMRC. Applied in Feb, interview in March, email in June saying 'provisional offer'. After accepting this I heard nothing, despite chasing them up often, until October, saying the start would be in a couple of weeks. Not a COVID-19 related delay as work is from home and campaigns in previous years have taken just as long, sometimes much much longer. Months and months before start date given. -low pay considering the nature of the job. Non stop calls all day, having to answer very complex enquiries to do with tax. -due to the nature of the role, you get rude and angry people, and they take it out on you, On one hand, it's to be expected in a customer service role, but the fact the job ad was misleading about the fact the job is a call centre job makes this harder to deal with. You're not expecting to be in the deep end. -Poor management. Team leaders and customer service consultants get no real say and whatever the managers decide at the last minute goes. One day in training you're asked if you're ready to take calls and progress training to be more involved, most of the team said no not ready yet at all. The next day we're told the managers want us in more focused groups ready to start taking calls. Although they dress it up that the 'support' is there, the pressure is right on and the illusion of democracy makes it worse. -avoid avoid avoid

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

      Recruitment

      Thank you for your comments. We're very sorry you've had a negative experience in applying for a role and working in HMRC. We’re looking into the concerns you’ve raised and will take steps to improve where we can. If you'd like discuss further, please email us at recruitmentmarketingandattraction@hmrc.gov.uk

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      brilliant

      May 26, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free money all the time.

      Cons

      no cons at hmrc, honest guv.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      Phoney contracts and overstimated projects (messaging integration team)

      Jun 2, 2020 - Software Developer in Southend-on-Sea, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Highly paid for low experience - only thing they test is if you can relocate to southend on sea

      Cons

      - Contracts are phoney : HMRC introduced IR35 and all the contractors with HMRC are outside IR35 - hypocrisy or is it double standards? - All they see in the interview is basic java skills and if you can relocate to southend on sea or Bristol - Suppliers are ripping of by over estimating the project : we know they have £20 Million pre approved budget - attempt to spend it all

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

      Recruitment

      We are taking your feedback into account and seek to address the issues you raise.

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      There's better Government Departments to work for.

      Feb 22, 2020 - Front Line Manager in Preston, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexi time. Good progression if your face fits.

      Cons

      There is a terrible bullying culture within HMRC. Quite a bit of corruption that gets covered up. Below inflation pay rise for the last 10 years.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

      Social Media Content Manager

      Your review is very concerning to us. We would appreciate if you would contact our team to speak with a HMRC representative about your recent experience - recruitmentmarketingandattraction@hmrc.gov.uk

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Champagne expectations on a beer budget

      Jan 30, 2020 - Customer Service Advisor in Bathgate, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Casual dress code Some of the people are down to earth A genuine push for some break from the mediocrity Flexi time

      Cons

      I have been an employee of the organisation for in excess of one year. Things in HMRC and indeed, the civil service in general move very, very slowly. It took me almost a year from the time I applied for this job to get my foot in the door. The worst example I have heard is a colleague waiting three years, she had two other jobs during this time. This will give you some idea of what we are dealing with, and hopefully allow you to understand why there is a certain level of frustration here. I have to leave my job. It is inevitable. I really do not necessarily want to but when you add up all of the negatives, combined with the fact that most of the positive things about my job have diminished, there is no other option. The main reason for the above stanza, is the relocation program HMRC has undertaken. They are decreasing the amount of offices and centralising. It makes sense, certain things about the process, however, do not. To be fair to HMRC, I knew full well about the move when I started. They made it very clear, they have been open about this all through my time here. So what is the problem? I was assured throughout this process that I would be supported and that HMRC would work with me to provide a seamless transition. This has, unfortunately been as far from the truth as humanly possible. I sat down with management, I provided several options on alternate shift patterns due to the very real issues that faced me getting to our new workplace. I tried to fix the problem, whereas a lot of others just complained about it. I was prepared to put myself at a detriment personally to avoid potentially being late for work. I hate being late, I am always early, without exception. In the last 12 months, I have not been late once. I have not had one sick day, not one. I also have faced no disciplinary issues which compared to the rest of my team is not the norm. Most of my team had their probation extended for absences or other issues. It is a tool that is constantly used by management to discourage others from following similar patterns of behavior. I don't expect any praise for doing the above, in my mind it is the expectation so I understand why they crack down. However, wouldn't you want to keep an employee like me? Clearly HMRC don't because when I chased up the results of my meeting months later I was told the following, "Many are in the same boat, we will not be adjusting your shifts for you to get into Edinburgh." Great, thanks. The next sentence out of my managers mouth and I don't think they meant it nefariously was, "be aware though if HMRC needs you to change shifts for the good of the business, that you will need to adapt." Tolerance is a two way street, HMRC obviously has not received the memo. I am not alone in this, I estimate that a quarter of our current workforce will move based on what I have been told. We are also moving just before winter, a harsh winter or to a lesser extent, a moderate one will have others dropping out quickly. Especially in the current working climate. It will now cost £2000 a year for us to move from bathgate to Edinburgh by train, while HMRC as an organisation will be saving money, it is to the detriment of their employees. For most, there is no financial assistance to getting to work, this amount quoted above is conservatively 10% of our income. With this, the increase of travel time, extended exposure to poor outdoor conditions and the stress of finding car parking during the day while getting on public transport, I was still willing to give it a try if HMRC had of at least bothered joining me at the negotiating table. I foresaw the issues above and tried to head them off at the pass before I even presented my options to HMRC regarding changing my shifts once we move to Edinburgh. I have given HMRC every opportunity to keep me or utilise me more effectively. I come from a minority background and despite the claims of HMRC I have never been offered any of the programs they apparently offer. I achieved in the top 4% of education testing within the civil service when I applied for my current role, my aptitude testing came back as a 5 out of 7. When I applied for promotion, we were all actively encouraged to do so by upper management, every time I went for an internal role, my responses came back graded a 1. 1 out of 7 is the worst score you can achieve, this has happened on the internal roles only, several times now. I don't find this to be coincidental. I even offered to go to part time but was told I needed to work at least 25 hours a week for this to be feasible. I cannot work full time and do 25 hours a week, that is not feasible for me but it is yet another example of HMRC's needs coming before mine and mine being evidently insignificant. The planning that I unsuccessfully tried to mitigate in order to stay may have failed. But from where I am sitting, it pales in significance to HMRC's potential failure to plan. I will explain further below. This is not an easy workplace to work in, you are dealing with complex queries involving a substantial amount of mathematics. The hardest thing from a customer service perspective is explaining this to people that have absolutely no idea how any of this works. And it is not their fault, this knowledge is not taught anywhere. But that is your job right? You have to explain it to someone. Well, my maths and communication is better than most people, it is simply not always that easy. There is only so many ways you can explain a problem, so many analogies before you are in danger of confusing yourself more than the customer is when they keep asking, why? If someone doesn't understand a simple explanation on what comprises a tax code ie 1250 L, how are they supposed to understand the complex calculation that is the algorithm the computer utilises to determine what the new tax code is to collect an in year adjustment? But a lot of customers want to know what that formula is, why this has happened and several other questions that are not pertinent to the situation. Answers that even if the consultant is capable of answering (many are not) will not affect the outcome of the call. There is a basic lack of foundation when it comes to the public understanding tax and this is a massive shortfall that causes tremendous problems for people in my role. You are constantly dealing with a range of not very pleasant calls from the irate, mentally unhinged, downright psychotic and violent to people. Apparently my mental health doesn't matter... although if I was to ring in sick, I would get the third degree from a manager asking medical in confidence questions which is an invasion of my privacy. There seems to be a lot of challenging from management about issues that we should not be dealing with, I don't come to work to be an emotional punching bag, especially for effectively minimum wage. We also deal with many customers whose payroll has decided to lump all the blame on us despite their errors not having anything to do with us. Because of a lack of tax education, the customer incorrectly thinks payroll in these circumstances is competent. Most of the time, they are not, again due to a lack of education. We should have the power to refer these serial offending payrolls to be fined, they are wasting public departments time, taxpayers time and taxpayers money. The problem would soon go away, it would free up the phone lines, reduce waiting times and provide some extra revenue into the economy. Companies don't even seem to be reprimanded when they make massive blunders, cause us to utilise resources that should never need utilising or blatantly use us as an unfair scapegoat. Fine them. The money here is peanuts, I don't know how they manage to attract the many fine people they do have here. I am however seeing a lot of other advisors from other sites especially who have poor attitudes, do not care and worse yet, get away with it. I rang through once at quarter to five to escalate the call for a customer, was told, I go home at five, this is a 20 minute call so I won't be taking it. I reported it to management, nothing got done... well not entirely true, I got told that next time don't tell him to pull his head in. Which brings me to my next point, I am constantly being scrutinised to bring my skill level, performance etc up. I would grade myself a solid 7 out of 10. People like the one aforementioned get away with murder and are a 2 out of 10, yet they never seem to be under the same pressure to improve? This seems to be unique to this organisation. I feel like they are getting rib eye at rump prices for me and a lot of my colleagues. Since I started, I have been trained in 2 more areas of the business, they are pushing for a third. We have not had a wage rise in (I heard) 9 years, the union needs to refuse us doing any more training. The business expects more and more out of us but does not compensate whatsoever. Here are my predictions for the future. As above, they will lose more of their workforce and centuries of experience. They have recently advertised for 150 new full time staff, they're paying 20% under what most firms in the city are paying for similar roles. You can stack shelves at ASDA and get paid more. They will get an influx of university students working there which will initially alleviate the problem but that will only work for a few months of the year. Plus no offence to university students but they are not the most reliable. HMRC will fail to be competitive to the vast majority of the employment market. While there is an element of prestige to the organisation, and HMRC will intelligently exploit that, employees will soon realise that for the same money and a lot less stress, they will rather stack shelves at ASDA. The loyal few who will have at this point endured pay freezes, harsh travel conditions, paying £2000 a year or 20% of their income for the privilege, in excess of 1-2 hours per day increased travel time etc will be rewarded with more stress, pressure and workload. A lot of people who are moving in to the Edinburgh office are doing it simply for opportunities in other government departments. HMRC will have no choice or moral objection but to block any moves to other departments by their employees in a last ditch effort to maintain control of its exploited work force.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

      Social Media Content Manager

      Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further please contact recruitmentmarketingandattraction@hmrc.gov.uk

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      meh

      Oct 23, 2019 - Second Line Support 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      relaxed working, decent wage plenty of opportunities

      Cons

      second line is more first line. HMRC entitlement, i dont have to do this i dont have to do that because... offers flexible working but not remote.. infrastructure is not fit for purpose. second line are expected to do first lines job when they cant and you cant park on site unless you have been working for a certain length

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

      Social Media Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Invest in their people, great work/life balance

      Jul 30, 2019 - Compliance Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -They invest in your training. -Lots of opportunities for development if you are proactive. -Supportive and friendly atmosphere -Helps you develop good transferable skills -Flexitime allows employees to work shift patterns which suit them

      Cons

      -Recruitment process was painful for myself, lack of communication from recruitment team and lack of clear recruitment timeline. I believe HMRC is losing potentially valuable employees who get frustrated with the length and nature of recruitment process. -The issue of pay rise/reform is affecting workplace morale and needs to be addressed if they want to keep staff motivated and keep the new trainees they are appointing

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing flexibility and development

      Jun 18, 2019 - Human Resources in Nottingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      HMRC is very supportive of it's staff's development and gives them so many opportunities to progress and learn in a supportive environment

      Cons

      There are to cons to working at HMRC

      1 person found this review helpful

      Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Response

      Social Media Officer

      We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs? Share Your Experiences

    Her Majesty's Revenue & Customs logo
    or