Herbert Smith Freehills Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Herbert Smith Freehills Reviews

Updated 12 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 128 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Mark Rigotti
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours and as a junior very little control or autonomy, easy to feel like just a resource(in 16 reviews)

  • "Top tier firm pressures make work life balance impossible(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Herbert Smith Freehills full-time

      Pros

      Interesting and good quality work, amazing talented people to work with

      Cons

      Can be quite hierarchical at times

      Herbert Smith Freehills2018-11-17
    • "Excellent Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Legal Analyst in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Herbert Smith Freehills full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great management, really good opportunities particularly for working from other offices, very sociable office, great company events, excellent work life balance.

      Cons

      Not many avenues for progression from a legal analyst role

      Advice to Management

      None

      Herbert Smith Freehills2019-06-12
    • "HSF"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Herbert Smith Freehills full-time

      Pros

      Interesting work and good clients

      Cons

      Lack of work life balance

      Herbert Smith Freehills2019-04-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Disputes"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Solicitor in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Herbert Smith Freehills full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Nice modern office. Lots of social events and good committees to get involved with. Very Diversity friendly.

      Cons

      Lack of opportunity for progression. A real feeling of promotions being made for certain people and opportunities created specifically for those people to progress up the ladder. A lack of acknowledgement of potential talent. Management more interested in the optics of their team rather than ability. Not a family friendly environment.

      Herbert Smith Freehills2019-04-02
    • "Standard TC experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Herbert Smith Freehills full-time

      Pros

      Good training; broadly nice people

      Cons

      Long hours; do not come with any expectations as to the direction of your TC - secondments are hotly competitive and London seats depend on business need and demand from other trainees.

      Herbert Smith Freehills2019-03-25
    • "New joiner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Ediscovery Manager in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Herbert Smith Freehills full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good benefits package Good amount of holidays

      Cons

      Not a lot of support

      Herbert Smith Freehills2019-03-19
    • "Service Desk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Herbert Smith Freehills full-time

      Pros

      Evening engineers team a professional, helpful and friendly bunch of engineers I have met in my 8 years in IT

      Cons

      no proper training, guidance, Senior Service Desk engineers what a joke get people that I want to share their knowledge and help people learn

      Advice to Management

      make sure your train your new support analysts

      Herbert Smith Freehills2019-03-30
    • Helpful (3)

      "Dull work and ungrateful senior managers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Solicitor in Belfast, Northern Ireland
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Herbert Smith Freehills full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Ok money. No long hours required. Some managers are really good to work for and some of the team are great.

      Cons

      Dull, unchallenging work. Senior managers talk a big game when partners are over from the mainland but no real opportunities for legal analysts of solicitors. Senior managers’ favourites will get some opportunities. It’s a female friendly workplace until you put in a flexible working application or need to take time off for your sick child. Bonuses are tiny and pay increases are below inflation. Strict time keeping...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I wish they’d remember they’re dealing with highly skilled legally qualified people. There’s a continuous flow of the best people from the business and it seems like they don’t really care.

      Herbert Smith Freehills2019-03-20
    • "Legal Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Herbert Smith Freehills full-time

        Pros

        Good working atmosphere, variety of committees to join

        Cons

        This role lacks career progression

        Herbert Smith Freehills2019-01-21
      • Helpful (1)

        "AVOID"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Herbert Smith Freehills full-time

        Pros

        Easy Money Good Social Events

        Cons

        No Progression No Guaranteed hours Just a number

        Herbert Smith Freehills2018-12-12
      Found 128 reviews